We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Naples
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Back to Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just had a wonderful long weekend in Key West and stayed at Ocean Key, right next to Mallory Square. I had not been to Key West for the past three years and the resort was the perfect place to base our trip. We had dinner and breakfasts at the Hot Tin Roof with wonderful water views.

The bar staff at the pool bar were very accommodating with Mojitos, Margaritas and the like.
My wife got a deep tissue massage at Spa Terre, excellent. We shopped and dined up and down Duval Street and walked all around old town Key West.

We never used the car for two days as everything we wanted to see is walking distance from zero Duval.

The Resort accommodations are spacious and upscale. From the valet greeting on we were welcomed to relax and unwind and we definitely did.

This is my fourth time at Ocean Key Resort and each time it just feels better. The location, amenities and staff make it a super getaway.

Room Tip: I have had several views and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    289
    98
    38
    22
See reviews for
218
817
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanardsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just got back from 4 nights at the Ocean Key. This is a nice hotel, I would say above average though there were a few things I thought were just so so. I spent an insane amount of time reviewing the Key West hotels before my trip and I was pretty happy with my choice.

Pros
- Location as is mentioned in a lot of reviews is awesome.
- Rooms have a sort of beach type theme to them which is really nice.
- The bathroom was large and had a nice bath tub
- The room we chose had two tvs in it. Never had a room like that and thought it was nice
- The staff is really nice from the cleaning crew to the front desk they normally say hi and are helpful

Cons
- The pool is very small for what I would consider a high end resort.
- The gym is very small. It only had 1 treadmill along with two bikes and a broke elliptical. The weight area was nice but again very small.
- I don't know if this was a one time thing but while I was working out I went to the pool restroom and it was in horrible shape. The toilet had either backed up or blew up but I took one step in and began to gag.

Bottom line this hotel is pretty expensive but is also pretty nice. I would probably stay here again. n

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location of this property could not be any better. View from room is spectacular. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, attractions. Service at Sunset Pier was a bit slow. Hotel staff extremely courteous and helpful. Our experience was that hotel and area in general was rowdier on weekend vs weekday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Where to begin...from the moment we walked in the door at Ocean Key Resort, we were treated very well. The front desk person, Marta was cheerful and courteous, even though I had a misunderstanding about our bill initially; Marta explained everything to me patiently and correctly and then guaranteed us a great time. The bell hop, Johnny, gave us a thorough explanation of the resort and our suite. The concierges, Nate and Patrick were great to work with. They talked us through our itinerary and made sure we were set with our plans, guiding us in the right direction with every suggestion. Their input was instrumental in our planning and was vital to our enjoyment. At the hotel pool, the pool concierge Cristin was very welcoming, friendly and engaging to interact with, as were the servers/bartenders Jess and Ashley, making our poolside experience an enjoyable one. The bar at dockside, where you could watch the watersports and boats come in and out of the alcove, was very relaxing. The bartenders Sam and Jessica made sure we were always in hand with a refreshing drink. While at the hotel, we had a couples massage and everyone at the spa, from the director, Kylah, to the masseuses made sure we were comfortable and satisfied with our experience. At the restaurant/bar Hot Tin Roof, the entire staff (especiallyJosh and Shanya) was extremely friendly and personable. All in all, everyone at Ocean Key was phenomenal. Nate, Patrick and Marta were absolutely exceptional and every suggestion they made, from restaurants and bars to sightseeing and activities, was perfect. All three of them spent so much time with us and always made us feel like we were their first priority. We would not change one thing about our stay there and we look forward to going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 wonderful days at this resort! Went with another couple,they have been here 3 times,our first.We are planing our next trip now! The staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant and were very professional! The concierge (both) were so helpful planning our days and were "right on" with their recommendations.The pool staff were very attentive and also had excellent suggestions for restaurants,however,Philip,the chef at the resort's Hot Tin Roof ,made the most amazing dinner with the fish we caught and brought in!! He was an "artist" both in presentation and taste!! Actually,the meals at the resort were so good,we may eat all of our meals there next time!However,we did have an incredible meal at Lattitude as well-the view was outstanding.
Must also highly recommend the wine tasting sunset cruise on "Danger" charters,recommended by the resort.Vic and Shawn and the captain were funny,helpful with wine explanations and so social- they really were fabulous!
Can't wait to return to Key West and Ocean key resort!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a 3 night stop as part of our anual vacation. We had a lovely room on the second floor looking out onto mallory square although blocked by palm trees a little bit. The pool was a bit small but great view out towards sun key. We did eat but only at the pool side. Loved just sitting around the pool the poolside staff always coming around asking if we need any drinks which was nice and the mud slider cocktail is lovely don't know whats in it but its great. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Florida for three weeks this summer and stayed for several different hotels. Ocean Key was by far our best experience. We would especially like to thank John, Patrick and the staff at Tin Roof.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.