We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Anniversary Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 resort credit
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“1st Anniversary Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is beautiful! The back of the hotel leads to Mallory Square so we were able to see the street performers from our balcony. The pool area, over looks the sunset pier, so you can get a great view without the crowd. The only thing is the elevators are SUPER so and SUPER hot! I took the stairs for most the trip, even walking around to the stairs was faster than waiting for it to come down. The hotel is centrally located so you can walk any and everywhere. I don't know what we would have done if we would have had to drive anywhere. The one thing that was a little annoying was the roasters. I know, I know, but they started at 4:30am every morning. I even got a picture of one that was in the tree a floor below our room. Overall a great location, hotel, and people. Just be mindful of the elevators and have a sense of humor over the roasters.

Room Tip: Try to get a room full view of the ocean or on the other side of Mallory square. The roasters in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you chose to spend your anniversary weekend at our resort. It sounds like you both had a marvelous time enjoying everything our resort and Key West has to offer. We apologize for any inconvenience the roosters or elevators may have caused, and we will be taking your review into consideration for future improvements. We hope to see you both back again in the future to celebrate many more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    320
    101
    40
    24
See reviews for
228
888
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had high hopes of this hotel, especially after reading the reviews. Unfortunately, we left feeling a little underwhelmed. If the hotel was $200 a night, we would probably give the Ocean Key a 4-star rating; however, for $450 (Friday night), we should expect more. Just a list of random follies that plagued our stay: the shower drain was clogged (which should have been reported by the cleaning crew since they presumably ran the water to clean), the wifi never worked (which we needed for on-the-fly local research), and bulbs in the bathroom were out. Several calls to the front desk were necessary to address these issues. Overall, we would not recommend this hotel based on value for price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that our resort did not live up to your expectations, and we apologize that your experience was anything less than amazing. Our guests' experiences are very important to us, and we apologize for the few issues you addressed. Please know we're addressing your concerns immediately. We hope you'll return to Ocean Key again someday to truly experience our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent six wonderful nights at Ocean Key for our honeymoon last summer. We booked a special package and stayed in one of the beautiful waterfront suites. From the very beginning, our experience was a great one. Just driving all the way to the end of Duval St gave us an idea of what an amazing week we were about to have. I mean, Key West is Key West. Ocean Key is at the center of it all, but it still feels like a luxurious getaway in an intimate setting.

The hotel's location is absolutely perfect for exploring the Old Town/Duval St/Mallory Square areas, but the fact that it's situated right on the water gave us the best of both worlds. We spent a lot of time on our balcony and at the bar on the pier, taking in the sunsets. We were also able to rent bikes, book a sunset cruise, and do some shopping within a stone's throw of the hotel. The best bars and restaurants were all nearby as well. With all that, our room was still quiet and private.

The room itself was amazing. It was a huge suite, very comfortably and tastefully furnished. The bed was a beautiful four poster with fabulous linens. There were windows all around both rooms to allow us views of the water from anywhere. The oversized bathroom, especially the big tub that looked out into the bedroom (if you open the shutters between the two rooms) was a special touch. Our package included breakfast each day, and we really enjoyed our meals at Hot Tin Roof, and even room service on our balcony. The food was great, but sometimes service at HTR was a little slow. We didn't care too much-- we were just so relaxed!

I do wish the pool had been a little bigger as we were mobbed by a group of 4 or 5 drunk women who pretty much took over the entire area, talking and laughing at ridiculous volumes. If the pool wasn't so small, it probably wouldn't have bothered us as much.

Also, the spa left a little bit to be desired. It was a lovely facility, but the facialist was weirdly critical of my skin, which stung. When we go next time, I'll skip the spa.

All in all, the location, the room, the front desk service, the food, and the overall experience is one we can't wait to have again. Here's hoping we've saved up enough to go for an anniversary very soon!

Room Tip: If you can pay a little extra, the waterfront rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. We're so honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at our resort, and we're also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay, and we're addressing your comments immediately. Again, we appreciate your feedback and are so thankful you spent such a special occasion with us. We can't wait to have you return for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent last Sunday thru Friday at Ocean Key Resort. We stayed in room 416. This room has the most beautiful views of the ocean, Mallory Square and the beautiful sunset every night, right from our very own private balcony. AMAZING!! I would never stay anywhere else on Key West. The staff at the hotel was amazing and the restaurants had great food and drinks. There is not one thing I can complain about. We had to check out at noon but they stored our bags and they have a lovely changing room so I could change and put on my clothes for traveling back to cold Ohio...Brrr. The location is so convenient to the fun of Duval Street and everything that Key west has to offer. I am definately coming back to this enchanting tropical getaway as soon as I can ♥

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Wow! We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing time with us! We appreciate your kind words and providing a detailed review for our future guests. It sounds like you had a wonderful time enjoying our resort and near by attractions. We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, the whole experience was great. We were on an anniversary trip and were given a great room with a four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. We never got to eat at the hotel although the food looked good. Staff were very helpful and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The spa looked nice but was very expensive hence I did not visit.The pool area was nice with the sunbeds being very comfortable and had towelling covers on which were changed with use.
I hope one day we get to return and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us at our resort. We are delighted to hear that our staff was able to assist you and you enjoyed our accommodations. We hope to see you again soon for another vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently.

Our superior room was huge with a jacuzzi bath and large shower. Our balcony had a view of the ocean and the sunset, although it was partially obstructed by trees and was really more a view of the car park (parking lot) than the ocean, but was still pleasant enough.

The check-in staff seemed a little disorganised when we first arrived but where all very pleasant and helpful. The pool area has a great view so you can swim or relax in the hot tub and watch the amazing Key West sunset and the staff at the bar and pool area were very good.

We had in-room dining on our last night and even though it was quite late the gentleman who brought our food was excellent and set up a nice little table for us on our balcony.

We did not have a chance to try the spa facilities on this occasion.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wished to stay in Key West. I would also recomment trying the Hot Tin Roof restaurant which is attached to the hotel. It is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We cannot express how thankful we are for you writing a review about your stay. We are very glad to hear that you had a lovely time enjoying your superior room, dining, and our staff. We appreciate your kind words. and would love to have you both stay at our resort for another vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I read all the negatives of this hotel and didn't find ANY of them to be true. Our experience was nothing but exceptional. We were greeted by the hostess w/ a smile and she did a magic act by getting an awesome room for us and our friends. They (bellhops and cleaning staff) did everything they could do to make our stay a relaxing vacation. I would HIGHLY recommend this place. You spend a little but you get it back in service. The beds were comfortable too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time enjoying our staff, accommodations, and had a relaxation vacation. We hope you and your friends are able to visit us in Key West in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: Zero Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.