We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small hotel in heart of historic district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Marquesa Hotel
600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful small hotel in heart of historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a gem of a spot. A lovely old style hotel set in numerous (historic) buildings around lovely gardens and a couple of beautiful pools. We stayed only one night and i desperately wanted to stay longer. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, service was discrete but excellent and best of all.... a hotel that offers a midday check out with options to use the garden/pool facilities after check out and a shower to freshen up before late flights etc. Now thats great service. The room was very comfortable and well maintained, a glass of wine delivered on check in and easy complimentary parking. Whats not to love? Marquesa ... you set high standards for others in key west to follow.. A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    81
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
45
498
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København, Danmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

One of the most fantastic hotel we have ever stayed in. The service there is exstraordinary from all of the staff. The hotel is kept the old style and the rooms are all newly renovated. They have a garden in the middel with flowers and two pools - one is heated. They even put a chocolat mint on your pillow when they make your bed ready for the night. So if you want to stay in a great small town hotel in the heart of the old town, this is the place to stay. If you want a balcony you have to book a room with a pool view.
Unfortunately I forgot something in the safe, when we left. But Richard from the front desk has been working very hard to find a solution, so I can have it back. Once again, great service!
We will go back soon to this amazing place :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Highly Recommended! The Marquesa is an oasis in the middle of the many moving parts that make Key West a place everyone should visit once in their life. After a long day seeing the sights, both on and off Duval Street, it was nice to return to the Marquesa and relax whether on the porch outside our room or by the pool. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable; the staff was very attentive and helpful. We had a fabulous dinner at the Marquesa Cafe next door. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose onw of the suites - nice porches and great access to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

There was actually a tear in my wife's eyes as we packed to leave, we didn't want to leave. We spent 3 nights at the Marquesa, the first stop on our trip to visit family in other parts of Florida. I have never felt more comfortable immediately than I have at this place. We can't figure it out, we are mature adults, travel often enough, but this place affected us like no other place has - no other place has even come close. We arrived late hungry and the night guy knocked himself out to find someplace that would deliver something to eat. The room was spotless and the housekeepers kept it that way, twice a day. There was always someone around, one step ahead of us anticipating our needs, but no one was ever in the way. Valet parking is free - when was the last time you encountered that? We've been to Key West before, and love everything it has to offer, but the highlight of our stay - the highlight of our entire trip - was sitting in the dark poolside with a nice glass of wine doing nothing. Thank You, we will be back. Often!

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room - KIng bed and separate seating/living area. It was spacious and more than eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Maui
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

OK, to some, a superior hotel has to have two golf courses, five swimming pools, a spa, and a partridge in a pear tree. To me the best thing that can happen when traveling is to occasionally get the feeling of being at home.

The décor is period with a little eclectic chic thrown in. The rooms are spacious and the baths are large, up to date, and well appointed. We were fortunate to get a room on a second floor with a lanai overlooking the street. This gave us the option of air conditioning or natural cooling at night.

All the members of the staff went out of they way to be of service while giving, an unusual, refreshing, feeling, for hotel staff, that we were all on the same level, rather than us being made to feel that the staff were somehow our indentured servants. Those of us who know who we are don’t need false courtesies.

Parking is at a premium in Key West, but our car was always available at a moment’s notice, and precise advice and directions for local activities was readily given.

Room Tip: Get a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A jewel in paradise. Stayed for two nights. Room (pool area) well decorated and impeccably maintained. Pool was inviting and gardens were beautiful. Very friendly staff. Dinner at the Cafe was a night to be remembered. Highly recommended. Antonio

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing, friendly, clean, great location,inviting and so much more. This are the few words to describe our stay at the Marquesa!!! Anytime we return to Key West this will be our first choice of place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.