We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Key West
Taneytown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a 3 night stay at this resort. The staff is amazing, our room was incredible (pricey but well worth it). We had room 516, it has to be the best view I have ever experienced. You will not regret booking here! My only complaint, and it is trivial, is the elevator is like a sauna, we were on the 5th floor and we couldn't get out of the elevator fast enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
“Awesome” is always a word we love to hear! Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and it sounds like we were able to provide you with just that. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    965
    275
    90
    38
    22
See reviews for
204
772
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our second visit to Ocean Key Resort, we plan to keep going back. Their staff is terrific, they make the experience superb. Not only do we want to return, we have no desire to think about staying elsewhere. The staff and resort have earned that.

The Ocean Key Resort presents each guest with an array of specialists there to make your stay enjoyable. Many hotels have nameless, faceless people responding when you have an issue. The Ocean Key Resort staff work proactively, ask you how things are going, if there is anything they can do during each interaction with you (even on the elevator). Every one works very hard to make you feel at home, and bring warmth and friendliness along with their hard work. Yes, the staff makes sure we know all of them on a first name basis and we enjoy and appreciate their friendship.

So the staff is superb. Now the location. You can’t beat this location, its close to all of the action in Key West, all within a short walk down the street. Somehow being in the heart of lively Key West, the hotel grounds and pool still feel like an oasis. The restaurant staff prepare wonderful meals, which are served in a wonderful restaurant, served out on the sunset pier, and served at the pool (brought right to your pool chair if you want). I give this hotel the highest rating in each area and across the board.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so glad to hear that, not only were you a returning guest, but you plan on visiting us again! We’re always happy to hear that our staff helped to give you such an enjoyable experience, and we appreciate you letting us know you felt cared for. Thanks for the great review, and we can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

By far our best trip to Key West yet! The hotel is in a great location at 0 Duval St. and walking distance from just about everything. The staff is pleasant, accommodating and genuine. We had a great room (310) and if you ever have a chance to get a room in this category it is well worth whatever the price is. We had a great view that overlooked Sunset Pier and could get from our room to Duval St. in about 1.5 minutes.

Hot Tin Roof was the most enjoyable dining experience we had on our trip and Sunset pier is the best place to view a sunset and enjoy a drink before you start your night!

I would recommend this to anyone going to Key West!

Room Tip: If you can swing the $ get the two room suite! Great views, bathroom amenities and facilities, comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing. We are honored that you consider this your best Key West trip yet! We agree- our convenient location makes it easy to enjoy everything the island has to offer. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experiences at Hot Tin Roof and the Sunset Pier. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is what caught our attention. You are close to a lot of great places to eat, see, and things to do. Our room on the 2nd floor was very noisy though. Apparently our center way was a common wall for the plumbing for rooms above us. We knew when people were showering or other. The staff was great and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for commenting. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location. There is so much to see and do! We apologize that the plumbing bothered you during your stay. However, we hope that you had a great vacation at Ocean Key. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were looking for a special place to celebrate our daughters wedding. Just us parents. We thought we deserved a honeymoon-like getaway too, after all we did for our kids.

We arrived and were promptly greeted at our vehicle, luggage unloaded by staff, vehicle valet parked, and were in our room in less than 15 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, opened windows allowing fresh air in, and overall loveliness of the room. The entire resort area is pristine. Staff VERY attentive. Room service excellent. Cleaning service superb. Best views of the sunset in Key West!

Room Tip: choose a room on a corner facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. You are right; a honeymoon-type vacation is exactly what you deserved! We are delighted that you chose to stay at Ocean Key. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived at Ocean Key and thought it looked great, very tropical and bright. Car was taken away quickly and we went to check in, which was friendly and efficient. Our room was overlooking Mallory Square, but the ocean was blocked out by two enormous cruise liners which made the room very dark .....The room itself was spacious, but looked like it could do with redecorating, and also the interconnecting doors were so thin that we could take part in the conversation going on next door. We went to ask if we could change rooms and were told that we would have to stay one night, but we could move the next day, so,we agreed that. Had a dreadful nights sleep a. because next door's light was shining under the interconnecting doors; b. we could hear them coughing and snoring; and c. the roosters started up at 3 am!!!! The latter was not the hotels problem, however, but common all over the island.. Finally when we did get up there were 2 new cruise ships arrived, and also our hot water system was not working........we were very glad to change rooms but annoyed that we had had to put up with one night of,poor quality expensive accommodation. However, the new room was overlooking Duval St, same size and category of room but light, bright and airy, and with a slightly different layout to our previous room, with the sitting area separate from the bedroom,and an enormous jacuzzi bath in the bedroom. And we couldn't hear the roosters! We ate at the Hot Tin Roof which was excellent, both food wise and service wise. The pool area looked very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds, but we didn't use it as we were out most of the day. Lots to look at, right on Sunset Pier which was a fun place, with food and drinks. The hotel shop had a fantastic selection of well priced clothing and accessories and nice staff. The lady concierge was excellent and got us some good dinner reservations. In fact all the staff that we met were friendly and if they could help, they would. Our stay started off a disappointment, but by the end of our 3 night stay we had really enjoyed ourselves,, and we are coming back in December with our grown up kids for a longer stay.
.

Room Tip: Mallory Sq rooms overlook car park and also cruise liners block view and light. Duval St view great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your initial room. However, we are pleased that this issue was sorted out! We are delighted that you enjoyed your second room. Also, we are thrilled that you enjoyed Hot Tin Roof and the Sunset Pier. Your feedback is appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got married on the Ocean Front Terrace and had our reception on their pier, and the staff was simply amazing. The only day this spring there was a torrential downpour, and the staff had taken care of every angle, they were wonderful! Beautiful rooms with great views, and phenomenal food, both at the Hot Tin Roof and from room service!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing. Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special event at Ocean Key. We are ecstatic that you had such a special day- despite the rain. We hope to see you in the near future to celebrate an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.