We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Dirt Everywhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Suites Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Suites Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, Florida
1 review
“Lots of Dirt Everywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

1.Front door was damaged and dead bolt did not work
2.Patio sliders did not lock, so room was always unsecured
3.Towels were dirty
4.Bathroom tub had rust around the bottom
5.All of the air vents were extremely dirty
6.All of the TV's were ancient and was unable to set up the gaming platform for my son
7.Gave the overall appearance of worn and not kept up.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Art,
We are very sorry to hear of your experience. Sunrise Suites is now under a new management team and the property is currently being updated. Many of the units have already been upgraded with flat screen TVs and more modern furniture. Please understand that each of the units at Sunrise Suites is a privately owned condominium, therefore making each unit unique. We sincerely apologize for the multiple issues that you experienced during your stay. To the best of our knowledge, our staff members were never made aware of the inadequacies of your room, but we would like to be given the chance to make this up to you. Please contact the hotel so that your contact and reservation information can be forwarded to the general manager.

Again, we apologize for the issues noted in your review and we hope that you will allow us a second chance at offering you the Key West vacation that you can enjoy to the fullest.

Thank you,
Sunrise Suites Resort Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
68
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed with my mom and daughter which brought her 2 yr old son. Plenty of room for him to run around. Couch wasnt very comfortable and no kitchen table but all else was great. Lots of closet space if you were to stay a week. Situated on quiet side of island.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the review! We would like to note that a number of the sleeper sofas are being upgraded. We appreciate your comments and hope that you consider Sunrise Suites again for your next trip to Key West. Please note that you are a return guest when making your next booking with us so that we can be sure to accommodate you and your family to the fullest extent and offer you the best special possible available at the time.

Thanks again,
Sunrise Suites Resort Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our family of four recently vacationed in Key West and selected the Sunrise Suites Resort as we were looking for reasonably priced 2 bedroom accommodation.

Initially I was a little apprehensive given this was quite close to the airport however, we were out all day and we didn't notice the noise at night at all so this wasn't a concern for us.

The apartment we were allocated was quite spacious and was reasonably good value for money. The pool area was nice and was well kept. The kitchen was function and we had a full size fridge. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area.

A couple of things could improve our stay and that was, there was no washing/drying facilities in the rooms even though there was space in our accommodation for this. While there was a community laundry, a washing machine/dryer combination would have been appreciated. Secondly, for our whole stay, there was no internet. We were given a code to use the 'free wifi' when we first checked in but were told this in fact, was out of action. We went to reception after our first night and were advised that it had been out for a couple of days and they weren't sure when it would be fixed. It would have been nice to be advised of this at check in.

The accommodation is away from the main area of Key West and you need a hire car however, for us we had a car so a drive into town wasn't a problem.

We would stay there again and it only needs a few small things to lift it from an average stay to an above average stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear GemWA ,

Thank you very much for your input! We are glad you chose our property for your family vacation and we are sorry to hear about the few small issues you experienced while staying with us. When it comes to the washer and dryer situation, we do have couple units that offer those, and again, please, understand that each unit is privately owned and therefore it is up to the owner whether to provide them or not. In regards with the poor wi fi connection, we are aware of it, unfortunately your stay happened to coincide with the placement of new Internet provider.
Please, come back and we will assure you that you will fully enjoy your stay and again we greatly apprecaite your constructive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom suite and were very pleasantly surprised to find that there really were two bedrooms and two baths with a living room and kitchen. We were only there one night, so we only used the place to sleep and shower, but it was a nice stay. The front desk woman was very nice, who called us when our room was ready since we had arrived 3 hours earlier than check in time. We'd use it again when traveling with friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed our property and we are looking forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a one night in the resort. The location was really easy to find and the resort is located by other properties so it has a pretty entrance. For the price, the two bedroom and two bathroom suite is an amazing find for the keys! Yes,the furniture is a bit outdated, but you are in the keys and about 8 minutes away from Duval Street by car. Plus, you have a fully stocked kitchen with fridge, pans, utensils etc.
When we arrived around 12:30pm our room was not ready, so they told us they will call when the room was ready. They called around 2:30pm and we had our lovely 4th floor room that i chose. Although, the hotel backs onto the keys airport- from the room you could not hear the planes. And we did end up watching the sunset from our balcony and had amazing view because we were looking towars the marsh/west.

Room Tip: the higher floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear crazchick23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback and share your great experience staying with us. We are very glad you were able to be accommodated in the Unit of your choice and also to be able to enjoy the unique Key West sunsets from the balcony!
As far as the furniture, we are working with the individual owners on upgrading it all.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

When we booked we booked room 402. Supposedly renovated and new. Upon arrival received room 306: dilapidated and old. According to rental agency, w/d in 306 not 402, so they switched us. As a lawyer. Seems like a bate and switch, but once you're here there isn't much to do.
Now, the room. As owners of rental props in Lake Havasu, AZ, we have come to expect what we offer, but have learned that isn't always the thought of others. We always stay in 4 & 5 star resorts, but have 2 children under 3 & a third due shortly...we opted for a condo instead.
Room 306: The furniture is so unbelievably dilapidated we were shocked. Honestly, the dresser in the living room was literally falling apart. Our son tried to pull the drawer out and the front border pulled off with huge nails sticking out. After looking at it we realized it had been rigged wrong and was totally unsafe.
The dishwasher ONLY works on short cycle. We told the leasing agent, but no response. Microwave was new and stove was okay.
Couch/pull out was really old and being repaired by housekeeping when we arrived. It was so gross looking we covered it with a blanket from the closet while we stayed there.
Linens were clean, but we removed the top comforters because they are old and gross looking. We placed a decent looking throw over the beds. Mattresses are comfortable, which was a relief.
Showers are okay.
Floors and carpet were filthy. Our daughter is still crawling and her feet were filthy until I washed the floor the first night on my hands and knees.
Now, because this unit is privately owned (?) you don't have the office/resort amenities ( not that there are many). Everything in the unit is what you get.
Honestly, it could be worse. However, we really felt we were lied to from the beginning because we had requested a w/d from the beginning and booked the renovated room. For what we paid, we feel like we were ripped off.
Just make sure to be clear about your room.
Side note: there is NO security. We had serious issues with the ppl above us ( running, screaming, banging, sliding furniture, dropping things, etc. from 6am-1am every day). We called and texted security: NO RESPONSE. Additionally, our luck: ppl below us smoked from sun up to sun down, couldn't keep doors open or sit outside. Not resorts fault for smokers, but one side of building should be smoking and other side no smoking.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoli P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience while staying at Sunrise Suites. We are, however, under new management , and are working slowly but surely, to repair, change up and update the overall property and the way it has been run. As far as the indivial units are concerned, it is a fact that they are privately owned and each owner selects the way they will furnish a suite or how often to replace furnitutre, utilities, etc. That being said, we are closely working with the owners on every single issue and try to encourage upgardes and renovations every so often in order to provide a more quality stay.
Please, get in touch with us we will be happy to offer you something that will hopefully make you come back and visit us again , and make up for your previous stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the third time staying at this resort but it had been 15 years since the last visit. The room looked exactly as it did 15 years ago. Website advertised flat screen TV's and DVD player - had neither of these. These units need major updates - mattresses, sheets and comforters are most likely the same as 15 years ago. Blow dryer didn't work in one bathroom, creamer packet was as hard as a rock, coffee pot was about 20 years old, couldn't use the iron board because it was so bent up it wouldn't open, vent was hanging down off the wall, wireless was worthless, the kitchen amenities very limited, bathtub curtains were moldy. Way overpriced!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Address: 3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All condo property - Enjoy services of a hotel with the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.