We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We came to Key West on a whim with-out reservations. We walked in off the street to the Ocean Key expecting to be laughed at or the price to be ridiculous, we were wrong. The place is not cheap but also not what I was expecting and it's in the center of everything with perfect views. I asked about some activities and the they were very helpful and booked a couple of things for us. We had such a great time we stayed an extra two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We’re thrilled that we were able to accommodate you and keep you in Key West longer than you expected! We appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    320
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
228
887
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a third return trip for my three girlfriends and I to key west having staying previously at the Westin & Southernmost. We set our sights on Ocean Key as they had a 2 bedroom suite that had an ocean view and was right off Duval. The location of the hotel can't be beat for those looking to be in the heart of Mallory Square. The hotel is situated right off the pier where you can watch the sunset and action each evening and have restaurants and nightlife all within walking distance. Unfortunately the hotel is a bit dated and worn and could use a facelift, especially in the guest rooms. I guess paying 1,100 a night we were expecting a more luxurious accommodation. The master in the suite is large and has a big bathroom, while the second room is exceptionally small. Both have a lack of mirrors and the lighting is poor. Our room (407) had a large sitting area with a sofa, 2 chairs and a small table. It did have a very large balcony but the view of the ocean was partially hidden by a large palm tree. The shining star of this hotel is the staff. They were awesome! The pool staff works very hard to please the guests and went out of their way to help us in any way they could.. Nate in particular did a fantastic job making our stay an enjoyable one. He even ordered lunch to be delivered pool side when we tired of the hotel food. For the money, I probably wouldn't stay here again. But those looking to be in the heart of key west it's not a terrible choice.

Room Tip: Noise from Duval street was an issue. Pick a room away from Duval if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re glad you love visiting Key West and we’re thrilled that you decided to stay with us this time around. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our exceptional staff. We will pass your concerns onto management and hope that you will consider staying with us for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went for the song writers festival and stayed at Ocean Key. From the time we arrived to the time we checked out the staff was wonderful. I guess you can't help but be happy in Key West, but the staff really seemed to enjoy the guests. From the bellman, front desk, housekeeping, room service, gift shop, and manager they were all helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic at the start of Duval, right in the heart of old town. The rooms and decor were nice, although the room layout was a bit odd. The building appears to be older, probably remodeled several times for different uses over the years. The bathroom was particularly cramped in a galley style layout, but they had a huge bath tub in the center of the room which went unused. As my wife said "there is no way I'm getting in that thing--no telling what has happened in there".

Room Tip: Decide the view you want--overlooking Duval Street (interesting watching late night activities), or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We’re so glad to hear that the staff made your experience enjoyable! We always want to provide quality service and treatment, and we’re happy to learn that our staff made your time spent with us pleasant. Thank you so much for taking the time to share a review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Key West for those visiting the first time is a strange place; beautiful sea but no beach to speak of, alternative scene with loud bars and cheap tat in shops, Hemingway museum and Believe it or Not! Mr Ripley in adjacent roads... amongst all this is the Ocean Key Resort. It a traditional wooden exterior hotel with large rooms (slightly outdated) and good service. It should not call itself a resort as it sets the wrong expectations - the pool is an oversized plunge pool with great sunset and efficient bar staff. Overall, it's a medium sized hotel with a good restaurant (Hot Tin Roof) that serves breakfast overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We’re glad you had an overall pleasant stay with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in April 2013. Staff were all brilliant, pool was small and sun beds busy but we knew this before we came and it was more than compensated in other ways. (Fort Zach' beach is lovely and only a 20 minute walk!).
We had a basic room overlooking Duval Street but the room was huge and well equipped.
It is a beutiful old building skillfully renovated and turned into a first class hotel.
Unless you plan to spend your hoilday in your room I wouldn't pay extra for a suite! We had a sea view from balcony and although Duval street is the main street in key west the top end is very quiet.
Pier bar is a wonderful place for a drink at anytime. Perfect location for everything the town has to offer.
Other reviews mentioned Rooster noise, we did hear some but they are everywhere on Key West. (Take some ear plugs if you sleep lightly).
No cruise ships to be seen on our stay.
Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views, all will have some view of the sea. Possibly avoid rooms overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We love to be described as “full of character.” What a kind and insightful review! We always try to provide the best quality experience for our guests, and it looks like we were able to help you create lasting memories! Thanks so much for taking the time to share this with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ocean Key is so nice, our balcony on the fourth floor overlooked Mallory Square, the Cruise ships, & the sunset, & it was beautiful. The friendliness & ease from checking in to checking out was great. The staff were friendly, caring, helpful & attentive to our needs & went out of their way to accommodate us. This was our second time here & we will be back. Room & everything was clean, comfy & beautiful. The valet/bellman loaded all our luggage, took us up to our room, showed & explained everything & if we needed anything to just call. The next day he again took our luggage down & put it in the car. He was so nice, he was the best, as he went above & beyond what most people do. He honestly seemed to care about you & about what he was doing. He should teach others, but some things you can't teach, because it is just part of who you are. The elevator stopped working, so we just took the stairs, but it was fixed the next morning. The Jacuzzi jets need to be turned down, but we enjoyed everything else. The price is a little higher than what we normally pay, but - you get what you pay for - VERY NICE & CLEAN rooms, & VERY NICE staff. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: One with a view is great, but most people go to Mallory Square anyway - since it is just on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review! We’re glad to see you had a fantastic experience and that you felt cared for. A helpful staff, clean rooms and an overall comfortable stay is what we pride ourselves on, and we’re glad to hear that these qualities made your time with us enjoyable. We’re glad you are looking forward to coming back, and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The best, location, staff, room and food. Just finished breakfast on our balcony, great food and fast delivery. Staff are eager to help and really good people. We will be back for a longer stay.
Thanks again to the Ocean Key.

Room Tip: Even suites with a "partial ocean view" are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We love to see the word “best” associated with our name, and are so happy to hear that you are planning on coming back for an even longer stay next time. We’re sure we will be able to keep providing you with the best quality experience, time and again. Thanks for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.