We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“37 ROOMS, 23 PARKING SPACES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lime Inn

Save Saved
You added Key Lime Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key Lime Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #15 of 41 hotels in Key West
Bracey, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“37 ROOMS, 23 PARKING SPACES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The good:
Large, very clean rooms. Outstanding Key West ambiance. Close enough to Duval St. to walk, at least to the trolley stops, yet away from the maddening crowds. Staff is friendly, but not all of them are well-trained. Eating breakfast around the pool area, but in the shade, adds to the ambiance.
The bad:
the title says it all...yes the numbers are correct !
The paths to the cabins are covered with a stringy mulch that clings to your shoes and gets tracked in.
Yes, we would definitely stay there again. Great place to stay if you fly in. You can rent bikes, scooters, or electric vehicles by the day and have them delivered, so parking becomes a non-issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    308
    93
    37
    14
See reviews for
31
550
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Twenty of us stayed at the Key Lime Inn over New Year's. We had a great time and really appreciated the kindnesses of the staff. We had breakfast around the pool each morning and drinks there in the early evening. A location at the "far" end of Duval Street was a plus in my opinion, yet you could walk pretty much everywhere. Parking was another plus, especially in Key West. I highly recommend a stay at the Key Lime Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very peaceful and quiet. Pool wasn't too big, and there wasn't a bar. The rooms were fine, but the cleaning service, all they did was change the bedding and give you new towels. No other cleaning was done. The first day they cleaned, they left a massive clump of black hair on my clean towel...also, on the last night, they didn't use a fitted sheet for the bed, but a regular sheet just tucked under on each corner. Not a big deal, just not very professional. The location was fine...but I will not stay there again. The Lighthouse and Key Lime Inn are owned by the same people I believe, and I've stayed at the Lighthouse- I'd stay there over the Key Lime Inn any day. For $300/night, it was NOT worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Key Lime Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Katypears,

Thanks, so much, for writing. Lighthouse Court is the only one of our six boutique hotels which has a bar, The Mojito Bar & Cafe, poolside. Many guests think that hotels use fitted sheets, but they, and we, do not. We use regular sheets and tuck them in to be neat, comfortable and professional. We addressed the housekeeping concerns you mentioned and have made sure that they have been corrected. Thank you and we will see you at another of our hotels when you come back to Key West again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location, in general, is paradise so it's hard to be too displeased. That said, we found a lot of the little things to be subpar- located a little far from the action (which is mostly centered at the other end of Duval St), excessively firm mattresses, orange juice from concentrate in the AM, earplugs included in room (presumably for noisy AC?), etc. Just expected a bit more for the rate we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice location with proximity to Duval street and the beaches. Great friendly and helpful staff, especially Gabi. As others noted the rooms are basic. In fact for the price, we were disappointed as the carpet was old and torn, the air conditioner was noisy, the bed was okay, and the rest of the features of the room were worn. The room was musky and humid, but that probably has to do more with the climate. The breakfast was basic- bagels/toast, cereal and coffee/OJ/milk. The only fruit provided were apples. The best part of breakfast was that tables were outside around the small but clean pool. Parking is limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VH IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We paid for 5 nights in a Superior room. Less than superior. Queen size bed, tiny, tiny TV, wine cooler in the room and then asked for a refrigerator and got one. two nights out of 5 so far and today, came back mid afternoon and our room had not been cleaned yet-----I could not recommend this Inn to anyone I know. Also, our SUPERIOR room is next to the laundry, so much for atmosphere. Told that the rooms with the little outside seating area are the Deluxe rooms. Told when I made my reservation that we were in the highest rated room---told when we got here that when I made the reservation in OCTOBER, NOT THROUGH AN INTERMEDIARY SITE, that I should have asked for the BEST Room and Superior is not better than Deluxe. We have stayed in hotels all over the world---literally from Istanbul to New Zealand and in between. Superior has always been the best.

Room Tip: Can't really except to ask the size of the room, and where it will be. Don't let them confu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a lovely historic property and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. There was a little fridge in which we could chill our drinks, and a little area in front of our room where we could sit out amongst the trees. Lovely pool area and a computer in the lobby where you could access the internet. My one complaint about this property is in fact the internet. There is wireless internet, but the signal gets weak the minute you leave the area around the lobby. Even though the cottages and related buildings are not far, I was unable to get a signal in the room. I hate having to sit in a small lobby to do my emailing, etc, but it would be entirely fine if this didn’t bother you. One other small issue was parking. We had to move our car to the road the day we checked out, even though we planned to stay on in Key West to explore for a few more hours, but there was ample free parking on the street, so it turned out not to be a major problem. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the continental breakfast was basic but good. Location could not have been better.

Room Tip: We were in Room #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn

Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key Lime Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Inn is a 37 room historic hotel in the center of Key West’s Old Town area, just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West’s historic neighborhoods. Rooms are situated in several buildings spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Key Lime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.