We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marquesa Hotel Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Marquesa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marquesa Hotel Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Beautiful place. Friendly service . Great location . Walk to Duval Street

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    87
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
53
552
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here two nights and couldn't get a third night so moved on to another hotel. This place is run beautifully. The breakfast in the courtyard is great, everything is immaculate and stylish, even the orchids are all blooming. The guests seemed a little uptight but management can't control that. For instance, one night three of us gathered on our porch at 6 pm to share wine before dinner and the woman in the adjacent room came out and said, "Could you please keep it down- we're trying to take a before dinner nap!" Not as if we were running our own karaoke machine, geez!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I planned a short visit with our daughter who lives/works in Key West. She suggested The Marquesa Hotel so I asked her to simply make the arrangements for us. We were simply delighted upon our arrival and cannot wait to revisit. I called this review the "Key West tease" because I intend to stay longer next time, just to allow quiet time to sit on the patio or sit by the pool. I intend to have a hot cup of coffee and a great book and will "accidently" leave my cell phone in the room. We lead such harried lives - the serenity and beauty of the Marquesa was just what the Dr. ordered and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I tend to enjoy "space" so we asked for a room with a sitting area. I am up bright and ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay at the Marquesa, where I am torn between determining whether the service, or the actual room was best. From the moment I called to place my reservation, I received first-rate, warm, and precise service. Really, flawless. This level of service is so unexpected that it really is such a pleasant "shock" to experience. The purpose of my trip to Key West (my first visit) was to explore the area, escape the mid-winter chill in the Midwest, and to have a fun time with a good friend. We booked two rooms adjacent to one another, and really used the Marquesa as our base of operations for heading out to nearby Duval Street and other popular Key West venues. We also enjoyed simply sitting on our veranda, listening to the soothing sounds of the courtyard, and quiet. My room was spotless - very clean, fresh linen and a comfortable bed, where i enjoyed a quiet night's rest. Bottom line: I travel all over the world, and have stayed in many legendary places. Marquesa is among the very best.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Marquesa Hotel in Key West for our 20th Anniversary. The hotel is very nice, clean, and comfortable. Our first room was on the main street side and was a little too loud for us but the staff (Bob) rearranged some things to allow us to move into a different room that was much quieter. They have two pools, one heated and one not. They will also serve breakfast by the pool which was nice. And it is a great location to Duvall Street. Close enough that everything is in walking distance but far enough away from the night time craziness. WOuld definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the main road in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

When I was told about the Marquesa by my American Express agent, she said it was a lovely and well managed guest house, just off Duval Street, one of the main drags in Key West. We reserved one of the suites at the Marquesa for a night - before going on to Little Palm Island for my wife's 50th getaway. While on the plane I casually checked the reviews on the Marquesa... (yeah, I know... a wee bit late, yes, but when I was scheduling the trip, my wife's father was passing and everything was too nutso, so I simply 'went' with the Amex advice.) So imagine my discomfort when I read a review giving the MARQUESA 3 out of 5 stars... not a good moment.

Ahhhh, but when we were taken by cab from the Key West Airport to the 600 Flemming Street address of The Marquesa, my concerns lessened. The staff greeted us with warmth and courtesy, and 'Richard' sat down to complete our arrival papers. Ok, this Richard guy... this is NOT his 1st Rodeo! What a terrific and accomodating gentleman this was. He took my request for dinner reservations, promptly had us reserved at a marvelous seafood bistro, and then accompanied us to the suite. One look at my wife upon entering the suite erased any concerns about that ridiculous 3 star review. Either this was a very old set of reviews, or the 4 people who wrote the reviews lacked any and all cerebral capacity. The room was bright, dang near 'antiseptic' clean, and wonderfully appointed with very comfortable classic furniture in refreshing green and white patterns... yeah, beautifully 'Key West'd'! As soon as he had welcomed us to our suite Richard asked us if we'd enjoy a glass of wine... and he soon returned with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc for my wife and a delightful Pinot Noir for me. Yeah... 3 star … uh uh! No way!

The Marquesa is wonderfully situated about 1 1/2 blocks from Duval Street, and even better, from Starbucks! It's only a five minute walk down to Mallory Square, through all the kitschy and classy shops, and to the water docks where restaurants abound.

The sleep at the Marquesa was blessed, and the mattress and pillows were 5 Star comfort. My wife and I have been fortunate to be able to experience some truly marvelous places, The Point in Saranac Lake, Little Palm Island, Cayo Espanto in Belize, and other amazing spots to rest your soul. While the Marquesa is not what I would call a ‘resort’... it IS one beautiful, comfortable, VERY clean, and well cared for little gem in Key West!

This is a place we will surely come back to!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Marquesa for the last three years. The hotel is a beautiful, peaceful place to stay in Key West. The location is perfect for walking and biking. The Cafe Marquesa is a very nice spot for cocktails and dinner. It is an oasis with breath-taking waterfalls and landscaping with two pools. The entire staff's friendliness and helpfulness will make your stay very pleasant. We love a lot of things about Key West, but a stay here makes it even better.

Room Tip: Poll side rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquesa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.