We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are going to charge for parking lot, let us know about it in advance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Key West
St Cyr Sur Mer
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“if you are going to charge for parking lot, let us know about it in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Location exceptionnal, beautiful room, nice staff in general , exception to the front desk manager at check out day of departure.
Surprised to have to pay 22 dollars plus taxes for valet parking.
The signalitique of the resort should be revised, difficult to find your way to the reception from your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for this review. We are so happy you enjoyed our location, rooms and staff members. We will be sure to take your comments into consideration for future improvements. Again we thank you so much for this review. We hope you stop by and pay us a visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    291
    98
    38
    22
See reviews for
219
819
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We checked in here on 11/1 and stayed through 11/3. We had a beautiful drive from Miami and were ready to get settled into our nest for the next 2 days. Chris, who also was very wonderful to book us some reservations at Louie's Backyard on Saturday night - took us to our room, which looked exactly like you would expect a Caribbean type hotel to be. The hotel itself sits right on the water and best of all - right ON Sunset Pier - which is where everyone heads to watch the sunset. The room was beautifully decorated and quiet and close to all the action of Duval street. We had excellent service from the concierge, Pat - in renting bicycles. We talked to several "Local" Floridians who say that they come to Ocean Key every year because it is THAT good. We will definitely go back to Key West and Ocean Key is where we will be staying! The only gripe I have about this hotel is the darned rooster who felt obliged to wake me up each morning! I could never live on a farm! :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the port side and it was very nice to be able to look at the water from our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for this review. We are so thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay here with us at Ocean Key! We will make sure to pass your compliments along to the appropriate people! We know they will love your kind words. We cannot wait for your return to us here in Key West! Thanks again for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljungby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my teenage daughter for one night only, we tried to arrive earlier but it seemed liked all Key West was fully booked due to the festival !
We were welcomed by a very nice lady and upgraded to a King suite with a Mallory Square view
which was really Amazing !!
This hotel is really nice situated, you can see the sea all over the Place !
The suite had a very big bathroom with a jacuzzi !
The breakfast was amazing, my daughter had a bagel with Salmon and it was really great. then we had fresh fruits in a large bowl, also delicious and finally eggs with bacon and grilled tomatoes !
When we woke up in the morning a huge crusing ship had arrived just outside our balcony and the sight was also fantastic.
We will definitely come back to Key West and the Ocean Kye resort again !

Room Tip: Ask for a Mallory Square room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for this review! We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us! We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as rooms, views, breakfast and our wonderful Jacuzzi. We are so grateful for this review! We look forward to your next visit! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We just returned from a weekend in Key West for a wedding. Stayed at Ocean Key Resort. Wonderful time. The ocean view room overlooked Mallory Square. Perfect to watch the sunset. I can't say enough about the people working there. Chris and Casey at the pool. Joseph and Ellie in the Hot Tin Restaurant. (Terrific food. Try the potato fries with truffles!!!) The concierge were extremely helpful. Great location but no beach. If you want to go Jet Skiing, use the company at the hotel. We booked a group of 15 of us with Sunset Jet Skis. It was windy that day and the water was a little choppy, however, we had a guide in front and one in the back who did not stay there, went ahead and left me and my husband. My husband was having trouble with the throttle and steering and after about 10 minutes, the others were so far in front of us, we didn't even know where they were. No where in sight so we decided to turn back. Finally, the one guide found us and brought us back to the dock. He was a little annoyed, however I was furious. The only person that was apologetic was the guide who remained at the dock, especially after we explained what had happened. He also called a cab for us to return to our hotel since we didn't want to wait an hour for the others to return. When the others returned to the hotel, evidently another couple was left several times to try to catch up to the group. Of course, no one offered a refund!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We will be sure to let all of our staff members know how much you appreciate their help! We know they will appreciate all of your kind words. We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon after getting married in Kissimmee. It was our 2nd time in Key West, but 1st at this hotel. We stayed in a deluxe guest room on the top floor with an ocean view. It was outstanding in terms of decor, size, cleanliness, view and the general design of the room we absolutely loved it. It was very expensive (mostly due to Fantasy Fest being on) but as it was our honeymoon we just went for it and were not in slightest disappointed. Bed so comfy, awesome pool and sun lounging, amazing cocktails. Only downside was the restaurant had very little if anything suitable for vegetarians so we didn't get to eat there plus on a couple of occasions the housekeeping was a bit later than what we opted for however this did not put a dampener on our stay at all. Top hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for this review! We are so happy to hear how much you were able to enjoy our rooms, views, pools and décor of our hotel! We will be sure to take your future comments into consideration for future improvements. We want to thank you again for this review. We hope you stop by and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ocean Key Resort for our "mini-moon" after our wedding. We were looking for a quick getaway, and decided on Key West. After reading the reviews, there was no other hotel we wanted to visit. We were not disappointed.

First of all, the location is perfection. It's right at the end of Duval Street, where all the bars and shopping are, but it's tucked away so you can forget you are right in the middle of everything. You can easily walk everywhere (although rent a bike if you're going to the Southernmost Point - it's a bit of a hike.) The hotel is next to Mallory Square, and is situated perfectly to enjoy the magnificent Key West sunsets. Secondly, the hotel itself is beautiful. It's decorated so tastefully, and perfectly for Key West. The pool area is a tad on the small side, but there were plenty of chairs and we never felt crowded or on top of other guests. And trust me on this - get a cocktail and watch the sun go down from the pool. It's beautiful!

Our room was incredible. We booked a standard king room, but we were surprised to discover we were placed in a two bedroom suite. Accident or not, it was FABULOUS. The shower was one of the best I've ever taken (which may be because we had a very long travel day!) and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The best part was that we had a huge balcony overlooking the water. What a view!

The service was also amazing. We were checked in quickly and painlessly, and anything we needed during our stay was happily accommodated. The staff at the pool bar were great, and the concierge hooked us up with two great excursions. I cannot say enough nice things about how nice everyone was! I wish I could remember all their names so I could thank them personally!

We didn't take advantage of the spa, nor did we dine in the Hot Tin Roof restaurant (sadly), so I can't comment on that, but we did have breakfast delivered to the room a couple of times, and the food was delish!

The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is that we didn't stay long enough! We will absolutely be returning to this hotel on our next visit to Key West - without question!

Room Tip: We were in room 509 - it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for this awesome review! We are so happy to hear how great your stay was here at Ocean Key! We are so pleased to hear how much you loved our location, rooms and staff members! We hope the next time you come; you can take advantage of our spa and Hot Tin Roof! Thanks again for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Forget Mallory Square. An ocean view suite gives you all you need for a beautiful sunset, without the crowds (and their heads). Superb position with excellent rooms, and car parking which is high enough to avoid flooding problems when Duval Street is knee deep in water after a torrential downpour!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for this awesome review! We are so pleased to hear how much you loved your stay with us. Our sunsets are always great here at Ocean Key. We are so pleased you were able to experience them! We want to thank you for writing this review. We hope you stop by again and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.