We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Key West
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son and wife just spent 5 days over Christmas at Key West and this resort. It was a wonderful experience and have no complaints. The staff was very accomodating and took care of any needs we had. We had a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We partaked in the restaurant, the Sunset Pier, the hot tub and pool, spa, and gym. We also worked with two great planners in the resort for restaurant reservations and some travel accommodations. I would definitely recommend this resort and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you left with nothing but fond memories. We can’t wait to have you back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    995
    282
    97
    38
    22
See reviews for
215
803
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking to relax on your honeymoon, catch some rays, and eat some amazing food--- this is the place to go! The pool is just feet from the ocean and the hotel staff is super nice. You can get pool-side cocktails and shrimp! Yum! We also had dinner at the adjoining restaurant (Hot Tin Roof) and it was so good. There was complimentary champagne, the shrimp cocktail was tasty, and the key lime pie was out of this world. We also had a couples massage at the in-house spa, and it was so relaxing and professional. The massage room was bright, comfortable, and smelled wonderful. Our room was number 427, and it had a great view of Mallory Street and of the ocean. We had breakfast and dinner on the room balcony a few times, and it was so romantic. Also, Ocean Key Resort is right near a ton of bars and restaurants, shops and of course, the ocean. I will definitely be returning to this vacation spot!

Room Tip: We had room 427 and we loved it. It was on the north west side of the hotel with a lovely balcony. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for this thoughtful review of your stay at Ocean Key! We are so glad you were able to enjoy some down time by the pool, great food, and a relaxing massage! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only stayed 2 nights, family of three. Wish it had been 2 weeks. We were travelling the Keys and Orlando for Christmas. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroomed suite - fantastic!!! Views were stunning, From the time we arrived until we left we had a wonderful time. It has location, service, views, great food, amazing staff and accommodation. You would have to go a long way to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We’re incredibly glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have nothing but good memories of our accommodations, staff, and view! We sincerely hope you come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I choose Florida for our 2 week honeymoon. So of course we were gong to be going down to key west! We stayed at Ocean Key for 4 nights and they were awesome! From the moment we got there they were going above and beyond for my husband and I. We booked a suite over looking Malorey Square but as soon as we checked in they up graded us to a beautiful ocean view suite that partially over looked malorey square. Our room wasn't ready yet so they checked our bags for us and we walked all over key west(since the hotel is in the best spot!) until our room was ready, which they called us and told us when it was. The room was beautiful! huge comfortable bed, 2 flat screen tv's, big bathroom with an even bigger bath tub. As soon as we got up there we got a call from the concierge desk and they were sending up complimentary champagne and glasses to enjoy on our balcony! Now that view was amazing!! The staff at ocean key were so friendly and helpful! The rooms were so well cared for and CLEAN!! We also got massage's at the spa in Ocean Key. We did an 80 min couples massage and believe me its worth it after all the walking you do around key west! I cant wait to come back! def would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

When I was researching places to stay in Key West I went on here and Ocean Key kept popping up and after reading everyone reviews I knew this was the place. You will not be disappointed. Great Location, Great Service and Great Accommodations you defiantly cant get any better then that!

Room Tip: any room with a balcony def worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It sounds like you had a wonderful time celebrating your honeymoon with us especially champagne on the balcony and the couples massage at SpaTerre. We’re so glad you are already thinking of visiting again. We’ll be looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Came during busy season and only stayed one night. Due to space we needed, the limited availability due to the season and the fact that we only were going to only stay one night, we splurged on a 1-bedroom suite. Best money we could have ever spent on Key West. The accommodations were excellent, the staff was so friendly and the location was amazing....an oasis right in the middle of everything there is to do in Old Town Key West. Would come back again, reserve with more lead time so we can stay moe days for less money.

Room Tip: Apparently the roosters make a lot of noise. Make sure to get a high room (4th or 5th floor) that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others! It sounds like you had a great time! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and accommodations. We are constantly striving to provide the ultimate Key West experience for all of our guests, and we are delighted to hear that you would consider us for a future vacation stay! Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel has the best location in Key West. The first strip of hotels when you get to Key West are on a one way road that is surrounded by construction...no thanks! We were at the end of Duval Street where the sun sets and the cruise ships come in, so we had an amazing view. The room was clean and large. At first the hot tub in our room didn't work, so they moved us one floor down. The rooms on the top floor have large ceilings and better views. You have to use the valet for parking, which is good, but buy snacks and liquor outside of the hotel and don't use the minibar! We will definitely return to this hotel next trip! Very close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are happy that you found so many aspects of your stay to be enjoyable, including our spacious rooms, valet parking, and convenient location. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every one of our guests, and we are excited that you had such a wonderful experience and are considering returning. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again for your next Key West adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We travel to Key West once a year for a getaway without the kids for a long weekend. In the past, we have stayed at highly rated Bed & Breakfasts, & really haven't been overly impressed with either we have tried (see prior reviews if interested). Last year, when going down to Mallory Square for the sunset, I saw Ocean Key & those rooms perched right out over Mallory Square with unobstructed sunset views; it seemed just perfect, so in 2012, we chose Ocean Key & picked an oceanfront deluxe guestroom just so we could get one of those rooms. First of all, let me say I'm so glad we did. You know those times when people tell you, "It doesn't matter about your room; you're only in there to sleep," well, this is not the case here -- not if part of your goal in coming to KW is to relax & soak in those sunsets. (If you just want to drink on Duval, then maybe it really doesn't matter.)

We did experience a problem upon check-in but I feel it was properly handled by the desk staff. We checked in at midnight on a Friday (due to plane delay) & as I said, the whole reason for us choosing Ocean Key was to stay in a deluxe oceanfront guestroom (300 square feet, jacuzzi in room, amazing view), but upon being walked to our room, I discovered it was an ocean view boutique suite (600 square feet, huge bathroom but no in-room jacuzzi, and most importantly, a mediocre view). I went down to the front desk & Sharon helped me. Their excuse for this was it was the same room "type" with the same cost, but I don't care about the semantics of all that. I booked this particular room in March & I deserve the room I booked, which is the whole reason we chose Ocean Key. She was matter-of-fact but efficient, but explained there was nothing they could do until tomorrow since the place was so full. I went back to the room a little disappointed with the answer I got, but a few minutes after returning to the room, she called and said we got a $100 credit for the mistake & we would be moved asap the next day. The next day, Shayla, helped ease us into the next room, and then I was VERY happy after that -- room 416 -- Perfect.

I'd like to address the roosters crowing. I think they're quirky and charming, but do you know why? Because we were on the 4th floor, closer to the ocean & away from the roosters, so they don't bother me when I am sleeping -- yet another reason to choose a nice room on the 4th or 5th floor.

Each night, we could watch the sunset celebration from our room, and BONUS, the holiday boat parade was when we were there so we got to watch the holiday lights adorn all those huge sailboats and yachts -- all of this without leaving our balcony. This room delivers what KY is all about. There are even manatees swimming right below the sunset pier; we could see those from the room too.

In sum, just check out my pictures. You'll love Ocean Key if you plan ahead & pick the right room. And, from now on, I'll call ahead and make sure just because I'm a late arrival, we don't get put in a room we did not select. But, we'll be back in 2013. You can't argue with that view perched right at the end of the world over the ocean.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean front guestroom is the way to go if you want an elegant, quaint, romantic room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and others! We are absolutely delighted to hear that your stay with us was so wonderful! We are happy that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Key West sunsets from your room, and that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. We strive to provide the ultimate Key West experience for each and every guest, and we are excited to hear that you were not disappointed in your choice to stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again for your next Key West vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.