We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean and well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #75 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Marco Island, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Clean and well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The condo was immaculate. Everything there for an enjoyable stay. Pool and hot tub were steps from the condo. Elevator and luggage carts very convenient.Big open lanai with a decent view.
Not real close to Duval and downtown but about 10 minute drive or cab it. 2nd bed was very hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    29
    8
    16
See reviews for
63
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only spent 2 nights but it was perfect for what we wanted. The room was clean, well equipped and quiet. The hotel is on the non party side and was exactly what we were looking for. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

By the airport, so occasional plane noise during day hours. For the money, best value on the island. This is not the Marriott Beachside, but you aren't paying 450 per night for a two/two condo. We paid 225/ night with only 3 weeks notice and thought it was fair for Key West. Kitchen was stocked for our 3 night stay. 17 dollar cab ride to Duval Street, 12 to the Marina. Furnishings are outdated and beds are a little firm for our tastes but we would definitely stay again! Probably next summer. Pool was heated and fantastic! Iguanas everywhere. Very quiet area at the end of Seaside Drive. Smathers beach is a mile away. If you want five star then don't stay here. Maid service is extra if you want it ($10). We had three adults and two children (7 and 4) and found unit 108 perfect for our needs for a high school reunion. It was disappointing that the pool closed at 8 pm. Manager said it was a liability issue? I have never heard of a pool that closes while it is still daylight especially in a vacation destination like Key West. B+ visit overall.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sunrise Suites Resort is very well located, and check-in/check-out process was very fast. Very courteous service.
But it is not worth the price we paid. It is supposed to accomodate 6 persons, but there are only 4 chairs and 4 stools (are we supposed to bring our own ?). The sofa-bed was so worn-out and old, it could not be used as a bed (we could see the springs coming out of the mattress !), so our 3rd kid had to sleep on the couch itself because the bed was unusable.
In general, furniture is quite old (probably dates back to the 70's) and needs to be updated. We were travelling with friends and they had the same problem in their unit. There was hair in the bathtub when we arrived in our unit. Kitchen was missing a few items : no cutting board, only a small pan that was unusable (the teflon coating was disintegrating in our food), no baking tray for the oven, etc.
The pool was nice, but closed very early at 8 PM. Forget having dinner around 6h30 PM and be able to make it for a quick evening swim. This was really disapointing, especially for the kids who like to use the pool in the evening (which is feasible at other hotels).
Overall, I would say the hotel was correct, with a lot of points to be improved, but definitely not worth the price. If the hotel had been cheaper, these shortcomings could be excusable, but for the proce we paid (225$ a night), we would expect a much higher standard. Our family (2 adults, 3 kids) travels quite a lot (3-4 trips/year), and we stayed in much much better units for a lot less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place (blind) through Hotwire and couldn't have been more pleased with the outcome! Clean, spacious, pet friendly, nice pool...would definitely stay again. It is on the other side of the island if you are looking for action, but a cab ride from Duval was around $20 before tip and well worth it. Check in/out was fast and easy and the overall value was unbeatable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was just as it appeared on the photos. It was clean and comfortable. We made good use of the kitchen, which saved some $$, as Key West is very expensive for food and drink. There was one night with a little noise, but overall it was quiet. We stayed on the airport side, but the planes didn't bother us.

Pros: can rent bikes from the front desk and they deliver them to you in about 30 mins, laundry room on site ($2 per load though) pool is warm and clean, kid friendly but good for grown-ups too, cool pond with lots of fish and turtles for the kids to look at.

Cons: far from downtown and night life. It's only 5 miles, but it takes 20 mins to drive and taxi is $20 each way. I suggest renting scooters, bikes, or using public transportation which picks up right outside the hotel. Sofa bed is not comfortable - it would be fine for kids, but not people with back problems or picky adults.

If we go back to Key West, we will probably stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I travel for my living and I have to say this hotel is a great place to stay in Key West. I stayed here with some friends for about a week. Dishes, pans, silverware, coffee maker, toaster etc were all in this 2 bedrrom 2 bath condo. Great time. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Address: 3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All condo property - Enjoy services of a hotel with the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.