We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pier House Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pier House Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Into Suite Discounts
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Springfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent four nights here on our recent trip to Key West. It is a well appointed, well located hotel to the very active part of Key West. The rooms were well appointed, clean, spacious and quiet. One member of our party had a suite and another a room with a Garden view, and both were great rooms. The hotel staff is professional and courteous. The facility had nice parking as well, and because of the hotels location we could get around the action sites of Key West by walking to them. We espcailly liked the complimentary coffee in the morings, the hotel bars and cafes were firendly and easy to spend some time at. We would defintely consider staying here again in a future trip to Key West.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    319
    88
    52
    42
See reviews for
189
713
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived early and they allowed an early check in. The staff were terrific. I love the extra things they such as a simple phone call shortly after arrival to make sure your room is OK and if there is anything they can do for you. Room Service was thorough. The pool and beach were clean, quite and relaxing. The location is walking distance to many dining options either on the water or on/around Duval St.

Hope to be back in March!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Michael thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad that you enjoyed your second stay at the resort. I hope you use our in house reservations team for further bookings as they can assist in booking any promotions. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I must qualify, this review is based on our ROOM and POOL BAR experience. The service from the staff we encountered was excellent from Oksana and Roman at check-in and escort to the room. Merrie at the pool bar was very nice and provided great service, once we got to the bar.

Here are my complaints. Our 2 queen room was literally 10 feet by 15 feet with a huge dresser/tv cabinet, there was no chair int the room other than the desk chair that fits into the desk/dresser/tv console. This is not a chair you would it in to read a book or complete a journal entry. The room was dark as it only has sliding doors on the south side of the room, which also has people walking by constantly with a direct view into the room, thus you need to keep the drapes closed unless I wished to frighten passers-by when I'm fresh out of the shower. The room also smelled of mold, I'm sure because it never sees the sun. I requested a larger room and I would pay for it.
AVOID ROOMS 412-414-416-418.
This was a special occasion trip. We waited until 530pm to be shown another 3 identical rooms, not acceptable.
We tried to go to the beach bar while we waited for word on a room. Unfortunately, there were no seats at the bar.
Understand this, locals, people who live in Key West, frequent the bar, the pool and the beach, and are allowed to do so.
So, when you pay your $300-$1000 per night to stay at the Pier House you may not be able to use the hotel amenities because non guests have already plopped down and are spending all day there. There is also a sign at the pool that stated something to the effect that the pool was only for hotel guests and "Pool Club Members". You're kidding me, you're actually renting out the space to locals?
We enjoyed our 4 ounce $10 dollar per piña coladas in plastic cups at the pool bar and then went back to the room. We were informed no other rooms were available.
Incidentally, WIFI did not work in the room or at the beach bar.

As we would have been charged for early cancellation I told them we would stay the night and check out in the morning, which we did. I found another excellent hotel where we spent the next 4 nights and will return in the Spring.

This all occurred on a Sunday so I rather doubt there was a member of management available to make a necessary executive decision. I would not have been able to reach general manager Joe if I wanted to.
So would I recommend the Pier House? Only if you can spend the cash for the water side suites...but then still don't count on a seat at the bar.

Room Tip: Pay for ocean view and nothing else. AVOID rooms/crypts 412-414-416-418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The rooms that you mentioned in your review are preferred by many of our guest. In regards to the pool, we do offer beach and pool memberships to our local friends and have not had a problem. Please call me as I would like to discuss your stay further as I am always available to my guest.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We wanted to stay here because we enjoyed it in the past, and was not dissapointed. The room was great and so was the service from check in to check out. Lovely stay, right in the best part of Duval St, it's own little beach,great views. will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and I am glad that we met your expectations at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I appreciate your business and on your next visit please try our newly renovated full service spa...the only one in Key West. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Pier house for three nights. Ocean view room had a spectacular view. The room was very nice. Clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely helpful. The beach area is small but key west is not a beach place. The bar and pool was great. But the location was awesome. We walked the streets and to most sights. I would definitely stay again if I visit the Keys.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Rhonda than you for selecting the Pier House as your preferred hotel in Key West and I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the resort. We pride ourselves on customer service and I hope to see you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love , love , love this place. Absolutely beautiful. Staff was more than accommodating. Located in the heart of everything. Jay, the concierge was awesome setting up a jet ski tour from us. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Ocean view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your first visit to the Pier House Resort and Spa. I like to remind all of my guest to call our in house reservations team when booking your reservations as they will ensure you receive the best available rate. Also, visit our website to see all of the amenities available at the Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tomorrow I will be returning to stay at the Pier House for the 2nd time since August. It truly is the perfect location for relaxing, swimming, dining, sunsets (DREAMY) and drinking!! We can hardly wait to get back there. It is a stimulant in itself. One of the nicest beach hotels I have been to in a long time. I am always happy to be able to put 3 or 4 days together to stay here. The staff are friendly and courteous. Love it!

Room Tip: As above the King Ocean View with private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable and the views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Cheryl thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon. I appreciate your business and loyalty and fell free to call me if you need anything during your stay. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier House Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pier House Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.