We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier House Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pier House Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% OFF 3RD NIGHT
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West. Glad we had friends who had been before and we're staying here. The staff was very attentive and helpful in our lodging and general assistance getting around town and such. The location is lovely. If you can get a room facing the water, it's well worth it. The rooms were comfy. Generally all around good stay. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am glad we met your expectations at the Pier House. I look forward to seeing you soon and please review our website for specials on your next visit.



Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    369
    112
    57
    52
See reviews for
254
885
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a fairly nice dual birthday stay at the Pier House from a Tuesday through Saturday with check-out on Sunday. The room was beautiful and clean, and the service overall was excellent. There are a few inconsistencies with service at times; little things such as forgetting to replace all towels - i.e. bath towels, hand towels and wash clothes as well as bath gel wash. The staff would replace all at times, but at other times we'd discover there were no hand towels or wash cloths. In addition, we had issues with the shower on 3 of the days that we stayed. On the first night, the water was either scorching hot or way too cold so a nice relaxing shower could not be enjoyed for 3 of our days. On the 2nd and 3rd nights, there was no hot water at all. We had to make 3 calls - spoke to 3 different people; maintenance always arrived, but did not fix it until the 3rd time in which we were sound a sleep and inconvenienced by a phone call from the repair man wanting to arrive at 10a, so we asked them to return at 1p when we would not be there. When we returned, it was working great. It was just the inconvenience of having to constantly call, take the phone calls back, be disturbed while sleeping and schedule around them. The hotel offered no apologies upon check-out, no discounts or alternatives. Our room was 281 and it was a nice quiet location with a private balcony which is concrete and hot. Despite the issues that one has to deal with at home also occurring while on vacation, it was an ok stay. We've stayed at better resorts and B&B's with comparable services, and not so certain we will stay here again. We also had the 5th night free package and noticed that our Saturday stay rate was $419 as opposed to $299 for the first night, and $364 for the 2nd and 3rd nights - this is a bit misleading in price and makes it appear as though there really is no free 5th night.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and gardens and was on the upper level - it was nice in comparison to some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your time and I apologize for the water and housekeeping issue you encountered during your stay. We did have to call someone in to correct the water problem and I can see that we failed to communicate this to you during your stay. In regards to your room rates, the rates will fluctuate each day especially when you stay through a weekend. When you book on line the system will average your rate for your entire stay but the total paid will be the same. The next time you book please call our in house reservations team who will explain your daily rates and ensure that you receive the best room for the best available rate. I look forward to see you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I spent our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Pier House Resort. It was recommended by a co-worker who promised we would not regret staying there. She was absolutely right and we are so happy that we did! Everyone was so friendly and helpful during our stay. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to 501. Pier House immediately won us over and we will be back to stay at no other place than Pier House. The hardest part was that we had to leave, but we plan on returning in the future, taking family and friends next time! I cannot say enough about what a great time we had! Pier House is a first class resort! Thank you for making our trip such a memorable and wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Oceanview with balcony was perfect for watching the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House and I am glad that we met your expectations. On your next visit please call our in house reservations team to assist you wih your reservation. They will ensure that you receive the right room as we have many options. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we arrived to Key West we didn't realize there would be so much road work. We didn't know how to get to the hotel and we were exhausted after driving from Miami to Key West. We called the hotel and they gave us perfect directions. When we got there the night manager was there to greet us. He made checking in a breeze. The bellman found us a parking spot near the front entrance, loaded our cart and we were settled in for the evening within minutes. The next day, guest services helped us by showing us exactly how to get around the city. I called the desk about three times and every time they were very courteous. We also left some toiletries behind and they provided some to us free of charge. The hotel was conveniently located near many attractions in the city and the hotel itself was easy to navigate and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I also recommend dining at the hotel beach bar or restaurant. The conch fritters and lobsters sliders were outstanding! If you hang out at the private beach the hotel provides complimentary towels. And you can even snag a chair on the beach if you time it right. Overall, we had an amazing time. We would absolutely recommend this property for your stay. The only downside is staying on the first floor. It was very loud in the evenings, but it really didn't bother us that much. The first floor was also more convenient to hotel amenities. So if you don't mind some occasional noise then give it a try. Also, parking is $20/day in the hotel lot - make sure to budget for that. We will definitely stay at the Pier House again!

Room Tip: First floor a bit noisy but very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and I am glad youenjoyed your time at the Pier House and took advantag of all of our great amenities. On your next trip please try our spa as we have the only full service spa on the island. i look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Pier House Resort and Spa was probably the best Resort that I have ever stayed at. The staff was friendly, the food was excellent, and the grounds were beautiful. Because of the Pier House I will return to Key West and stay here again and again. If you are looking for a great and relaxing place to stay right on Duval st. the Pier House is your place. And anything you need or have questions about the staff is right there to help. Thanks for a wonderful time and the bottle of champagne for dinner. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Pier House and that we met your expectations. We look forward to servicing you and please call our in house reservations team for any questions. As you know we also have a conceirge on staff to assist you with offsite activities. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Key West.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis,NewJersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at the Pierhouse twice a year, May and October for the last 12 years. It has always felt like returning home every time we returned. We have always recommended the Pierhouse to people as a great place to stay and will do so in the future, but for us it is time for a change. The staff has always been great, Janine and Merri at the beachbar always do a great job, the beach attendants are always right there to get chairs and towels and keep the beach clean, especially with the seagrass. Since the new company took over they have done a lot of cosmetic upgrades, which are very nice. We have stayed in room 189 since the first time we stayed and have always requested while booking. Apparently there is an inside joke with prior guests that say just don't room 187 me, we'll we got 187'd.This room was the worst room we have ever stayed in.The noise from the front lobby door all the way through the hallway from guest and the luggage cart is jarring, and from 4:30 in the afternoon til 2:30 a.m from the Chartroom dont expect any peace and quiet.We understand that rooms 187 and 189 are right next to each other but have never heard any noise at all when staying in room189. At check in we were a little surprised that we were't welcomed back as we normally have been in the past, and were also asked if we needed a map of the resort. In April before our May trip we had made our reservation for October, our friends who we have traveled with these past 12 years just booked a week ago and the rate for his room (same type of room) was quoted at about $60 a night less, which has happened another time in the past. I know this may sounds like sour grapes on our part but we are not taking a chance on having a room lkie that again .We have since canceled our reservation and rebooked elsewhere.




Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Terri thank you for the feedback and I apologize for the service shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I have left you a message to call me at your earliest convenience so that I can go over your visit. I appreciate your business and do not want you going anywhere else. I look forward to your call.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I am very pleased to give my review of my stay at the Pier House...Arrived at 4p for our check in... we mentioned it was my birthday and I received a lovely bottle of champagne!..our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated.. the private, clean beach was great, a very attentive young man Demitri worked very hard to take great care of the hotel guests carrying beach chairs and handing out towels...the tropical grounds are beautifully landscaped...the sunset views where stunning...I can't wait to go back to KW and stay at the Pier House

Room Tip: I recommend room 303 in the Beach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Nancy thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Pier House. On your next visit, please visit our website for the best avaialble rate and please call our in house reservations team for any questions. They will make sure that you have the best room for you at the best price.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Pier House Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.