We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close to the action.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I liked the Ocean Key Resort so much we want to come back next year and stay in the same room. The staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast room service complete with white linen table cloth. Charles a member of the staff even told me where to find the best conch in town. If you have ever ate conch you know that is not easy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for commenting. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Ocean Key. Room service is the perfect vacation luxury! We would love to have you vacation with us next year and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    317
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
226
884
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Would definitely stay here the next time we are in Key West. Perfect location where you can walk to any place on Duval Street and a good price compared to other places we have stayed. Rooms were very spacious and clean! We Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting. With an address of 0 Duval Street, we truly are in the middle of all the action! We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Ocean Key. Come vacation with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you like to be where the action is, then this hotel is for you if you stay in Key West. You can walk everywhere from here. The rooms are very large and the pool and hot tub are very nice and clean with very good pool service. There are two draw backs to this hotel however, one is that even though you book a room with an ocean view you cannot see the sun set into the ocean, it sets behind Sunset Key. The second is there is no beach access but I believe that to be true for most of the hotels in old town on the Gulf side. You can walk next door to Mallory Square and see the sunset or do as we did and take a sunset cruise, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient! A sunset at Mallory Square is one of our favorite Key West activities. We hope to welcome you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel looks beautiful and has a great location, but thats where the good parts ended.
1. The customer service wasn't the greatest. We arrived in the early afternoon before the room was available. We left our bags with the front desk and were told that they'd make us a priority and get our room ready as soon as possible. 3 hours later, the room was still not available. Finally, the room became available, at the normal checkin time, so the hotel had made no effort to get it any faster. We had been out when the room became available, but when we returned out bags were still at the front desk, they hadn't taken the liberty to put them in our room. It took a good 20 minutes for them to finally get someone to gather our bags and get them up to our room.
2. The noise was aweful. Throughout the night, we heard every noise on the planet despite being on the 4th floor. The roosters, spring breakers screaming, delivery trucks that apparently had use their backing up beeping at 4am, taxis that also had to use beeping, etc. The hotel does not have windows or walls thick enough to block this noise and the hotel seems to not make an effort to stop trucks or taxis from being noisy. Also, when we asked for ear plugs at the front desk, we were told that they could not provide us with them for "legal reasons" and we'd have to buy our own. None of us got a good night's sleep that entire vacation.
3. The pool area isn't very large. Given the space, I understand the pool area's size, but given the hotel's size, the amount of chairs is very low. There's about enough for about 1/10th of the hotel's guests. When we went to the pool, every chair was claimed, but over half were empty because the guests were in the pool. We were left with the only option of standing awkwardly near the bar.
4. The smell of Mallory Square is bad and cruise ships block your view. Mallory Square right next to the pool area smells aweful, like a rancid dairy farm or a trash dump. This smell wafts into the pool area and it just smells terrible. There was also a cruise ship that parked itself right in front of the pool area. It was so close I could see into people's cabins.

Given the price, this hotel wasn't worth it. It didnt make a lot of effort to overcome the pitfalls.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not anywhere near the front entrance as the front entrance receives a lot of car traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay at Ocean Key did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and will be considered when making future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ocean Key in Key West and had front row seats for an awesome sunset from the pool. The food and drinks at the hotel were delicious and the staff was exceptionally helpful and accomodating! The Concierge, Oksana, was extremely knowledgable and helpful - all her recommendations were spot on!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing. Key West sunsets really are amazing! We are pleased that you enjoyed our friendly team members and the tasty food options! We appreciate the positive review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I haved stayed here 4 times. It has gone downhill very quickly. Rooms were not cleaned adequately. Staff was slow and almost arrogant. Food was marginal. Sheets were so thin my sister put her foot through one. Re-allocation of Crise ships berths from 2 to 3 have blocked. The views of 1/3 of the rooms. It used to be great. So sad how downhill it has gone. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Get as close to the pier as u can so u r not blocked by a Cruise ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with your experience at Ocean Key. We constantly strive to provide the ultimate experience for each of our guests. Your opinion and feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hubby was a little "iffy" on the idea of staying downtown as opposed to beach resort, but after two nights he was sold on the idea. We booked two nights at Ocean Key and two nights at the Waldorf Astoria property on the beach, but my husband preferred Ocean Key. Our corner room was delightful, overlooking the pool, the plaza, and with western views of Sunset Key. Hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly--we could not have asked for a better stay. Chef at the waterfront bar even grilled our fresh fish for us when we returned from charter trip!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a waterfront room with a balcony and whirlpool hot tub! The views are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review. We're so happy to hear that your anniversary trip was a success from relaxing in our beautiful rooms, watching the sunset at Mallory Square, and enjoying your fresh catch! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.