We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Key West
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have loved both our stays here. The property is wonderful, the staff (especially poolside) rocks, the rooms are great. It is the absolute perfect location in Key West. The cost is insane and we probably can't afford it again, but if we could we would in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, accommodations, and amenities. We hope that you will be able to take another vacation to visit us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    320
    101
    40
    24
See reviews for
228
887
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just got back after staying four nights at this terrific place. Located on the water at the fun end of Duval St., literally next to Mallory Square where you can easily walk over (and escape) from the freak show that is the sunset celebration each night. You can walk to everything from here (including the other end of Duval (about a 20 minute walk). The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony overlooking Duval St. Helpful and friendly staff, great pool area, nice restaurant bar (Sheila was a great bartender), excellent restaurant (ask for Louis) and numerous choices for food, beverages, or just plain sightseeing in the area. Have stayed at a few different places in Key West and this is the best so far.

Room Tip: You can walk out the side entrance and literally be standing in Mallory Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a terrific vacation at our resort. We greatly appreciate your kind words and sharing details about your stay with our future guests. We would love for you both to stay at our resort again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Ocean Key with my wife for a vacation in Key West. It's slow going to get there through the tight streets of Key West, but well worth the trip. The staff are all very helpful and go out of their way to go above and beyond. Our room was beautifully appointed and had a balcony that overlooked Mallory Square and all that was happening there. To top it off, we had a beautiful view of the sunset both nights as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our resort. It sounds like you both had a great time enjoying our accommodations, the surrounding areas, and our staff. We hope to see you all back at our resort for another vacation very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My new husband and I just had an amazing honeymoon at ocean key! I don't even know where to start with this place, it was all so great. First of all the location is impossible to beat... 0 duval st. that's really as good as it gets. We've been coming to key west for a few years now, but we've never stayed somewhere with such spectacular views. Second of all the staff absolutely made our trip, the front desk staff is wonderful and so accommodating. Big thanks to CJ (?) at the front desk, what a polite young man. We dined at the hot tin roof, took advantage of their spa services, and sipped cocktails by the pool.. we never had to leave the resort! We've already booked our next stay and will probably never stay anywhere else in key west. Thank you ocean key!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Congratulations on being newlyweds! We are ecstatic to hear that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us! It sounds like you both had a wonderful time enjoying our accommodations, amenities, and dining at the Hot Tin Roof. We are also very happy to hear that our staff was helpful and you enjoyed our spa! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I absolutely loved our stay at Ocean Key. The hotel's location is prime. I would describe the hotel's decor as "island shabby chic." I really liked it because it felt like it still had some island character to it, but still had all of the great amenities you would expect from a 4 star hotel. It is definitely good fit for a stay in Key West. We could walk everywhere & a few nights we just watched the sunset over Mallory Square right from our balcony. Everyone of the staff members were friendly & helpful. The front desk was helpful when we needed a room switch, the pool staff was amazing...they even helped us baby proof an area for our little guy. The room service was delicious & very quick. From the bell hops to the bar tenders, we truly had only positive encounters with them all. I am already dreaming of when we can return to Ocean Key!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at our resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our decor, staff, location, and amenities. We can't wait for you to visit us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were upgraded to a suite with a ocean view. The room was beautiful--very well maintained, balcony, high end bathroom. We had a great time sitting on the balcony staring out to the ocean. We could have watched the sunset from there if the clouds hadn't foiled our plan. Ate at Hot Tin Roof (one floor down). Service and food was fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

Very helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing you review with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our resort! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying your ocean view room, staff, and dining options. We will be looking forward to your next visit to our resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I have been annual guests at the "Key House for over 20 years now and that speaks for itself. Best location, best view, best of everything. We're planning on another 20 if we are so fortunate.

Room Tip: Our favorite room overlooks Mallory Square, Sunset Key, and the emrald green harbor on the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Wow! We are so happy to hear that you have been staying at our resort for the past 20 years! Words cannot express how much we appreciate your kind words! We can't wait for you to visit us for many more vacations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.