We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and terrible customer service during our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Key West
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and terrible customer service during our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel property over the Labor Day Weekend. Excellent Excellent service from thee Hot Tin Roof Restaurant staff. The Restaurant manager (I believe his name was Issac) has trained his staff to provide friendly, attentive service that makes you feel at home. Bell staff, housekeeping staff, Security staff very pleasant. Night manager Bruce was very unpleasant appeared we were bothering him when we requested a late check out and when we asked for directions to a local bar. Would have marked all 5 stars had it not been for tha unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mallory square can be a little bit noisy in the a.m due to roosters crowing and at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you experienced such wonderful service during your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay. However, we are sorry to hear about the part of your experience that did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again some time in the near future. If we have the pleasure, please contact me and I will personally take care of you. Be assured, I have addressed your concerns. Please accept my apology. Johan Amneus, Assistant General Manager. jamneus@oceankey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    337
    109
    43
    26
See reviews for
237
944
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights for our anniversary!! We overlooked both Duvall street and the gulf,the so we had quite the view.I can't say enough about the entire staff they really went above and beyond, from the minute we walked in til we checked out. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others! We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience during your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your stay, including our friendly staff and wonderful view. We are happy that we were able to help make such an occasion extra special. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location newer hotel - excellent friendly staff ... great location (right on the Gulf) right on Mallory Square next to Old Town Key West. Very nice clean spacious rooms. The hotel restaurants are very good and there are a number of restaurant options a block or two away.

Room Tip: The hotel's website, based on our experience, provides an accurate description. If you are a Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your visit - including our friendly staff, spacious rooms, and great location. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest, and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us met your expectations. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northville, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we stayed here with my in-laws over thanksgiving and were quite disappointed. first of all, my MIL had just recently had foot surgery so i went out of my way to talk with the folks there ahead of time to make sure that we would have an excellent waterfront room where we could watch the sunsets because i wasnt sure how much walking my MIL would be able to do. we were assured that we had a deluxe waterfront room--no problem. when we arrived, it was dark, but i was worried. the next day when it was light i could see that this was NOT the room we had requested. my husband went to the front desk and was told, that yeah, the advertising could be improved. huh? he then asked if they could move us, but alas the only place they could move us was to the presidential suite, which was booked. he then asked for a reduction in the price of the room, since it was clearly only a partial ocean view (if that) and they said they could not do that either. but they did offer us some drink tickets. nice. so then, as if this wasn't bad enough, the room wasn't very clean. i found a sock in the sheets of our bed, which i placed in a plastic bag and my husband took down to the front desk once again. he said they were mortified, but did not offer anything to try to make up for this really gross discovery. it made me wonder... finally, there was a dirty spot on the bathroom floor that i noticed on day one, which was never cleaned throughout our stay--i am really wondering what passes for cleanliness and customer service here. for close to 1K a night, i would stay at the hyatt, or at one of the other places in key west. i was completely dissatisfied with the lack of customer service and concern for hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed your review along to our management team to ensure that they are aware of these issues. In fact, our Assistant General Manager, Johan Amneus, would like to discuss your stay with you. He would like to offer his personal assistance should we be able to serve you in the future. We appreciate you letting us know, and we hope that one day you and your family will be able to visit us again to see our true potential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Oceankey with my wife celebrating our recent birthdays.Every staff member we encountered were wonderful,upbeat and helpful.Our room overlooked Mallory square and Sunset Key which made the sunsets awesome and lots to see.The poolside staff were great, and made us feel very welcome.The hotel is perfectly located and you can walk everywhere easily from there.Lots to see and do on Duval.We hope to return when we can spend a few more nights there.Only minor complaint is the mechanicals in the Hotel are a bit dated and noisy, but that is easily overlooked when you are having fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It sounds like you and your wife had a great time celebrating your birthdays at our resort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, pool, staff, and the surrounding areas. We will be taking your suggestions into consideration and appreciate your feedback. We hope you and your wife can join us for another vacation next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have loved both our stays here. The property is wonderful, the staff (especially poolside) rocks, the rooms are great. It is the absolute perfect location in Key West. The cost is insane and we probably can't afford it again, but if we could we would in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, accommodations, and amenities. We hope that you will be able to take another vacation to visit us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just got back after staying four nights at this terrific place. Located on the water at the fun end of Duval St., literally next to Mallory Square where you can easily walk over (and escape) from the freak show that is the sunset celebration each night. You can walk to everything from here (including the other end of Duval (about a 20 minute walk). The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony overlooking Duval St. Helpful and friendly staff, great pool area, nice restaurant bar (Sheila was a great bartender), excellent restaurant (ask for Louis) and numerous choices for food, beverages, or just plain sightseeing in the area. Have stayed at a few different places in Key West and this is the best so far.

Room Tip: You can walk out the side entrance and literally be standing in Mallory Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a terrific vacation at our resort. We greatly appreciate your kind words and sharing details about your stay with our future guests. We would love for you both to stay at our resort again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.