We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat. Fantastic staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat. Fantastic staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the week before Christmas, based on the reviews here on TA. We were not disappointed. Booked a Junior Suite and was upgraded to a one-bedroom on the 5th floor. Staff was fantastic. Also glad I noticed the $50 room credit coupon here on TA which we put to good use at the Hot Tin Roof for breakfast (fantastic) and a couple of drinks at the Sunset Pier. Great location next to Mallory Square. Also a very short walk to El Meson de Pepe. I would have rated our stay a 5, but there were just a few issues with some dust on the lamps and the bathroom. Just couldn't justify a 5 rating, I wish I can give a 4 3/4 stars. It's been years since I've been on a Key West vacation (except for a short cruise ship stop a couple of years ago...doesn't count). But this trip reminded me just how much I enjoy this eclectic, wonderfully eccentric place. Planning on making this a frequent destination, and will definitely stay at Ocean Key again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We appreciate the feedback. We hope you had a lovely Holiday! Breakfast at the Hot Tin Roof is really a delicious treat! Also, with our proximity to Mallory Square, there is never a dull sunset! Thank you for your feedback, and we assure you that we are continuously working to provide a 5-star stay for our guests. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    294
    98
    39
    23
See reviews for
221
831
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the final hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon road trip from Miami to Key West. It was the most expensive of the three so I had high expectations, especially after a wonderful stay in Islamorada. The hotel at first glance looks great, and lots of it doesn't disappoint. To summarise I have listed the good, and the not as good below:
GOOD:
- the rooms are nicely appointed, and have good space and amenities
- the hotel was the only one to make a fuss of the fact that we were on honeymoon, with a great touch of giving us a free bottle of Verve Cliquot champagne on the day of arrival!
- the pool is warm, and we were able to get a sun lounger whenever we needed one, probably as there are less children staying at the resort
- the location is great, I wasn't too noisy from Duval, but was an amazing place to watch the sunset from the pool area away from the crowds and with a mojito in hand...
THE NOT AS GOOD:
- there was a problem with water leaking in the room, which made the carpet wet in one corner. I mentioned this on the first day, and they sent someone up super quick, but nothing got done, and we weren't offered a different room....
- the parking is 22 dollars a night, which is steep, given that when we needed the car getting on departure it took 20 minutes, and delayed our final trip to Miami....
- I am not sure we got the room we paid for. We paid for a superior grade room, but it seemed to be the smallest of their rooms, and overlooking the street.... I might be wrong, and it wasn't a deal breaker, but I had expected a little more for so much money....
- the carpet was dirty....we kept washing our feet and wondering why they were so dirty... We thought it was from walking around key west, but then noticed that it happened AFTER we got out of the shower! So it can only have been from the carpets.....?
BUT, apart from the small gripes above, we had a lovely stay. Key West is a great place; hectic, but great! And the mojitos in the hotel are great too... :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your honeymoon experience! We hope you enjoyed the champagne. We are happy that you enjoyed your time around the pool and exploring Key West! We apologize that our room maybe not have exceeded your expectations. Ocean Key appreciates the feedback from our guests. We constantly aim to provide the ultimate vacation experience, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I were married at Ocean Key Resort in December 2012! I will start by saying that we had a fantastic experience and were very happy with everything from the day we visited the resort and decided on it as our wedding location until the day we checked out 4 days after the wedding!

The Wedding - We decided on OKR as our venue about 10 months before wedding and worked with Katherine at Ocean Key over that time. Katherine was great to work with and always available for any questions that we had regarding the ceremony, reception, and the different options that they offer. The wedding day was absolutely perfect! Katherine and the staff at OKR did an amazing job making sure that everything was just the way we envisioned our wedding day to be! They were available all day and checked in several times to make sure we were okay or to see if there was anything we needed! The food and beverage at the wedding was amazing! Our guests are still talking about how great the guacamole and risotto stations were!

Our Stay - We had a ocean view suite that looked out over the pool and Gulf of Mexico, which made for an amazing sunset view! The room was very spacious and comfortable! The maid service did a fantastic job each day and the room was always cleaned at the time that we requested! They also checked back early evening to see if you needed more towels. We did order room service several times, it was always great and arrived qucikly! I highly recommend ordering breakfast to the room, not only was the food excellent but they set it up at the table on the balcony which was a nice touch!

The Pool - The pool is fantastic! The service at the pool was great and there was always someone coming around to check to see if you needed some ice water or wanted to order any food or drinks!

All in all - we had a fantastic time at Ocean Key Resort and cannot wait to return for our 1 year anniversary and many times after that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Congratulations! We appreciate you celebrating your wedding with us at Ocean Key! We are ecstatic that you and your guests had such a fabulous time with us. A sunset view from one of our balconies truly is the best. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff and amenities. We cannot wait to help you celebrate your 1 year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just visited Key West for the first time. Found the Ocean Key Resort online and decided to give it a try. It didn't jump out at me at first view as a 4 star hotel, an unassuming & very small entrance and lobby. However, the Jr. Suite room was very nice and spacious and the decor felt right for the Keys. The pool area was small, but very well maintained with a great view of the ocean. Very friendly wait staff. It was the perfect place to watch the sunset. Mallory Square and all the street performers are right next door. The pier immediately below and beside the hotel is also a good place to relax and watch the sunset. They have live music and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Step out the front door and you are right at the beginning of lower Duval St. There is constant entertainment, food and drinks, drinks, and more drinks all along Duval. This hotel is located perfectly for those who want to be able to walk to all the action. The cruise ships dock directly behind the hotel, so they do partially block the view of the ocean, but they are generally gone before the sunset celebration. I would be happy to stay here again if we ever return to Key West.

Room Tip: Try for the 3rd, 4th or 5th floor for better views and less noise from the crowing roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your first stay in Key West! Ocean Key is honored to be a part of your experience. Between Mallory Square, the pier, and Duval Street, you really are in the middle of the action! We are happy you enjoyed the sunsets and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking to pay twice as much a hotel room as you should, look no further, you will not be disappointed, this is the place. Do the math......it is simple. The hotel had been sold out for three weeks straight, when we arrived. The reviews, although not accurate, are stellar. I expect a LOT when I'm paying north of $300 per night for a hotel room. The o.ly place I've paid more is New York. This is a historic/vacation area and they get every dollar they can for their rooms -- it is the American way! Would you or I do any different? Just understand the place is getting "long in the tooth" and you are going to pay a premium to stay here. If it were new or recently renovated that would be different. WE PAID $297 for the room plus $22 a night for the car. The staff were very nice. Next visit to Key West I will search for a better value. Maybe those that left 4 & 5 star reviews felt better about what they paid if they kid themselves about the hotel value. Don't misunderstand me - we enjoyed KW but that is all there without overpaying for your hotel! We had a great time in Key West. We will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience at Ocean Key did not exceed your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is of the utmost importance as our goal is to ensure you experience a a great vacation. We appreciate your review and constantly work to provide a dream vacation for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of just about everything to see or do. Our room was a "junior" suite, actually a full bedroom and separate living room, very spacious and well appointed. We had a "partial" ocean view which meant we were not facing the famous soul soothing sunsets but we were very happy with our view. We had a balcony...which we used every day. All the staff were terrific, front desk, concierge, and wait staff at Hot Tin Roof Restaurant. Even though the hotel is located at the foot of Duval Street, known for its night life, we were never bothered by noise. One heads up: check in time really is 4pm, so don't expect to get in sooner. No problem, actually, since so much to do/see around the hotel if you arrive early as we did.

Room Tip: Try for the upper floors to avoid street noise and get better views from balcony. Sunset views (ie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your view and room accommodations, as well as our friendly staff and noise-free environment. We sincerely hope you come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son and wife just spent 5 days over Christmas at Key West and this resort. It was a wonderful experience and have no complaints. The staff was very accomodating and took care of any needs we had. We had a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We partaked in the restaurant, the Sunset Pier, the hot tub and pool, spa, and gym. We also worked with two great planners in the resort for restaurant reservations and some travel accommodations. I would definitely recommend this resort and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you left with nothing but fond memories. We can’t wait to have you back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.