We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Absolutely Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Key West
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“We Absolutely Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved our stay at the Ocean Key Resort. I honestly cannot rave enough about how much we enjoyed it.

From the second we checked in, until our time checking out, the staff went out of their way to be so friendly and helpful and to help make sure that we were comfortable. They noticed that we were celebrating a special occasion when we checked in, and they promptly upgraded us to a beautiful two bedroom/two bath oceanfront suite with a beautiful balcony. We had a view of Sunset Pier from our suite and got to enjoy wonderful live music each night on our balcony. The room itself was beautiful, decorated in rich, tropical shades of blue and green, with nice lighting, a nice t.v., minibar, and a sunken Jacuzzi tub. The bed was so comfortable with great linens and cozy down pillows; we slept so well while we were here.

The location of the hotel is another big plus. It's located right at Duval and Front Street, right in the heart of things, and so easy to walk anywhere you want to go. We had a car the first night, but promptly returned it because we just didn't need it. Dining at Sunset Pier was a lot of fun - great casual food with a nice view of the water. We ate at Hot Tin Roof as well and enjoyed the elegant environment and wonderful service. One morning we had breakfast delivered to our room, and they set up the most beautiful array of food for us on the balcony - complete with linen tablecloth. The Hot Tin Toast and fresh fruit were fantastic, just great attention to detail from beginning to end.

The hotel is also steps away from Mallory Square, but I never would have known it we hadn't ventured there one night; none of the noise could be detected from our room at all, but it was great to stroll over to watch the beautiful sunset. To top things off, we had a $100 per day resort credit that I found on tripadvisor; it was enough to pay for all of our food and drinks during our stay and even buy something at the gift shop. The only problem we had was that the WIFI wasn't working when we were there, but they were working on it and offered us free breakfast as compensation, and we were more than happy with that. They really are all about their guests' comfort and happiness, and you can't ask for more than that. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Wow what a great and positive review! We’re so happy you enjoyed the room, the staff, and the location of our hotel. We will be sure to pass your message along about the Wi-Fi to the appropriate people. We hope we see you soon and thank you again for writing this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    954
    274
    90
    38
    22
See reviews for
200
766
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The only negative thing I can say about this hotel was that we only had 2 nights here and would have loved more! The hotel is very well situated and our room looked over Mallory Square with all the evening festivities.

Check in was efficient and welcoming. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel treated us to a complimentary breakfast, which was a lovely gesture. Our room was well appointed and homely, with a sunken bath and a very comfortable bed. A little balcony overlooked Mallory Square

The staff were, without exception, fantastic - reception, concierge (prior to our visit booking us a trip) and staff in the restaurant were efficient, helpful and it almost felt like we were invited into their home as the hotel is small but beautifully formed. Each staff member had a pride in being part of the hotel.

We loved our brief stay here and would welcome it to anyone looking for a great hotel in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you could have stayed longer, too! We will be sure to inform our staff of your kind words and comments. We would love to have you again in the future. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Decided to have a spa day. Jeese and adam were awesome. Best massage ever. Had drinks before and after. April and jessica were very social and gave us great service. We will be back everyday if we could. Can't wait till our next return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for this review! It pleases us to hear how much you enjoyed your relaxing spa day with us! Jesse, Adam, April, and Jessica will also be happy at hearing how much you appreciated them and their services! We hope you return for another relaxing day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything was top notch The balcony overlooking the ocean The big Jacuzzi that you could look over the ocean while you were in it Two bedrooms and two bathrooms Place was spotless and fun. In great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you found our resort to be top notch and that you had a fantastic stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful view from your Jacuzzi also! Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is located right on the pier, and in a perfect location in Key West. Our first time there, it was a perfect choice. The 2 bedroom suite was very homey, such cute ambiance, including panel floor and ceiling and crown molding. Not to mention the SUNKEN bathtub jacuzzi. AMAZING. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Our corner two bedroom suite was a must. Larger than my condo in southern california!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for such a sweet review! We so glad that our location was perfect for you. We appreciate such an amazing review and we cannot wait until you return for another visit! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was in Key West for two nights, spending one night at this location. I bought my room using an Express Deal on Priceline, so I fully expected NOT to got the 5 star treatment! I'm talking about getting a room with a view of the parking garage sort of treatment (oh, I see you've booked on Priceline, we've got a special room for you!). We've all had those experiences with Priceline hotels!

Fortunately, I was treated like you'd expect to be treated at a 4 star hotel, and then some! First, I wanted to get a jump start on my day in Key West, so I took a shot in the dark and asked whether I could check-in early. While I wasn't able to get into a room immediately, I was able to get one by 10:30, a full five and a half hours before designated check-in -- sweet! I was also upgraded to an oceanfront room that overlooked Mallory Square -- double sweet! The room itself was very luxurious -- as you can see from the photos I had custom tile flooring with a seperate living area. There was a also a small(ish) balcony that overlooked the harbor and Mallory Square.

Now about the location -- you can't get any better. You are right next door to Mallory Square -- in fact if I had so desired I could've seen the sunset and all the street performances right from my balcony, but what's the fun in that? It's also right at the end of Duval Street, with all its nightlife, restaurants, etc.

The only downside: It's not affiliated (to my knowledge) with an major national chains. There are a few other resorts owned by the same group that owns Ocean Key (including the famous Little Palm Island Resort 25 miles away) however your Starwood, Marriott, Hilton, etc loyalty programs will be of no use to you here.

Finally -- I have to say how AWESOME the concierge is (regrettably I don't recall his name). Going solo on this trip he was a great help in finding fun things to do on the island, and was overall a great person to have a chat with!

It is a little pricey, but if you've got the cash this is THE spot to be for your Key West vacation.

Room Tip: Book an Oceanfront Room -- worth the extra expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that your treatment was up to your expectations! We are thrilled that you loved our location and staff members. We will be sure to pass this message along to them! We hope to have another visit from you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in a junior suite for 4 nights. The hotel staff were attentive and the hotel was generally clean. The location is convenient and the junior suite was adequate size for two adults. There are no laundry facilities on premises which in Key West is a major drawback. The wifi was difficult and often impossible to get a connection. The pool was much smaller than it appears from the photographs but the bar service by the pool was excellent. Having previously stayed at the Hyatt in Key West I would pick it over Ocean Keys. The only advantage Ocean Keys had over the Hyatt is that the rooms are more spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We are glad to hear that our staff members were attentive to your needs. We apologize about the WiFi connection and will be sure to look into this for future stays. We are extremely grateful for you taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.