We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good first diving experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southpoint Divers

Southpoint Divers
610 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
(800) 891-3483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 302 activities in Key West
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good first diving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Southpoint Divers did a great job for these first time divers! This was our first open water dive after being certified. The captain and crew were very helpful in calming our first dive nerves and getting our equipment ready to go. We did 2 reef dives and saw amazing fish! The staff was very attentive to the new divers in the water. Will definitely use them the next time I'm in Key West.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    21
    7
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Four Sweet Dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Southpoint Divers comes through again! What a great staff, super divemasters, and cool boat captains. We had two dives on the Vandy, one on the Cayman Salvage Master, and a nice reef dive. The dive team is so professional, making sure everything is safe, doing things right, but still having a good time and keeping everyone happy. Mitch, Zack, Mike, Kevin, Danielle, and Emily.... thanks for some great dives! We'll be back soon to enjoy some more fun dives.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding diving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is the third "mancation" we have been diving with SP Divers. The retail staff are all extremely friendly, courteous & very helpful. The dive boat, the Phoenix, is a perfect diving vessel & well maintained. The captain, "Tropical Mike" is one of the most knowledgeable & personable boat captains we have come across. He is not only outstanding at what he does, he makes sure that the divers enjoy themselves and above all, safe. Coming from an aviation background, safety is paramount. The crew, Zach, Henry, & Mitch were absolutely fantastic. The entire crew, from Capt. Mike on down, make it their business to insure the divers have a great, memorable dive experience. They helped us with our gear, stored it for us and insured that it was ready for us on the boat the next day. When I had a problem with a piece of my equipment, they were there to fix it in a flash. The USS Vandenberg & Cayman Aggressor briefings were outstanding. This was our third mancation on the Vandenberg with Tropical Mike, and we'll be seeing him again next year. We highly recommend Southpoint Divers for a memorable diving experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to get certified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Henry Rose did a great job teaching me the PADI Open Water certification. Very patient and thorough going through each skill set, demonstrating it, then ensuring I could repeat it. Did the classroom work online and then two morning pools sessions with Henry and two afternoon open water sessions. Very rewarding experience, now I can go to more advanced dives with the instructors. We explored the coral reefs off Key West in between lessons, like stepping into an entirely different world.
Thanks to everyone at Southpoint, Tropical Mike, Mitch, Gina and the rest of the boat crew. Emily and Monica at the shop were great to meet and work with. Thanks again to Henry, you are an excellent teacher! Highly recommend, these guys are a pleasure to dive with. See you guys on the Vandenberg in August.
Mike Ross

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent diving experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a dive lined up with another Key West company but their boat broke down, so we called Southpoint Divers about three minutes before they were scheduled to leave for their 2:00 pm reef dive. Since we were nearby, fortunately they agreed to wait for us. The reef dive on the Sambo reef in the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary was among the best reef dive we had experienced! I saw my first nurse shark, several types of fish, and a sea turtle was swimming two feet in front of us as we were swimming back to the boat. The boat is a Newton, which is good if you tend to get seasick as I sometimes do. No seasickness on this trip! The dive master, Mitch, was very knowledgable and professional. I would highly recommend Southpoint to fellow scuba divers, and we plan to dive with them in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southpoint Divers also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Southpoint Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southpoint Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southpoint Divers to your Saves list