We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only stayed 2 nights, family of three. Wish it had been 2 weeks. We were travelling the Keys and Orlando for Christmas. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroomed suite - fantastic!!! Views were stunning, From the time we arrived until we left we had a wonderful time. It has location, service, views, great food, amazing staff and accommodation. You would have to go a long way to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We’re incredibly glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have nothing but good memories of our accommodations, staff, and view! We sincerely hope you come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    320
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
228
887
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I choose Florida for our 2 week honeymoon. So of course we were gong to be going down to key west! We stayed at Ocean Key for 4 nights and they were awesome! From the moment we got there they were going above and beyond for my husband and I. We booked a suite over looking Malorey Square but as soon as we checked in they up graded us to a beautiful ocean view suite that partially over looked malorey square. Our room wasn't ready yet so they checked our bags for us and we walked all over key west(since the hotel is in the best spot!) until our room was ready, which they called us and told us when it was. The room was beautiful! huge comfortable bed, 2 flat screen tv's, big bathroom with an even bigger bath tub. As soon as we got up there we got a call from the concierge desk and they were sending up complimentary champagne and glasses to enjoy on our balcony! Now that view was amazing!! The staff at ocean key were so friendly and helpful! The rooms were so well cared for and CLEAN!! We also got massage's at the spa in Ocean Key. We did an 80 min couples massage and believe me its worth it after all the walking you do around key west! I cant wait to come back! def would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

When I was researching places to stay in Key West I went on here and Ocean Key kept popping up and after reading everyone reviews I knew this was the place. You will not be disappointed. Great Location, Great Service and Great Accommodations you defiantly cant get any better then that!

Room Tip: any room with a balcony def worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It sounds like you had a wonderful time celebrating your honeymoon with us especially champagne on the balcony and the couples massage at SpaTerre. We’re so glad you are already thinking of visiting again. We’ll be looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Came during busy season and only stayed one night. Due to space we needed, the limited availability due to the season and the fact that we only were going to only stay one night, we splurged on a 1-bedroom suite. Best money we could have ever spent on Key West. The accommodations were excellent, the staff was so friendly and the location was amazing....an oasis right in the middle of everything there is to do in Old Town Key West. Would come back again, reserve with more lead time so we can stay moe days for less money.

Room Tip: Apparently the roosters make a lot of noise. Make sure to get a high room (4th or 5th floor) that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others! It sounds like you had a great time! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and accommodations. We are constantly striving to provide the ultimate Key West experience for all of our guests, and we are delighted to hear that you would consider us for a future vacation stay! Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel has the best location in Key West. The first strip of hotels when you get to Key West are on a one way road that is surrounded by construction...no thanks! We were at the end of Duval Street where the sun sets and the cruise ships come in, so we had an amazing view. The room was clean and large. At first the hot tub in our room didn't work, so they moved us one floor down. The rooms on the top floor have large ceilings and better views. You have to use the valet for parking, which is good, but buy snacks and liquor outside of the hotel and don't use the minibar! We will definitely return to this hotel next trip! Very close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are happy that you found so many aspects of your stay to be enjoyable, including our spacious rooms, valet parking, and convenient location. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every one of our guests, and we are excited that you had such a wonderful experience and are considering returning. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again for your next Key West adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We travel to Key West once a year for a getaway without the kids for a long weekend. In the past, we have stayed at highly rated Bed & Breakfasts, & really haven't been overly impressed with either we have tried (see prior reviews if interested). Last year, when going down to Mallory Square for the sunset, I saw Ocean Key & those rooms perched right out over Mallory Square with unobstructed sunset views; it seemed just perfect, so in 2012, we chose Ocean Key & picked an oceanfront deluxe guestroom just so we could get one of those rooms. First of all, let me say I'm so glad we did. You know those times when people tell you, "It doesn't matter about your room; you're only in there to sleep," well, this is not the case here -- not if part of your goal in coming to KW is to relax & soak in those sunsets. (If you just want to drink on Duval, then maybe it really doesn't matter.)

We did experience a problem upon check-in but I feel it was properly handled by the desk staff. We checked in at midnight on a Friday (due to plane delay) & as I said, the whole reason for us choosing Ocean Key was to stay in a deluxe oceanfront guestroom (300 square feet, jacuzzi in room, amazing view), but upon being walked to our room, I discovered it was an ocean view boutique suite (600 square feet, huge bathroom but no in-room jacuzzi, and most importantly, a mediocre view). I went down to the front desk & Sharon helped me. Their excuse for this was it was the same room "type" with the same cost, but I don't care about the semantics of all that. I booked this particular room in March & I deserve the room I booked, which is the whole reason we chose Ocean Key. She was matter-of-fact but efficient, but explained there was nothing they could do until tomorrow since the place was so full. I went back to the room a little disappointed with the answer I got, but a few minutes after returning to the room, she called and said we got a $100 credit for the mistake & we would be moved asap the next day. The next day, Shayla, helped ease us into the next room, and then I was VERY happy after that -- room 416 -- Perfect.

I'd like to address the roosters crowing. I think they're quirky and charming, but do you know why? Because we were on the 4th floor, closer to the ocean & away from the roosters, so they don't bother me when I am sleeping -- yet another reason to choose a nice room on the 4th or 5th floor.

Each night, we could watch the sunset celebration from our room, and BONUS, the holiday boat parade was when we were there so we got to watch the holiday lights adorn all those huge sailboats and yachts -- all of this without leaving our balcony. This room delivers what KY is all about. There are even manatees swimming right below the sunset pier; we could see those from the room too.

In sum, just check out my pictures. You'll love Ocean Key if you plan ahead & pick the right room. And, from now on, I'll call ahead and make sure just because I'm a late arrival, we don't get put in a room we did not select. But, we'll be back in 2013. You can't argue with that view perched right at the end of the world over the ocean.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean front guestroom is the way to go if you want an elegant, quaint, romantic room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and others! We are absolutely delighted to hear that your stay with us was so wonderful! We are happy that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Key West sunsets from your room, and that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. We strive to provide the ultimate Key West experience for each and every guest, and we are excited to hear that you were not disappointed in your choice to stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again for your next Key West vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We just returned from Key West. We've been going there for the past 14 years every year. We usually go down to the Sunset Pier and watch the sun go down as others do. Over the years the waitresses have been very friendly. This year stands out, as we had one of the best waitresses we've every had. We traveled with two other couples and they said the same thing. She was simply amazing. She made our trip even more enjoyable. Smiling, funny and prompt. After the first night we just asked for her when we went there. She's great. Her name was Paula. Thank you Paula.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and that your great experiences with us keep you coming back year after year! We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our friendly staff again during your recent stay. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest and we are delighted that you have been consistently pleased with your accommodations for so many years. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again next year for your annual trip to paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent a long weekend here with my husband, leaving our three small children at home. Granted I have been very sleep deprived, but the beds was one of the best I've seen and the pillows were super comfy. Large space, large tub and separate clean shower. Had a partial view of the ocean/just off duval. It was ok, not spectacular, I'd upgrade o full view, but stay away from the Mallory Square side, I heard the roosters are loud over there. All the staff was very nice, pool was nice. Never crowded, bar staff starts cocktailing around 11:30. The drinks are pricy, but made with a little extra care, not dirty cheap. Very lean and quick chair turn around. Ate breakfast at hot tin roof. It was fine, nothing special. Nice view, but my coffee was cold. Boo. On one end of Duvall, nice location. Got a massage, again just ok. Oh the tv in the bed area is old with bad reception. There is a better tv in the suite living room area, but I rather watch tv in bed. That's the only real negative. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the roosters, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review! We are excited that you were able to enjoy our comfortable bed and spacious room during your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to provide the ultimate experience for each and every one of our guests. We genuinely value your feedback and will consider your comments as we strive to improve. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you back at Ocean Key for your next Key West vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.