We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lime Inn

Save Saved
You added Key Lime Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Key Lime Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #18 of 40 hotels in Key West
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great and Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Small, romantic and personable.

The staff from the front desk to the cleaning lady were great. The room was extremely clan and well furnished.

Our only complaint was the room was up against Truman Blvd and every thumping stereo that drove by could be heard in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    287
    91
    36
    14
See reviews for
26
503
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Location is what this Inn has going for it. Yes the rooms are clean comfortable and the staff is efficient, but the place lacks any charm, character or level of service. Key Lime Inn is obviously a corporate hotel with staff who have not had the opportunity to attend the Disney Hospitality course. While the rooms are clean and comfortable we have and the same wine glasses for 4 days, you would think someone would think to replace them with clean ones. The breakfast is vey basic, with basic food that must come from Publics or Win Dixie. While I would not discourage any from staying here, Key West has so many choices, I would look around a bit more before booking here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights in February. We arrived at 1pm, before the check-in time, and since our room was ready we were able to check in then. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Although I wouldn't call it spacious, it was large enough that we didn't feel cramped. We never heard or saw any other guests except at breakfast. The Inn is just a short walk to Duval, there is a convenience store just a short walk away and we felt safe walking in the neighborhood after dark. It is a long walk to Mallory Square, but there is lots ot see and do on the way there. Breakfast wasn't fancy, but included enough to get a good start in the morning. The front desk was very helpful, providing us with maps and directions. If you're looking for luxury this isn't the place to stay. But in our opinion if you're looking for a comfortable, convenient, quiet place to stay this is it.

Room Tip: We were in superior queen room #14. Although it was next to the laundry and vending machine it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I just spent 5 days at the Key Lime Inn at Key West. We had stayed there 30 years ago so it was somewhat a nostalgic trip. It has grown a lot since then but thankfully retained a lot of its charm. Our room was comfortable and clean but my request for a bedside locker was not received well. Otherwise we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary light breakfast served by the pool as we are not big eaters. The pool itself is nicely heated and has a good aspect to the sun throughout the day. we also enjoyed the complimentary coffee and iced tea throughout the day. it is situated only a 5 minute walk from Duval St which is the hubbub of activity with bars, shops and restaurants. had a great meal the first night in the Black Marlin but do make sure to ask how much the specials are as they tend to be more expensive than the entrees. Had another great meal in "Michael", very good food but our service was a bit rapid which left us eating our starter before our wine had arrived and having our main course put down as our starter plates were lifted. While we don't like undue delay this was just a bit fast. However the manager noted our complaint and dealt with it well. Have to recommend the tour group who took us kayaking, they were called Blue Planet, collected us from our hotel and brought us on a really nice Kayak tour led by Sarah. Finally for a really fun night out go see the Drag Queen show at 801 Bourbon Bar on Duval St. Hilarious!!

Room Tip: We had a room by the car park which was a little noisy as it was closer to the road so maybe one set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Three blocks over from Duvall street, this complex is a mix of small individual cabins and short rows of rooms with one Victorian house with eight rooms. We had the second floor of the house with the front facing upper porch. The room was on the small size but was comfortable. The bath was large with a huge shower but needs some updating and a good scrubbing. There was no where to put anything down .They do need to add hooks and counters. The breakfast was just cereal, Danish and yogurt . The porch was a nice place to sit outside but you will be sharing it with who ever is in the room next door. If you would need two rooms then try to get the two upper rooms facing the street and have the whole porch to yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked very last minute and paid top dollar, but enjoyed this inn. Our room, room 10 on the second floor of one of many buildings, was lovely, but what we really loved was the huge porch facing the street. We got all the charm with no noise. We read and picniced out there and it was charming. We shared the porch with another room, but never saw or heard our neighbors. If we visit this inn again, I would request this room. The location is perfect for walking all over the city. The breakfast is disappointing, a very average (yogurt, cereal, muffins, toast) continental breakfast. We got the same and more staying in chain motels during this trip. There was parking and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Room 10 is on the second floor so there is a flight of steps, but a wonderful porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The inn is very well located, you can walk around into the main areas of Key west and walking distance from all bars and restaurants, but still quiet. We were there for new years and it was extremely expensive for an inn. (~USD 300/night) but demand was high and prices go up!
The lady who manages breakfast was lovely, I was on a special diet and she put some of my food away in the Inn fridge. Reception team, not so much, quite rude I would say. The rooms were ok for what we wanted but the safe is ancient, it's a bit rusty from the sea breeze and the bathroom could do with some updating. It was ok but for that sort of money you'd expect something in much better condition. An upside, it's got parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Key Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn

Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel
Key Lime Hotel Key West
Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#14 Romantic Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key Lime Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Inn is a 37 room historic hotel in the center of Key West’s Old Town area, just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West’s historic neighborhoods. Rooms are situated in several buildings spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Key Lime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.