We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Sailing Adventure

Save Saved
You added Key West Sailing Adventure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Key West Sailing Adventure
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 William Street, E Docks 10, 11 and 12, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We chartered Wildthing for three nights. One in dock and two at sea. The boat is clean and has everything a sailor would want or expect in a cruising yacht. You can even charge your cell phone in a normal electrical plug---but why would you need to in the middle of paradise? It has a queen sized bed with plenty of breeze or there is air condition that is more than adequate. The best part of the trip was being at sea for two days with a crew that truly enjoy what they do. We SAILED not motored, like many of the charters do. The crew were as excited as we were to explore new reefs and islands or catch fish with left over food from dinner. We were lucky to have Frenchy and Chris, who work as a great team. Frenchy made some phenomenal meals---steak and lobster at sea! And Capt Chris will keep you fascinated with stories of his travels and his humorous outlook on life. We saw dolphins, turtles, sharks, man-o-war and flamingos. There is no better way to see the world than sailing in a bright, blue ocean the way Capt Albert's charters do. We couldn't have imagined a better trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying and sailing with Captain Albert over New Years 2011. We spent five nights on the Obsession then added two additional nights on the Wildthing. Both boats are adequate with the Wildthing just slightly nicer. Staying in the KW Bight is the best. We have stayed in KW several times but liked this area the best. Experience KW like a local and stay with KWSA. Captain Albert will take care of you in every way. And sailing out to the reef in the blue-green waters is an experience you will cherish. We loved every minute of our stay and would encourage all to stay an sail with KWSA.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife, 11 year old daughter, and I stayed aboard the Wildthing for four wonderful nights. We did an overnight with Captain Albert and First Mate Nancy on my wife’s birthday. Nancy cooked us a great fish dinner and breakfast the next day. The weather (i.e. beginning of Tropical Storm Nichole) changed our itinerary somewhat, but Captain Albert was on top of the approaching weather and gave us sound options. We ended up with a great sail, sleeping under the moon, and watching the storms off in the horizon. Once the storm passed, we were able to make it to the reef two days later for a great snorkel (thank you Captain Brad and First Mate Rich). Truly, a great sailing and snorkeling adventure all around.

We found the boat to be in very good shape and Nancy had it ready for our arrival. Yes, the boat has only the basic amenities, but this is what we liked about it. We were not looking for a cruise ship or the Hilton, but a solid sailing vessel that promised an adventure; and we found it at Key West Sailing Adventures. Wildthing sails well, is very comfortable, has a good air conditioning system that kept us cool on the hot and humid nights, a refrigerator that kept our drinks and snacks cold, a stereo system so we could listen to our MP3 and IPod , clean bedding and towels, and most importantly, character. Ok, you have to pump the heads and keep them drained, but this is a boat after all. The marina restroom and showers were very clean and convenient.

You really can’t beat the location. Dante’s offers a great swimming pool, bar and restaurant; there is excellent coffee and breakfast at the Cuban Coffee Queen; terrific bread, cheese and cake at the Old Town Bakery (I highly recommend the chocolate ganache cake); and bike rentals from Eaton Street Bike Shop all within a few minute walk from the boat. Try the El Siboney restaurant for authentic and affordable Cuban food, the conch ceviche at the Turtle Kraals, fried fresh fish at the B.O. Fish Wagon, the great local crowd at the Schooner Wharf, and don’t forget the wild and crazy times on Duval Street a few blocks away. Everything you will want to see in Key West is a short walk or bike ride from the marina.

All three of us give Key West Sailing Adventures (a.k.a. Boom Boom Charters) its captain(s) and crew, and the experience two thumbs up. Thank you for a great vacation. P.S. my daughter is hooked on snorkeling and loved the boat, the dolphins, sea turtles, rays, and plentiful fish. She says that Key West is the place to be and Wildthing is the place to stay. I think I see a future diver/marine biologist in the making.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My friend and i enjoyed a wonderful, romantic weekend aboard the floating B&B, , Obsession. Although we have stayed in fine hotels in many countries, this is the first time we had ever lived on a yacht. It was so much fun to be right in the middle of things in Key West, to walk to Waterfront Market, cafes, and restaurants and then return to the serenity of our cabin and be rocked to sleep in our beautiful cabin. The people on the dock were very friendly and we felt like we were locals. Captain Albert, our host, is a charming man who saw to all our needs. I heartily recommend this place to all visitors to the magical place of Key West.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have stayed with Capt. Albert on his boats every year since 1998. The sailing trips are outstanding, the boats are always very comfortable and clean. Capt. Albert's shipboard meals are always something we look forward to. Their location is just steps away from some of the best restaurants and nightlife on the island. I would highly recommend this company and their activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Sailing Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Sailing Adventure

Address: 201 William Street, E Docks 10, 11 and 12, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key West Sailing Adventure 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three sailboats are located side by side. Perfect for a family vacation, wedding and honeymoon at sea, restate vows at sunset, couples getaway romantic weekend. Plan a corporate retreat, book one or all three. This is more like a boatel with economy to larger vessels in choices. 44 foot Morgan, 42 foot Irwin or 37 foot O'Day to choose from; each have unique personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Key West Sailing Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Sailing Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.