We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place on beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Beach Cafe

Southernmost Beach Cafe
1405 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-295-6550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southernmost Beach Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 337 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Trolley Stops within 1 block of restaurant
Description: The Southernmost Beach Cafe is Key West’s premier beachfront dining restaurant. Located at the south end of Duval street on the Atlantic ocean. The Southernmost Beach Cafe offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. With daily happy hours, and cool drinks. We offer a full catering department for parties large or small, if you are celebrating a wedding or a birthday we have what you need. Also featuring beach chairs, paddle boards, and volleyball. For fine cuisine at affordable prices overlooking the ocean, come to the Southernmost Beach Cafe...
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place on beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had lunch and dinner there. Lunch prices very good value, gets pricier at night for dinner but food was very good. At lunch the hostess was not very good , she totally ignored us initially but once seated the waitress was excellent! Had the coconut shrimp, excellent! Dinner was very good service was good. Excellent laid back casual dining atmosphere right on beach, open air, can hear the waves and smell the saltwater.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,240
    805
    233
    52
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

-ordered the Coconut Shrimp and Caesar salad. Great combination! the shrimp is fried with a coconut batter and served with a pineapple dipping sauce. Don't leave without trying it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Corned beef hash is the best I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

2nd time having breakfast here. Had to return for the corned beef hash. I think it is made on site. Love it.
We always enjoy a weekend bike along the beach to breakfast. Usually long lines for breakfast, but we got lucky that saturday and were seated very quickly. Our waitress was awesome! Very fast with everything. I will have to try some of the other options ...one day.
What a great location! right on the beach, right on the end of downtown. Perfect spot to start the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Great Casual Fare On The Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had an incredible meal here on the 1st night of our one week vacation at The Southernmost Hotel courtesy of our server, Carly. The setting is flawless with crystal blue water steps away from your table plus a casual atmosphere.

The menu is imaginative for an on-premises hotel restaurant and everything got high marks from us. We started with appetizers. Do not miss their Lobster Egg Rolls which are huge and their Conch Fritters are authentic Key West Cuisine. We were then nicely filled with a fresh salad and a grilled mahi mahi sandwich still we couldn’t miss trying their Key Lime Pie. The pie crust was a clever creation of an oreo cookie crust rather than the predictable graham cracker crust. The pie did not disappoint.

We also discovered a new favorite, Magic Hat #9 Beer, thanks to Carly’s recommendation. This restaurant started our vacation off right! This is a “Must Do” if you stay at The Southernmost Properties.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Tx.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a long drive, the convenience and relaxing atmosphere of SBC was a welcome treat on our first night in Key West. We were hot and tired and didn't know if we could eat a lot, so we shared the complimentary hummus and bread, a yummy coconut shrimp appetizer courtesy of the hotel, and split an entree of pecan crusted grouper over a wild rice pilaf and a side of artichoke hearts, The kitchen split it for us--we didn't even ask--and no one made us feel cheap for sharing (some places do--you can see that there goes the tip eye roll). A glass of wine for my friend and prosecco for me---good food--competent waitress and kitchen--our Key West adventure started off perfectly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southernmost Beach Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Southernmost Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.