We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pier House Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 hotels in Key West
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best hotel in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

very nice room. just get a standard room near the pool. it's all that you'll need and its the very best value. the most perfect location in key west. in the middle of everything but bery quiet and calm on hotel grounds. nice private beach on the gulf side. pretty pool. nice restaurants, bars and tiki bar. stayed 4 nights.

Room Tip: get a standard room near the pool. while it was very nice, we didn't like the layout and locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    721
    292
    83
    50
    40
See reviews for
170
652
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was an above average hotel in Key West, Florida. The location is perfect - on the end of Duval Street so there is no noise or honkey tonk yet you are in easy walking distance of the heart of the latter should you wish to party. The hotel rooms are nicely appointed, room service is excellent and the restaurant serves tasty food and drinks. There is a VERY wee beach but that is more than most hotels in Key West have. The only minus was the shower - it was a rainfall shower and the spray couldn't be adjusted so you had to hug the wall. Other than that small caveat I think you will be well pleased if you chose the Pier House for your stay in Key West. There is a Cuban restaurant just up the ocean walkway that is over the moon fabulous. Get the Cuban sandwich there - just the memory makes my mouth water. Rent a bike - it is the best way to see all of Key West easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Let's face it. Key West isn't that big of a place. Duval Street is what people will want to see and the Pier House is right on the end of Duval Street. Close enough where you are right where you want to be but isolated enough where you won't hear noise when you want quiet. A private beach area was awesome. Sure the beach itself isn't huge but it was perfect. Quiet, secluded, wonderful view of the sunset.

I would love to go back to Key West again and again and I couldn't fathom staying anywhere else. Staff was friendly and helpful; check-in was simple. Once we arrived we never took the car out, everything we wanted was within walking distance. Stayed over Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
What great compliments. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you had such a nice stay with us. We hope to see you back on our beach when your travels bring to back to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved this hotel beds were real comfy staff very helpful & polite very clean & clost to everything all we had to do was walk out of our hotel & we were right by everything Had a great time coming back for St Pats 2013

Room Tip: only problem with our room was we faced the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our third time at the Pier House, whenever we come from Europe to Floridy we love to stay here.
The hotel is located at the end of Duval, only 2 minutes walk to the famous sunset pier.

The Gardens are stunning, you feel like in a tropical paradise.
Staff all over the hotel are friendly and helpful.

Pool and Jacuzzi are in the middle of the garden and we also love the small, clean beach.
Had lunch every day at the beachbar, good food and nice selection.

This time we had a Lanai Room, which was on second floor with a view to the garden.
Rooms are not huge, but ok. Furniture is very cosy, tropical style. Great bathroom with walk-in shower.
Only problem for us is the aircondition. This type of room has window untits which are terribly loud. I think the seaview rooms have central a/c. So when we come back, we will chose those since i really could hardly sleep.

So overall, highly recommended, from staff, food to hotel, this is really a great place for a relaxed stay.
If you want silent sleep, ask which rooms have central a/c.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFountain, Front Office Manager at Pier House Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are glad to hear you had another great stay at our resort and will be coming back. If an issue arises on another stay do not hesitate to call the front desk as we do have a full time maintenance staff that would be happy to fix the problem during your visit. For future stays, if you do prefer central AC, we recommend a Caribbean Spa room or a Dockside Suite.
Rob Sheedy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This report is way over due. We stayed in the Sunset Suite this April during Conch Republic Independence Celebration. We got in early at Key West airport and arrived at noon. Check in was a breeze. They checked us in early and the suite was awesome. The views were mind blowing as you will see in video and pics I have posted. This suite speaks for itself. I'll let the video do the talking. This is a two bedroom suite with both beds being king size. We slept like babies. Very confortable. Rooms are on opposite ends so there is no noise from other bedroom and of course you have the whole rooftop so no noise from other rooms : )

We ate at the harbour cafe a few times and the food was great as always. I love the lobster sliders. Freaking awesome! We also did room service for breakfast a couple times. Food was very good. Services was excellent also. Very fast and friendly.

The grounds and beach were very nice and clean. The beach service was also very good. The beach dude set us all up with chairs and a nice spot on the beach. He was on his A-GAME. As was the beach waitress. Both were great!

All in all we had a awesome time at the Pier House and have booked already for our next trip to Key West.

Room Tip: Of course, not everyone can afford a two bedroom suite @ the Pier House, but I would at least advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and it was a great stay. The staff was very helpful and ready to extend a hand. The beach is literally right outside my patio door. It was very quite. Also, the food was amazing. We had several friends with children and they loved the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier House Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pier House Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.