We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Engagement Trip!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Key West to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Key West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Engagement Trip!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My now fiance & I traveled to Key West in late October 2009. We arrived Sunday and left Friday - staying the entire time at the Sheraton Key West. Though the smell in the lobby was AWFUL (think bad sewage), our room and the pool area were lovely and nicely priced. We enjoyed the large rooms and bathroom and took advantage of having a small kitchen area to save costs on meals. However, we did enjoy the room service and bar food at the pool often - with no complaints. We also liked the fact that the hotel was located away from the main part of town as it made the beach across the street feel more secluded and allowed us some down-time from all the fun. For the price, I don't think you can beat this place. Oh, and the bed and balcony were awesome!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    577
    184
    76
    68
See reviews for
470
592
26
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I have done a considerable amount of traveling all over the world... this hotel had by far the worst service I have ever experienced. To say they were inhospitable would not cover it. They were beyond rude, they actually threatened us threw my friend and his girlfriend out in the middle of the night.

We were visiting Key West for a wedding and chose to stay here (big mistake). We were continuously berated by the staff about some sort of bracelet. I am not sure what the bracelets were for but apparently it was a big problem that we didn't have them. We also met other guests obviously in their late 50's early 60's that had the same problem. The staff must have assumed that we were all spring breakers. I figured people in their 30's wouldn't be mistaken for spring breakers... but the staff here apparently doesn't care too much. If the wedding bands on our hands wasn't a clue... the 7-month pregnant woman may have been a good tip that we were indeed not spring breakers.

They have hired a few weekend GI Joes that come complete with Laura Croft style leg holstered tasers the harass you every time you return to the hotel ground. You need to present the parking pass, room key, and some other documentation that we never seem to have right every time you come back on to the hotel grounds. It is basically like crossing a military checkpoint in the middle east (not enjoyable on vacation). When we stepped out of a cab upon returning from the wedding reception one of these "hotel greeters" immediately lost his mind on us. We hadn't said a word or done a thing, which apparently prompted this person to fly into a rage. After we told him to chill out his head pretty much exploded. He was extremely out of line and had no business addressing anyone in the manner that he did. Out of spite he followed one member of our party to his room then called the police to throw him and his girlfriend off their property, hours later at about 3am. No less than 7 police officers came to escort this extremely dangerous technology consultant off the property. They must have been worried that he would swing his lanyard around like Tarzan and hit someone in the eye with a USB drive.

This hotel comes compete with a surly bartender, unhelpful desk staff and other undelightful characters. When asked if they were running the shuttle to the airport the response was "if someone is here to drive it". When asked if we could get on the shuttle to downtown the response was "sorry... it's full all evening... you should get here earlier next time". There were all sorts off "pffff" style responses to our questions. They were rude to everyone in our party at every turn.

Mr Ed:

There was however one highlight (seriously). The one time we actually could get a ticket for the shuttle downtown our driver was superb. Mr. Ed was his name and I am not sure what he is doing driving the shuttle for this operation. If this were my hotel I would get Mr. Ed to give the entire staff a lesson on hospitality and tourism management. He was helpful courteous and provided great local information.

The rest of the wedding guests paid a little more and stayed at other hotels. They all enjoyed their experience and had no such issues. I would shell out a few more dollars next time and avoid possibility of getting tased and/or thrown out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

writing this review from the Hotel. The room and reveiw are great. The food and the shuttle into town are great also. Not so good is the fact that the elevator in the oceanview building has not worked for 4 days now. Not so good when you are on the third floor. The only hot tub has been out the same length of time. This is surprising for a Starwood owned Sheriton.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Upon arrival for our 2-night stay, we were pleased to find a friendly staff at the desk that were very helpful in answering questions from a couple of first-timers in Key West. The concierge was equally helpful in advising us about parking and such near Duval St. Didn't get an opportunity to enjoy the pool and hot tub, but the area was beautiful and well maintained. Smathers Beach is directly across the street from the hotel and easily accessable. Our king suite was perfect. Not sure where some of the negative reviews are coming from as we encountered nothing but friendly and helpful people during our stay. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Everyone that worked at this hotel was extemely rude from the front desk employees to the bartenders, and especially the security personnel. They had no interest in helping us get transportation (shuttles or taxis), the rooms were not cleaned the following day after repeated calls to remind them. The security guards harassed us and were beligerent to the women in our group which was especially concerning especially since no other hotel employee would speak to us about this matter. If you choose to stay in this part of Key West there are much nicer hotels to stay at but I would recommend areas closer to the duval street area. We moved to the Southermost hotel and the staff was extremely accomodating and a welcome change to what we encountered with the Sheraton Suite staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Clearly, I have a different view of travelling than most of the other reviewers. While the hotel is updated, it does not live up to the Starwood standard in my view. Your room opens to the outdoors, and the outside grounds of the hotel and quite dated. There was a lot of trash around the grounds and in the hallways. On the upside, the beds, linens, and towels were all quite comfortable.

This is not a full kitchen. It has a dorm-sized fridge, a small microwave and a wet bar that doesn't even offer hot and cold. There are no plates, cups or silverware; no napkins or paper towels. In all my travels, these would be standard in a suite.

I found the service to be subpar, although I did not use the conceirge. There was no "do not disturb" sign for my room, but when I called down,they said they didn't have available staff and I would have to come down and get it myself. Ditto for a fork (and they only gave me a plastic fork and knife). Also, there is no room service, no bell hop, and not enough parking if the hotel is full. At the pool, you have to sign your life away just to get a towel (usually showing a room key is sufficient) and the pool chairs are not comfortable.

I stayed at the Westin Marina and Resort and I highly recommended that over this hotel. The rates aren't that much higher, but you do have to pay for parking. Nevertheless, it is a much more upscale hotel, the service is exceptional, and it is in a great location that is walking distance to Duval but nice and quiet at night.

The Sheraton is great if you have a lot of people in your party since it offers two rooms. However, as a Starwood preferred member, you won't get any special treatment (rooms, floors, free water, etc.).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I just recently returned from Key West after visting for a wedding. There was a group of 8 of us (4 couples) that booked here and from the very first day at the hotel we all agreed this hotel had the absolute worst service that we had ever experieinced. Every single staff member we came in contact with was VERY rude. I would NEVER return to this hotel and don't think it is possible to be treated worse. The staff was extremely rude and when we tried to speak with a manager about this awful behavior we were told there was no one there we could speak with and to leave a voicemail. We left a voicmail and our call has still not been returned.....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Key West and steps away from Smathers Beach, Sheraton Suites Key West is a beachside hotel that captures the true essence of tropical relaxation. Join in the nightly Sunset Celebration, lounge by the lagoon-style pool, or let us arrange for you to sample one of the many watersports available. After a day of friends, family or business, there is one more thing to savor: the warm island welcome of our Sheraton Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.