We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our needs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Key West

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Key West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Key West
CINCINNATI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

In December, my husband, our 2 college aged kids and myself vacationed in Key West. I specifically looked for a hotel with 3 beds (2Q and a pull out sofa) so each of the kids could have a bed. That made for limited offerings on Key West. This hotel, while a drive from Duval Street, appeared to meet our bedding needs and had good reviews. There were hotels with better locations and a better price - but with no pull out sofa. However, the pull out sectional was unusable as a bed. The metal bar under the mattress made it impossible to find a comfortable way to sleep. My son ended up sleeping on it as a regular sofa one night -but that didn't work either because the two parts of the sectional were slightly different heights. Then he ended up sleeping on the floor. I talked to the front desk about our issue and their response was that the sofas were going to be replaced in 2013. Good to know but didn't help our current issue.
Overall, the room was large - much bigger than a normal hotel room - which was nice.

Next time, I'll stay within walking distance of Duval street.

Room Tip: The only difference in the 'smaller' suites and 'larger' suites are whether they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the pull out sofa. We are in the process of replacing all of the sofas this month. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will visit Key West again soon.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    531
    172
    70
    68
See reviews for
416
554
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Is a beautiful place, well located, with an amazing beach on front. The free shuttle in-out to the old pier/city is very comfortable, There is an attractive pool area at the hotel with a bar/restaurant for those who want to stay on site.
The restaurant has an complete menu

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked a sea view suite and wow what a view! Clean, spacious room well decorated with a balcony to watch the world go by. We made full use of the free shuttle to and from the centre of the town, peek times meant a little wait for some but we were there 10 minute before scheduled time and got on no bother at all, Wifi is free however only one item can be connected at a time which is anoying when two of you are trying to work. Good breakfast on the patio around the pool.

Room Tip: Sea view room with balcony, there only a few of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for one night in May of last year as part of a three week tour of Florida.

The hotel is across the street from a beautiful white sand beach. There is an attractive pool area at the hotel with a bar/restaurant for those who want to stay on site. Because it is located in the centre of the hotel complex, we found it overly warm (time of year contributed to that as well) so we preferred to be by the sea.

Our room, a one bedroom suite, was very comfortable for 3 adults. There was a large bathroom, living room, small dining area and a decent sized bedroom.

Service at the front desk was courteous and efficient.

The hotel provided a shuttle service to the port area of Key West which was a great starting point for an evening of wandering around town before taking in the sunset at Mallory Square.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing this review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and time in Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife booked us one night, the day before, for a quick getaway down to Key West. We used "Room77." We selected the King Bed Suite. We then called the hotel itself, in order to confirm the reservation, including the room type, bed, etc. The hotel confirmed.

We opened the door to our suite to find two queens. We went back to the desk and were given another room. We went back up to find the suite we paid for, only with a paraplegic shower. No offense to anyone in a chair, who ought to be able to get a hotel room like anyone else, but this is not exactly an ambience enhancer; not to mention the attendant, tub-less, unenclosed shower that wets the entire bathroom floor when used.

Back to the desk we went. That was all they had. They, of course, failed to mention the paraplegic shower the first time. We went back to the two queens.

The next morning--at the eleven o'clock check out--we were treated to an apology from a manager that, about ten-seconds in, became a verbose and false-pedantic lecture on how to book with them; not to use non-Sheraton, online booking services and something about getting her desk clerk to use the "proper verbiage." Alas, the days of an unqualified apology in the U.S. have largely passed--lest, of course, someone sue or someone actually have to just admit to an error or a shortcoming. You can see this in some of the responses to negative reviews on this page. Our apology was actually a condescending non-apology; and we considered it the addition of insult to injury.

Sheraton, if you can't sell your rooms properly through on-line services, then don't allow your hotel on them! Further, when your desk staff confirms, as above, don't tell your guests that the mistake is theirs.

Overall, this place is okay but nowhere near top-flight. We paid $270 for our one night. While all of Key West is absurdly dear, we'll file this one under 'never again.'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is fine if you have a car or plan on renting a moped. It's about a 10 min drive to downtown but the hotel is clean and the suites have plenty of room, the beach is right across the street so there is plenty to do!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites. We are located two miles from Duval Street or a bike ride away. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imlay City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here on Jan 4 and we had a great time. We stayed from Jan 2nd to the 5th. We were upgraded to an oceanview suite and it was perfect. The suite was large enough for my bridal party to relax and get ready together. The bathroom was beautiful. The vanity was huge and the large tiled shower was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable as was the sofa. I was very confused about housekeeping though. We were NOT told at check-in about any "green" program so we did not know we would not be getting housekeeping. My mom did her best to pick up our room and make the bed so that our photographer could take pictures in our room, but it would have been nice if we had someone to at least remove the bag of trash. My parents and sister were not told this either so that should be made more clear.
The pool area was very well maintained. The rocks with waterfall made for great pictures. There are rocking chairs and benches all throughout the property. The staff are all very friendly and helpful they set up our wedding ceremony across the street at Smather's Beach and it looked wonderful. They even raked the sand!
By the time the guests got back to the reception area the bar was open and appetizers were being passed. The food was delicious, and the staff was very attentive. The food and beverage manager, Brandon, was new and given my wedding basically at the last minute. He did an AMAZING job and I know without him it would not have so wonderful. He was super involved the whole day, even letting me check the table set-up (which he did himself). He stayed until the event was over, boxing up my left over cake and table linens. I can not express how pleased we were that he was in charge of our day.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience here! We can not wait to return to the Sheraton Suites and spend more time in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sheraton Suites Key West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Rachael:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Suites and that your wedding was everything you hoped for.The Sheraton team was very happy to host this memorable day for you and I will make sure to pass along the good review to Brandon Burk. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Key West

Address: 2001 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Key West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis from the everyday, the Sheraton Suites Key West is a luxurious all-suite hotel. Near Smathers Beach, Duval Street, Mallory Square, fishing, snorkeling, windsurfing, biking, or kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Sheraton Hotel Key West
Sheraton Key West
Key West Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;