We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Marquesa Hotel
600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Lowest Rate, Guarantee
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Fabulous place to stay! All the amenities of an upscale hotel, along with the comfort and coziness of a beautiful B&B. We stayed here for a week, and from day one to day seven, everything was perfect. We were greeted upon arrival by Henry, who explained everything about the hotel and provided information on Key West. After answering any and all of our questions, he told us to go ahead to our room and get comfortable and he would bring our luggage to us. He also offered us a glass of wine (on the house!), which was a great way to settle in and relax. The staff, grounds, room, and pools were all wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing vacation. We stayed in a standard room in the main house, and it was beautiful, with lots of natural light. The hotel and grounds are very clean and well-maintained by a staff that is always there, but not intrusive. They are gracious and helpful when asked, but you barely know they're there otherwise. Excellent! The hotel will also recommend and book activities for you (we went para-sailing), which is a nice amenity. Only thing I would say is that the breakfast offered for $10 per person is a little light for the price; but we found plenty of lovely places that served breakfast within a few short blocks of the hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Key West.....loved it!!

Room Tip: We had the one room that is away from the street in the main building. Beautiful! Recommend reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    79
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
488
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner and I had a very nice stay at the Marquesa. We were upgraded to a large suite on the top floor of the main house. It was a comfortable room with a large bathroom and lots of places to sit. Next time we would get a room with its own balcony, because the only way you could relax outside was at poolside, and sometimes we wanted to be outside with a little more privacy/quiet than the pool.

The facilities were all immaculately clean. Two pools -- one cooler than the other, depending on your mood -- and plenty of seating and tables. It was generally very quiet Despite their no-kids policy, they did allow a toddler to stay while we were there. It wasn't a major problem for us, but I talked to at least one guest who stayed at the Marquesa specifically to avoid kids on her vacation and I'll bet she was not happy.

We'll definitely be coming back to the Marquesa given its cleanliness, the friendliness of its staff, and its convenience to all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked a three-night stay at the Marquesa last week after we had to check out of our original hotel unexpectedly. I read the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and was able to get a room in the main house for a very reasonable price.

From the moment we stepped inside the heavenly air-conditioning of the lobby, our expectations in all areas were surpassed. Caroline at the front desk was friendly and welcoming, and gave us a free glass of wine after we checked in. Our room on the third floor was sparkling clean, cool, and well-appointed, with window seats under the gables and a view out over Fleming St. The room was kept clean and neat and the turndown service each night was great. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

One of the best things about the Marquesa is the beautiful hidden courtyard with two pools. The garden is beautifully landscaped and there are towels, lounge chairs, and free water and iced tea (and, in the morning, coffee) for guests. We spent one long afternoon lounging there and it was wonderfully relaxing!

Overall, I can’t think of a single thing I would change about our stay. The Marquesa was a lucky find for us, and we’ll absolutely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary--this is a great place for a romantic getaway. We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the central garden/pool area. The room was large, well laid-out and understated, with an exterior dining porch that looked onto the pools. This porch was a very nice place to be. In general, these are the sort or rooms where you can really relax and spend some good time if you're so inclined. Not just a place to sleep.

The pool area (two pools--one cool and one heated) is absolutely beautiful--lush vegetation, perfect scale (not too big, no too small), and immaculately kept. Service was attentive and personal--this is a true 'inn' style experience (not a lot of staff). They did everything they could to make us happy, and we were.

The location, in my mind, is ideal. The hotel is about two blocks off Duval Street, at a central north-south location. This means that you are close to everything, but still far enough from Duval to escape the noise & activity when you do not want it. At hotels on the north end of Duval, it's cruise-ship mania. At the south end, it's very remote and removed from the action. Here is the best of both worlds.

We ate at the restaurant and thought it was very good, but a bit over-hyped.

This sums it up: We would stay here again in a heartbeat--I feel no need to look elsewhere for a perfect stay in Key West (unless you bring the kids--I don't believe they allow children).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a very charming and relaxing hotel. The location was excellent. The location is just a very quick walk away to everything but without all the noise at night when you're ready to relax back in your room. We stayed in room 10 within the main house. The room was a little small but it was immaculate and very tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed. We felt the value for the price was very reasonable. It was a beautiful oasis. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Amazing stay in every way....only breakfast not worth the money but plenty of places locally to get this. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

A beautiful and dreamy hotel that has your dreams coming true in interior and exterior design. Slumber land with a fantastic bed. We stayed in room 18 jnr. suite poolside and felt it was the best even if there were bigger rooms. Kids under 14 years a no, however a mistake on booking helps our 3 year slip through the cracks. The attached restaurant also called the Marquesa was an unbelievable tantalizing delicious dance on my tasted buds. Having both hotel and restaurant with such greatness under one room we should all vote for "Wonders of the World" category.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.