We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in key west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pier House Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pier House Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Into Suite Discounts
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in key west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been to key west over 10 times and this is the best hotel so far!!! The rooms were clean and large , very comfy beds. The housekeepers were super nice and quick to respond to requests.
The guy out by the beach was always there to get chairs and towels with a friendly smile. The front desk was fast, friendly and efficient. You can't beat the location !!! I even enjoyed the beach ,,
Beautiful !!, if there is one thing I could say that was sad was the per day parking charge. $20 per.
day is crazy.

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad you have found your new home away from home. As you mentioned, we have a lot of great amenities at the property that include a white sandy beach, pool, beach bar with daily live music, beach attendants and the only full service spa on the island. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    305
    87
    50
    41
See reviews for
181
689
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is definitely the best hotel in Key West. Conveniently located on the water right on Duval street, there is lots do within and around the hotel. Walk to the bars on Duval, lounge on the private beach (on hotel grounds) or enjoy the food and entertainment on Mallory Square, they are all literally steps from the hotel. We initially had a Harbor View room, but thanks to Tony, we were upgraded to a suite the second night. Reservations were simple thanks to Monique, who assisted with the booking and allowed us to change the dates last minute. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are all very clean. This is definitely the hotel I will be staying at from now on. I highly recommend it to anyone taking a Key West Vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I am glad that the Pier House Resort and Spa is your preferred hotel in Key West. I am happy that you made your in house reservation through our in house reservation team who made sure you had a great room. Our night manager Tony, will always check to see if an upgrade is available during your stay. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West. Glad we had friends who had been before and we're staying here. The staff was very attentive and helpful in our lodging and general assistance getting around town and such. The location is lovely. If you can get a room facing the water, it's well worth it. The rooms were comfy. Generally all around good stay. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am glad we met your expectations at the Pier House. I look forward to seeing you soon and please review our website for specials on your next visit.



Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a fairly nice dual birthday stay at the Pier House from a Tuesday through Saturday with check-out on Sunday. The room was beautiful and clean, and the service overall was excellent. There are a few inconsistencies with service at times; little things such as forgetting to replace all towels - i.e. bath towels, hand towels and wash clothes as well as bath gel wash. The staff would replace all at times, but at other times we'd discover there were no hand towels or wash cloths. In addition, we had issues with the shower on 3 of the days that we stayed. On the first night, the water was either scorching hot or way too cold so a nice relaxing shower could not be enjoyed for 3 of our days. On the 2nd and 3rd nights, there was no hot water at all. We had to make 3 calls - spoke to 3 different people; maintenance always arrived, but did not fix it until the 3rd time in which we were sound a sleep and inconvenienced by a phone call from the repair man wanting to arrive at 10a, so we asked them to return at 1p when we would not be there. When we returned, it was working great. It was just the inconvenience of having to constantly call, take the phone calls back, be disturbed while sleeping and schedule around them. The hotel offered no apologies upon check-out, no discounts or alternatives. Our room was 281 and it was a nice quiet location with a private balcony which is concrete and hot. Despite the issues that one has to deal with at home also occurring while on vacation, it was an ok stay. We've stayed at better resorts and B&B's with comparable services, and not so certain we will stay here again. We also had the 5th night free package and noticed that our Saturday stay rate was $419 as opposed to $299 for the first night, and $364 for the 2nd and 3rd nights - this is a bit misleading in price and makes it appear as though there really is no free 5th night.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and gardens and was on the upper level - it was nice in comparison to some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your time and I apologize for the water and housekeeping issue you encountered during your stay. We did have to call someone in to correct the water problem and I can see that we failed to communicate this to you during your stay. In regards to your room rates, the rates will fluctuate each day especially when you stay through a weekend. When you book on line the system will average your rate for your entire stay but the total paid will be the same. The next time you book please call our in house reservations team who will explain your daily rates and ensure that you receive the best room for the best available rate. I look forward to see you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I spent our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Pier House Resort. It was recommended by a co-worker who promised we would not regret staying there. She was absolutely right and we are so happy that we did! Everyone was so friendly and helpful during our stay. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to 501. Pier House immediately won us over and we will be back to stay at no other place than Pier House. The hardest part was that we had to leave, but we plan on returning in the future, taking family and friends next time! I cannot say enough about what a great time we had! Pier House is a first class resort! Thank you for making our trip such a memorable and wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Oceanview with balcony was perfect for watching the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House and I am glad that we met your expectations. On your next visit please call our in house reservations team to assist you wih your reservation. They will ensure that you receive the right room as we have many options. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we arrived to Key West we didn't realize there would be so much road work. We didn't know how to get to the hotel and we were exhausted after driving from Miami to Key West. We called the hotel and they gave us perfect directions. When we got there the night manager was there to greet us. He made checking in a breeze. The bellman found us a parking spot near the front entrance, loaded our cart and we were settled in for the evening within minutes. The next day, guest services helped us by showing us exactly how to get around the city. I called the desk about three times and every time they were very courteous. We also left some toiletries behind and they provided some to us free of charge. The hotel was conveniently located near many attractions in the city and the hotel itself was easy to navigate and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I also recommend dining at the hotel beach bar or restaurant. The conch fritters and lobsters sliders were outstanding! If you hang out at the private beach the hotel provides complimentary towels. And you can even snag a chair on the beach if you time it right. Overall, we had an amazing time. We would absolutely recommend this property for your stay. The only downside is staying on the first floor. It was very loud in the evenings, but it really didn't bother us that much. The first floor was also more convenient to hotel amenities. So if you don't mind some occasional noise then give it a try. Also, parking is $20/day in the hotel lot - make sure to budget for that. We will definitely stay at the Pier House again!

Room Tip: First floor a bit noisy but very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and I am glad youenjoyed your time at the Pier House and took advantag of all of our great amenities. On your next trip please try our spa as we have the only full service spa on the island. i look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Pier House Resort and Spa was probably the best Resort that I have ever stayed at. The staff was friendly, the food was excellent, and the grounds were beautiful. Because of the Pier House I will return to Key West and stay here again and again. If you are looking for a great and relaxing place to stay right on Duval st. the Pier House is your place. And anything you need or have questions about the staff is right there to help. Thanks for a wonderful time and the bottle of champagne for dinner. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Pier House and that we met your expectations. We look forward to servicing you and please call our in house reservations team for any questions. As you know we also have a conceirge on staff to assist you with offsite activities. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Key West.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier House Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pier House Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.