We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Suites Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Suites Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Suites Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed at Sunrise Suites with my family for a week in April 2011. We found the resort to have everything we needed. Our condo had two bedrooms each with their own bathroom and shower. The unit we stayed in #304 was very clean and appeared to have recently been redocorated in tropical decor and upgraded compared to the pictures on the properties website. The condos appear to be privately owned so some may be nicer than others. The living room had a large flat screen TV with many HD channels while the bedrooms had smaller flat screens also with HD. The condo also had a nice kitchen that was nicely stocked. The balcony was a great place to sit and have breakfast while overlooking the salt ponds. Having the extra room the condo afforded us really worked well and was only slightly more than several hotels we considered. The pool area was very nice and the pool was larger than any hotel we have stayed at. The water temp was always very comfortable. The property is located on the north east side of the island near the airport and is about 2 blocks from the boardwalk along the ocean. The boardwalk is a great place to walk, jog, or ride a bike and is never crowded. About a mile down the boardwalk is Smathers Beach which is one of the most popular beaches in Key West. If you stay here you really need a car as Duval Street and most of the resturants are about two miles away. We enjoyed our vacation in Key West and really liked staying at Sunrise Suites. The family voted to definitely come back next year for spring break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    37
    9
    16
See reviews for
70
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

There were 5 of us and there was more than enough room for us. The condo had everything you could ask for (plates, cups, cookware and even hangers :-) ) We went lobstering and they office was more than happy to let us park our 17 foot boat in a parking place. The pool was with in walking distance and each night we BBQed right outside the pool. The drive from the condo to Duval street was about 10min w/ traffic. Well worth it and Sue and her husband (the owners) were very helpful with places to eat and see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were able to stay at the Sunrise Suites through some friends, and we really enjoyed it! We are budget travelers, so having the extra room and the kitchen was really nice. Our first evening gave us beautiful sunset views over the salt flats, and overall we thought it was a nice location. It would be nice to stay in the historic district and not have to drive to get there, but this was a really nice area, and we were treated well by the staff. I tried the pool out, but it's small and gets pretty hot in the sun, so it felt more like a spa than a cool-off. Also the hallways are open to the air, so no cooling off there either! But the place is decorated nicely and it had more than everything we needed. We were very lucky.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were concerned but I must say we were very happy. The pictures they showed were exactly what the rooms looked like. The decor might not be architectural digest material but the reality is the Florida Keys are not that kind of place. Beds were comfortable, rooms were comfortable. Bathrooms were very spacious as were closets. TV's were small by today's standards but we do not go out of town to watch TV. Kitchen was perfect even though small. Pool and Hot tub were great. Our room faced the pool area and it was very pretty. The otherside appears to be a preserve.
The beds were very comfortable and per our teen daughter who slept on the sleeper sofa it was comfortable as well. Place was very clean and smelled it. A/C worked great.
We were minutes away from the beaches, both Smathers and Higgs. Only a few more minutes away from Duval and all the fun in the heart of Key West.
We parked where we were told and did not have issues with that unlike someone who in his review said he was towed.
No restaurant in house but there are plenty in the area and a supermarket down the street.
I can honestly say we did not have a single complaint of the place. We will definitely stay there again when we need more than one room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Checked in very late. We had booked an ocean front condo for the week but could not get in until Saturday so we decided to try this palce for one night. Mistake. The place is very hard to find. Located behind some nicer looking condos off a swamp. We checked in and went to the room. There was a huge racket outside. Turns out the frogs in the nearby swamp really make a ALOT of noise. The balcony was small and the table and chairs dirty. We wee tired so we turned in. When we awoke in the morning we realized how old and warn the furniture was. This is a party place make no mistake. All the furniture was slightly soiled and very warn. Tiny TV's in huge cabinets were a joke. The second bathroom had urine on the floor and the toilet. Not nice. The floors were dirty. The linens very modest. This is not a resort. Maybe OK for one night but if we had seen it in the daylight we would not have stayed. Beware.

The cost was low. Should have known. Live and learn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We found hair in the sheets of one bed and the other one looked as if the sheets had been used before and not washed never.floor it's very very dirty. I Do not have to come here again never in my life.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stay in a 2 Bed 2 Bath room. Located on a quiet side of Key-West, and within a bigger community that has 4 other apartment complex.

Kitchen was clean and sufficient for 5 adults. Bath rooms were also clean and neat, although be careful with Shower curtain which was just placed on a rack instead of fixed well on the walls. Furnitues were not new, but it did not bother us.

Had a nice Balcony. Nearest Publix (grocery store) is 1.5 miles away. Property had a convenience store but price was alomost double. Hence, ensure that you get required grocery before you enter the apartment complex.

Overall good stay and nothing much to complaint specifically.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Address: 3685 SeaSide Drive, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All condo property - Enjoy services of a hotel with the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.