We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lime Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Key Lime Inn to your Saves list
Key Lime Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 5-Night Special
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Key Lime Inn is very easy to find, located right on US 1 (Truman St) and is only a few blocks from Duval Street. As you drive down US 1 into the old town portion of the island, the hotel is on the right, directly across the street from St Mary Star of the Sea church and school. We never took a cab during our entire stay, though if you don't like to walk, it is close enough that a pedal cab should still only cost a couple dollars and five minutes of time.

Parking can be an issue if the hotel is full, but one of the front desk folks offered up her parking spot on the street to us. You don't find that kind of service in most hotels. The parking lot at the hotel holds about 15 cars, not enough for everyone if they are full and everyone drove. Fortunately, that is rarely the case in Key West.

The room was a lovely pale blue with hard wood floors. The bathroom is fairly large for the room size and had a spacious shower. As others have noted, the lack of places to put shampoo and soap is the only real negative of that area. There is a small fridge and Keurig coffee machine in the room, along with a small LCD TV.The fridge and coffee pot both worked fine, but I have no idea about the TV as I never tried to turn it on. We were located 50 yards or so from the office and the WIFI worked fine for the whole trip.

The continental breakfast was a nice option, but the food quality wasn't great and the options were minimal. It's nice to have it as an option, but if you like a hearty breakfast, plan on eating elsewhere.

The pool was surprisingly deep from 3' - 6' deep. I loved it, but it is something to take note of if before you jump in. Doubly so for those that are vertically challenged.

All in all, it's a nice experience. I really enjoyed the private and shared cottage concept of the hotel. It sure beats having people above, below, behind and on either side of you.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are poolside and others border the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    383
    112
    41
    16
See reviews for
53
723
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What a find! We stumbled across this inn late on a holiday weekend and got the last room....it was a little pricey, but we were so fortunate to get a room over the New Year's holiday. It was so quaint and tropical....we felt like we'd been transported back to the days of Ernest Hemmingway and all the stories about pirates and days of yore! What fun!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

if you want to visit key West this is close to Duvall and a very clean inn. We could not find a room hardly left and once you are in Key West you have to have a keen eye and stop and look as you travel around the city. You would be surprised at what you can find and we spotted this Gem. The parking is not good if you leave your spot and the entire city was not made for cars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As others have written, this inn is a great value for the location. Walking distance to Duval, clean, nice pool, quiet, tree shaded area. If you want amenities such as WIFI in the room and updated furnishings you will need to pay more. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We are very sensitive to noise and the window unit AC compressor was noisier than our central AC at home. They immediately moved us to the building with central AC. Though not unusually noisy for a window unit, may be a concern for others who are sensitive to sounds. Also, not all wall outlets worked, but there were enough to meet our needs. Lastly, AC vent was in the closet and some water did drip on clothing, but just water so easily dried. In spite of these issues, I still would recommend staying at the Key Lime Inn if you are on a budget and location and cleanliness is most important for your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with central AC if sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went down to the keys with my friends for a one night stay and someone told me about this inn. It is located less than 3 blocks away from Duval street so the location is on point. The amenities are great, they serve breakfast, the inn is super clean. I can honestly say I have no complaints! When you go ask for Alexander, he's a tall blonde guy so amazing, so sweet and so helpful! Thank you Alexander for making our stay extra pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Key West-another Bucket List check off and made perfect by the accommodations at Key Lime Inn. Location is ideal. Our Cottage/Bungalow was flawless. Grounds a Tropical Paradise. A tremendous thank you to all the staff-especially to "Alexander the Great" for the superb recommendations to complement our vacation.
D & R Miller

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pick this place based on reviews here and its name. Great place close to everything airport Mallory square ..restaurants galore conch train southernmost point... the rooms are clean the staff is exceptionally helpful and courteous the pool is the perfect way to end all the walks you take in Key West..about the only thing I can say it needs is a microwave in your room

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18.. they have different sizes so if it matters how big it is ask before you reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#32 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn

Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key Lime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Inn is a 37 room boutique hotel in the center of Key West's Old Town area, just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West's historic neighborhoods. A variety of guest rooms are situated in a historic family estate and several buildings and cottages spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Free hotel parking. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Key Lime Inn. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room. Free Hotel Parking. Free Continental Breakfast. Upscale Amenities. Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool. Historic Cottages & Buildings. Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West. Lovely Neighborhood Setting. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Key Lime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.