We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Key West
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed out stay at Marquesa while exploring Key West. It has a great location; we walked (or biked) everywhere. The rooms are welcoming, clean and well appointed. The front desk staff, Richard and Bob, were most helpful, as were the maintenance staff and housekeeping crew. I loved the night time turn down service. It was wonderful to return to the room spiffed up with fresh towels and bed turned down after being out in the evening. Another shout out goes to the Marquesa cafe employees who served us on the front hotel porch for desserts and nightcaps! They were very accommodating and hospitable.

Because no place is perfect, I will make mention of the cons I noted. 1. The flat pillows 2. The garbage truck noise on Monday morning (and some other Simonton St noise) 3. The high room price. All that said, I looked at other properties and felt that Marquesa was hands down the nicest place to stay. It is truly an oasis in Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in #20, a lovely Jr Suite. However, while I like the location of #20 on the property, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    76
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
41
425
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Key West .The Marquesa is perfectly located just far enough from Duval to be quiet and yet close enough to walk to most attractions and restaurants.
The room was beautiful, one of the new junior suites over the parking garage ( 25) and the grounds and pool area are lovely. The staff are the best I have encountered anywhere, nothing is too much trouble. So - the only reason this resort does not get a 5 star review is sleep quality , the rooms simply do not have enough sound insulation between them. One morning it is someone next door on their mobile phone at 06.30 am, the next day there is a lot of banging around , and at my lowest point I could hear someone snoring next door ! I would suggest a stiff drink or earplugs and enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We selected this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed in any way.
The location is great for strolling around the historic center of Key West, one block from Duval Street and three blocks from the historic sea port and Mallory Square.
The room was wonderful, very clean and with great attention to detail. We found the hotel to be very peaceful being so close to all the action of Key West.
The tropical grounds and the two swimming pools are lovely
Nice touches include the on site parking, coffee provided by the pool every morning and the nightly turn down service.
The staff were all very welcoming and helpful including parking the car and assisting us with luggage.
A small but very helpful point is the little computer room where you can do your on-line check in and print your boarding passes.
Whilst the rates are quite high, we feel that it represents good value when you compare it with main line branded hotels that are in much less desirable locations.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have nice patios or balconies (some are shared by 2 rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My sister and I just returned from 5 nights at Marquesa. We didn't know it was March Break madness and St. Patricks Day which made the area a little crazy, but we were able to escape to our own oasis at Marquesa. Sitting by the pool surrounded by palms and gardens we didn't feel the hustle. Our room overlooked the road and we enjoyed having drinks and relaxing on our private terrace watching what was going on down Simonton, but when you closed the door you were back to the oasis.
The service was outstanding, and they were so willing to help and make your stay perfect. They confirmed reservations for us, arranged bike drop off and return, recommended restaurants and day trips. Loved the welcome wine and the breakfast we ordered delivered to our room was great.
Yes I would return and recommend.

Room Tip: Yes the room facing Simonton was a little noisy but close the door and leave a radio on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I just spent 5 days at the Marquesa Hotel. We chose a Junior Suite (#5). The hotel is absolutely beautiful in a very classic way-white walls, dark wood trim, lovely furniture. Our Junior Suite was perfect-very large with an open floor plan, including a seating area, a king bed, and a sizable bathroom. We were just in front of one of the two pools, but it was very quiet. We were 2 blocks from Duval Street, but we could not hear the noise and music from there. This is not a hotel for people looking for a lot of diversions and activity-it costs more than many hotels, but it is worth the price to have peace and relaxation. It does not include breakfast (although I think it would be a sensible addition), but for $10 a small, varied continental breakfast is served in your room or on your porch. We did this the first and last mornings for convenience, but enjoyed special breakfasts at Sarabeth's (right around the corner), and Blue Heaven (an experience you should not miss).
The staff was very pleasant and helpful, but totally unobtrusive. We would return here again, and we look forward to that time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

2nd stay at Marquesa. Hotel is very well maintained to the smallest detail. Staff is always pleasant and welcoming. Great location and easy walk to Duval and other prime locations. Had a std room this time. Adequate size, but pricey, even for season.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in old town Key West, the facilities are beautiful, and the staff was very nice. We stayed in Room 7 and found it to be noisy at night and early morning (restaurant staff Sun PM, garbage Mon AM and recycling Wed AM). The bed had a slight slope toward the headboard and the Wi-Fi was slower than expected. Would reccomend asking for a room that doesn't share a wall with Simonton St.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 and found it to be noisy at night and early morning (restaurant staff Sun PM, ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.