We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Key West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose Ocean Key Resort for our first trip to Key West. It's a lovely hotel in a great location. You are right at the ocean but the cruise ships do not overshadow your view. Duval Street and Mallory Square are right there. Southernmost Point is a reasonable walk away, as are the Hemingway House and even closer, the Truman White House.
Having stayed during a fairly quiet time of the season (12/2-12/5), it amazes me that hotels crowd guests together. We knew exactly when our neighbors got in as we'd hear their room door slam and hear talking through the adjoining door. I also think that on occasion, hotel management should stay in every room to see what's what. For a 4 star hotel, it was disappointing to see the dirt on the exterior balcony door, the scratch marks on some walls, and the closet doors off the rollers. For the price, I'd expect near perfect.
Bottom line-I'd stay again--can't beat the great location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the wonderful view during your recent stay. We genuinely appreciate your comments and will take them into account as we continue to improve our services to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest. Thank you again, and we hope to see you for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    274
    90
    38
    22
See reviews for
200
767
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

For the price, one would expect more. The wifi rarely worked, our bed was unmade one day, the sofa bed was marginal (especially when we had booked a room with 2 actual beds). The location was great as were the room service breakfasts, however. The concierge was very helpful, also. We are checking out early due to the lack of wifi and the excuses we were given for why it didn't work (high tides in November?!?).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our helpful staff, great location, and room service breakfasts. However, we are sorry to hear that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible experience for each and every guest. We genuinely value your feedback and will pass your comments regarding wifi access on to our management team. Thank you again and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Before your next visit, please contact me and I will personally take care of you. Be assured, I have addressed your concerns. Please accept my apology. Johan Amneus, Assistant General Manager. jamneus@oceankey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel property over the Labor Day Weekend. Excellent Excellent service from thee Hot Tin Roof Restaurant staff. The Restaurant manager (I believe his name was Issac) has trained his staff to provide friendly, attentive service that makes you feel at home. Bell staff, housekeeping staff, Security staff very pleasant. Night manager Bruce was very unpleasant appeared we were bothering him when we requested a late check out and when we asked for directions to a local bar. Would have marked all 5 stars had it not been for tha unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mallory square can be a little bit noisy in the a.m due to roosters crowing and at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you experienced such wonderful service during your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay. However, we are sorry to hear about the part of your experience that did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again some time in the near future. If we have the pleasure, please contact me and I will personally take care of you. Be assured, I have addressed your concerns. Please accept my apology. Johan Amneus, Assistant General Manager. jamneus@oceankey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights for our anniversary!! We overlooked both Duvall street and the gulf,the so we had quite the view.I can't say enough about the entire staff they really went above and beyond, from the minute we walked in til we checked out. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others! We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience during your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your stay, including our friendly staff and wonderful view. We are happy that we were able to help make such an occasion extra special. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location newer hotel - excellent friendly staff ... great location (right on the Gulf) right on Mallory Square next to Old Town Key West. Very nice clean spacious rooms. The hotel restaurants are very good and there are a number of restaurant options a block or two away.

Room Tip: The hotel's website, based on our experience, provides an accurate description. If you are a Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your visit - including our friendly staff, spacious rooms, and great location. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest, and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us met your expectations. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northville, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we stayed here with my in-laws over thanksgiving and were quite disappointed. first of all, my MIL had just recently had foot surgery so i went out of my way to talk with the folks there ahead of time to make sure that we would have an excellent waterfront room where we could watch the sunsets because i wasnt sure how much walking my MIL would be able to do. we were assured that we had a deluxe waterfront room--no problem. when we arrived, it was dark, but i was worried. the next day when it was light i could see that this was NOT the room we had requested. my husband went to the front desk and was told, that yeah, the advertising could be improved. huh? he then asked if they could move us, but alas the only place they could move us was to the presidential suite, which was booked. he then asked for a reduction in the price of the room, since it was clearly only a partial ocean view (if that) and they said they could not do that either. but they did offer us some drink tickets. nice. so then, as if this wasn't bad enough, the room wasn't very clean. i found a sock in the sheets of our bed, which i placed in a plastic bag and my husband took down to the front desk once again. he said they were mortified, but did not offer anything to try to make up for this really gross discovery. it made me wonder... finally, there was a dirty spot on the bathroom floor that i noticed on day one, which was never cleaned throughout our stay--i am really wondering what passes for cleanliness and customer service here. for close to 1K a night, i would stay at the hyatt, or at one of the other places in key west. i was completely dissatisfied with the lack of customer service and concern for hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed your review along to our management team to ensure that they are aware of these issues. In fact, our Assistant General Manager, Johan Amneus, would like to discuss your stay with you. He would like to offer his personal assistance should we be able to serve you in the future. We appreciate you letting us know, and we hope that one day you and your family will be able to visit us again to see our true potential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Oceankey with my wife celebrating our recent birthdays.Every staff member we encountered were wonderful,upbeat and helpful.Our room overlooked Mallory square and Sunset Key which made the sunsets awesome and lots to see.The poolside staff were great, and made us feel very welcome.The hotel is perfectly located and you can walk everywhere easily from there.Lots to see and do on Duval.We hope to return when we can spend a few more nights there.Only minor complaint is the mechanicals in the Hotel are a bit dated and noisy, but that is easily overlooked when you are having fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It sounds like you and your wife had a great time celebrating your birthdays at our resort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, pool, staff, and the surrounding areas. We will be taking your suggestions into consideration and appreciate your feedback. We hope you and your wife can join us for another vacation next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.