We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lime Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Key Lime Inn to your Saves list
Key Lime Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent location for all Key West activities drinking,eating and partying
Stayed with family and friends in early May and loved it. Booked one of the cottages across the car park which was ideal for us. We could use pool but were not on top of it!!
Breakfast was average but did not need more (typical American continental)
Receptionist Michelle Thomas was very helpful and friendly which is one of the main attributes of a good hotel/inn and she had the same surname as me.
I booked online on the strength of the name!!!!and did not regret it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    320
    96
    37
    14
See reviews for
34
579
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CC Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We always stay at the Key Lime Inn when we're in Key West. The rooms are clean and inviting and the staff is always helpful. We will continue to use this Inn as a base when we visit. It's location is perfect for seeing all the sites and returning to peace and quiet!

Room Tip: We always try to stay in one of the rooms around the pool. We usually travel with friends and we can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Key West last weekend with a group of couples. We stayed at the Key Lime Inn from Saturday to Monday, from the moment we arrived and checked in everyone was very nice. We were able to check in 2 hour early which was nice. Our room was small, but big enough for the two of us. We went into the pool as soon as we arrived and it was perfect. This hotel is great because of the location, parking on the premises, nice breakfast from 8 to 10 am (coffee, OJ, muffins, yogurts, croissant and bagels). The only issue that some may find is that the standard room with queen bed is small, but for us two it was perfect. Oh and I forgot to mention that the restaurant "Better Than Sex" is two blocks away, you must check out!

Room Tip: If you are a couple 2 people the standard room with queen bed is perfect. We had room 33 which is ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location in Key West. The Key Lime Inn is an easy walk to all the hot spots... but just far enough from the noise to allow for peaceful nights. We found the staff unfailingly polite and helpful. The grounds are shady, informal and well kept. They offer a simple complimentary breakfast - mostly juice, breads, yogurt and fruit. Parking is free - a real plus in cramped Key West.

Our room - a "King Deluxe" - was decorated simply, but more than spacious enough. The private patio turned out to be a roughly 8' x 8' fenced-in square behind our room, with an outdoor table and two chairs. On cool nights, it would have come in handy. The in-room fridge was a nice extra.

My only real complaint - and it didn't bother my wife - was a distinct musty odor, especially in the bathroom. Several days of brutal humidity might help explain the problem. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you value privacy, ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose the Key Lime Inn due to the free parking and it's central location. Everything is walkable from the Key Lime and so central that next time we won't bother with a car. We will be bicycling like the locals! We stayed for five nights and were impressed with the friendly, helpful staff from the moment we checked in. They couldn't have been more accommodating, with tips on restaurants, locals spas, and places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble and Micheall in particular went above and beyond on every occasion. The hotel itself is quiet, with a nice laid back feel. The rooms are very clean and quickly made up every day. The grounds are lovely, the pool is small but clean and the buffet breakfast was adequate with croissants, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, yoghurts and fruit. We would stay at the Key Lime again, without hesitation. Compared to other hotels on Key West the room rate at the Key Lime are quite reasonable. Thank you everyone for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose the Key Lime due to its location and free parking and where very pleased with these aspects of our stay, that said at $235 per night it is very expensive for what it is, a very old but (authentic) poorly decorated and maintained group of buildings ranging from cabins to veranda style rooms.
The hotel is in a very peaceful setting and only ten minutes walk fro all the action.
The room was lovely with the biggest and highest bed we have ever slept in, but the room was not very practical it needs some modern fixings as it had only one mirror, very limited lighting (in fact it was dark) and electric wall sockets that where so loose that plugs fell out, it also had a nice private balcony overlooking well maintained grounds (don't lean against the balcony rails as they look as though they might collapse at any minute)!
There is a small pool around which is served a very light buffet breakfast with limited seating, the hotel has a nice ambience and staff are very pleasant.
Overall a pleasant two night stay in a location which we have no plans to return to - sorry Key West not what we expected!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This will be the only place I will stay when visiting Key West! This was our third hotel that we have stayed in and it is my favorite. We stayed in a King Deluxe bungalow and it was perfect. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. The room was decorated in a tropical theme with nice warm colors. It had a comfortable couch and an even more comfortable bed. I loved having the fridge and mini keurig in the room. The front desk was so accomodating and friendly. The pool was clean and had plenty of chairs. I liked the pool towels that were left for us in the room. When you walked on the grounds it felt like you were in your own tropical paradise. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the deluxe room it was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn

Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key Lime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Inn is a 37 room historic hotel in the center of Key West’s Old Town area, just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West’s historic neighborhoods. Rooms are situated in several buildings spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Key Lime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.