We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise & Bed bugs.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Suites Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Suites Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noise & Bed bugs.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have used this place several times over a 6 year period. This year was the last time. The people in the unit above had a party all night and made so much noise that sleeping was imposible.The units have a tile floor and when they move the bar stools you can hear everything. They must have brought in the chairs from the balcony to add to the noise. Then the sliding door to the balcony is the loudest thing you ever heard. Open & close, open & close, and on and on. So I tried to call the night phone # for complaints about 1 am and got a mesage that the voice mail box was full. At 3 am I went upstairs to ask if they could hold down the noise as I had to get up at 5 am. That did not go well with a bunch of drunks. Complained a the front desk the next day and they told me they would have a talk with them. The next day was a repeat of the night before. Then to add insult to injury when we got home we discovered the bed bug bites. They try to run the place like a hotel and rent the condos for the owners but they do not take care of it to the standars of a hotel. Do yourself a favor and find a reputable hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
68
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the suites Aug 2-6 2012. The furniture was a little OLD but other than that i have NO complaints. There were 4 of us and the room accomodated us very well. The grounds were well maintained and the young lady at the front desk was very friendly. We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view of the pool. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. My next trip to Key West Sunrise Suites is were i will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This place has a front row view to the airport. Lucky enough it is a small airport with little service. Watching the double-wing air commercial airplane take off and then come back to catch the commercial banner while just touching ground (like on a carrier) was great fun though.
The apartments are big and extremely clean. The kitchen appeared as never used, it was shining!
Pool is weirdly warm to an extend which it is not cooling at all. Surroundings acceptable, nothing more than that.
It is a ten minutes drive to Key West. But don't bother: Key West has been completely destroyed to a tourist destination no better than drunken Ibiza by night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was happy with my choice of this accommodation. The price was reasonable for a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was a little tired, but perfectly acceptable. It was a good size and had everything we needed for 5 people.

There was a nice pool area, pool towels from reception and a guest gym and laundry. You do need a car or bike to get about here. Plenty of places hire bikes and scooters and deliver to the suites.

The was no maid service, it was $10 a day extra for this, but we didn't need it as we only stayed for 2 nights. The tv in our room only had one channel, in Spanish, but this didn't bother us as we were only there for a short stay.

I was a little concerned that reception shut at 9pm and wasn't sure what would happen if we had any problems after that - but we didn't so it never became an issue.

It was only a 5 min drive to Duvall street, which comes to life at night and is great fun.

I would stay here again and wished I had more time in Key West.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms get morning sun on balcony, countryside facing rooms get it at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

we stayed at the suites july 3- 5 with another couple - the room was not updated and fancy, but it was spacious and had all of the basic things we needed.the bedrooms were nice--each had it's own bathroom. the beds were ridiculously comfortable. this hotel is located at the opposite end of the downtown area..about 4 miles. we rented scooters and rode into town that way. cab rides are fairly pricy from this hotel. overall, we were all happy about our stay.

Room Tip: higher floors will have a better view of the natural grounds that surround the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were issued 4 key cards, 2 didn't work immediately, went back to office, problem fixed. Next day we four all arrived back before 8pm NOT ONE card worked, office was locked, staff gone for the day. We called all the emergency #s posted got recorded message on each one saying "office hours are 8am - 8pm so didn't expect any response before morning, finally after phoning numerous times and leaving numerous messages someone arrived an hour later to reactivate our card keys. Having taken special care to keep the cards in pockets, nowhere near phones or other things that would mess with them we were very upset to be locked out. Manager was notified of our problem, TWICE, and had our cell#. NEVER called, very bad customer service at the least an apology was warranted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the resort. Check in and checkout was effortless. The Condo was spacious and clean. The price we got was very good but book early, they sell out fast! 5 of us stayed in the room, 2 couples, 1 friend and we were very comfortable. The one friend that stayed on the sofa bed said it was unbelievably comfortable, I know that is very rare, sofa beds are usually horrible. We enjoyed the unit that over looked the pool and the balcony was a welcome and nice addition. The only negative thing I can say is (actually might not be a bad thing for some) the resort was very quite not many young people to hang out with. Another thing is it is right at the entrance to Key West making it very far from all but we rented scooters so we enjoyed the ride to - from the fun. I recommend this place for its spacious units and quiet atmosphere. If you are looking for some wild fun rent closer to Duval.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Address: 3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All condo property - Enjoy services of a hotel with the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.