We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Lowest Rate, Guarantee
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Key West
Cape May, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I like small, boutique hotels. This is one of the best I've been to. Centrally located in old town Key West, but away from Duval Street (a real plus). The staff is super! Very helpful, unobtrusive. They clean our room early, put fresh ice in twice a day. We're in room 6, very private, large covered porch with a wicker couch and seat and a table with two chairs. Room is spacious and nicely furnished, great bed. Hotel has two small pools, one heated, one not. Rooms all open to pool. Only two floors in historic building. Beautifully landscaped. Has a restaurant that we're trying tonight. Looks great. They will serve you dinner in your room or poolside, if asked. Very accommodating. These guys do it right!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    78
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
448
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over New Years and loved the Marquesa. This was our first trip to Key West and we were so glad we stayed here. You cannot ask for a better location. Quiet and charming and yet a quick 2 blocks and you're right in the midst of Duval St fun. Henry welcomed us with great suggestions of places to go, which beaches were best, and restaurant suggestions as well as a nice cold cocktail. He also parked our car in their parking area for us. Whenever we saw him, he was always making sure the pool area was clean or helping other guests out. What excellent service. We loved that there was one regular pool and one heated. So nice to have that option. And the entire pool area was cozy, inviting and relaxing. Our room was right off the pool and it was always well taken care of by the housekeeping staff who always had our ice bucket re-filled. The only critique we had was a minor one - the pillows weren't that great. But honestly that paled with all the positives. If you stay there, definitely walk around the corner on Simonton and Southard for a fantastic breakfast/lunch at Sarabeth's. We ate there 3 of the 5 days. Delicious. Also, be sure and watch the sunset on the roof of La Concha hotel right down Fleming at Duval. One drink per person minimum but worth it for great vistas of Key West and a lovely sunset without the madness of Mallory Square (and the possibility of a cruise ship ruining your view. ) We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. What a gem.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I just spent Christmas at The Marquesa and had the most wonderful time ever. The staff is courteous and helpful, the property is delightful and the location is perfect. The pool and garden area is absolutely gorgeous and makes for a beautifully serene haven from the busy-ness of Duval Street. We couldn't recommend The Marquesa highly enough. We've travelled all over the US and Europe and this is one of the best places we've ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We traveled to the Marquesa in November, a departure from our usual March trip. For us, this was a relatively last minute trip, and we and our traveling companions were fortunate to be the beneficiaries of the Marquesa's largesse. Our preferred rooms were already booked, but Carol and her staff worked to accommodate us for a week in two lovely, adjacent suites. Well, we adored our suites and fell in love, yet again, with every single thing this amazing hotel offers.

The accommodations were beautifully appointed and spotless. We were welcomed like old friends, with Sean taking us directly to our suites, bringing us wine, and handling the check in essentially without our participation. Before our arrival, the staff had made a week's worth of dinner reservations for us and endured a number of changes graciously.

There are so many things we love, they are difficult to enumerate: the early morning coffee and tea by the pool, all-day ice water and iced tea, fresh towels twice a day, and the constant smiling, familiar, yet unobtrusive presence of the staff.

Every time we visit, we seem to proclaim our stay "the best ever," only to remember that we said those exact same words the last time, and the time before that, and the time before that.

In a world where little seems to be reliable, it is good to know that every visit to the Marquesa leaves us feeling showered by abundant happiness.

Room Tip: There actually are no spa or fitness center. I just got carried away with my excellent ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during a quick trip to Key West in December 2012 and I couldn't have enjoyed my stay more.

The property feels more sophisticated than a traditional bed and breakfast, but cozier than your usual luxury hotel. It's beautifully decorated and landscaped. The hotel is made up of four houses organized around an interior courtyard, which has two pools and is full of orchids and palm trees and other tropical plants. The smaller rooms seemed to be in the main house (where reception is and where the restaurant is located), and the larger junior suites are grouped around the pool area. I stayed in one of the junior suites and it was lovely to have our room be just steps from the pools and the garden area.

Most places you would want to visit in Key West are easily within walking distance of the hotel, so the location is great.

If you stay here, definitely try the hotel's continental breakfast (delicious, and only $10). I enjoyed the hotel's restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Room 5 (one of the junior suites) was perfect: spacious, quiet, and right by the pools with its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was well worth it.
Outstanding welcoming staff, excellent location, parking (very important in Key West)
The pool area gave you the serenity needed after a long drive, they even deliver food, thanks to the hospitality Lady that gave us the tip.
Ice tea, lemonade and ice water along with fresh towels by the pool.
Great attention to details.
Nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The fine lodging options boil down to two: intimate inns evoking the spirit of Key West and large hotels that lose some of their charm due to size and quantity of rooms. The Marquesa was phenomenal. What everyone else says about the rooms are true but I will share one story that captures their phenomenal service. We were having Thanksgiving dinner with friends in town and arrived on Thanksgiving Day, unsure what to do about bringing a dessert we asked if any stores were open. The response: our pastry chef will call you and have something ready upon your arrival. Amy was amazing as her caramel cookies and pumpkin pie were devoured.

Room Tip: Room 11 was spacious: queen bed, couch with side chair and table. Set back so its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.