We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild About Dolphins

Wild About Dolphins
6000 Peninsula Ave., Key West, FL 33040
(305) 294-5026
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was the highlight of our week in Key West. Carrying only 6 passengers, the Amazing Grace is speedy and comfortable. Captain Sheri was gracious and professional.
We took the full day option, since the cost was only slightly more than the 1/2 day for 6 people, and it was fantastic. Plenty of food, great snorkeling, time to rest on a beautiful beach on an undeveloped island, and, best of all, dolphins.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful trip review and choosing 'WILD about DOLPHIN's' for your special family Key West excursion.

Warm Regards,

Captain Sheri
WILD about DOLPHIN's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“First rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Last year we booked a charter with Capt. Sheri, after seeing her listed on Bring Fido, as we wanted to bring along our dog, Bob. We were more than thrilled with our experience. Capt. Sheri was so informative, so kind, and was a gracious host. She made certain we saw the dolphins (so many!), took us snorkeling, and provided water and a lovely lunch.
We booked with her again this year so that we could take our daughter, son-in-law, and grandchildren. We were so glad we did! We had another excellent trip, and Bob even got grain free treats and a Wild About Dolphins dog tag! And because we were return customers, Sheri gave us a discount.
The marina where Amazing Grace is docked has other food and beverages for purchase and a bathroom to use before and after travel. Visitors also have full use of the club privileges and restaurant for the day!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful WILD about DOLPHIN's trip review. Your review means the world to me. I am so pleased you had a great repeat trip experience . I really wish I had the honor of hosting your return visit this year. Your family and your dog "Bob" are the best. I look foward to seeing all of you again.

Warm Regards,

Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best way to see dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The only way to see dolphins is in their own habitat in the ocean. We have been with Wild about Dolphins before - always previously with Capt Sheri and Deputy Capt Maya (Sheri's golden retriever). This time was with Capt George and was equally good - informative and the dolphins we came across swam with us for half an hour. The snorkelling was also very enjoyable. Definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
You are the best!! Thank you so much for your support & patronage of "WILD about DOLPHIN's'. We so deeply appreciate your trip review. Captain George is wonderful. Dolphin dog "Maya" and Captain Sheri look forward to hosting your next visit - you are like family to us!

Warm Regards,

captain Sheri, Captain George & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Capt. Sheri went out if her way to accommodate us and our two dogs for a private tour. Maya the Dolphin Dog (Sheri's Golden Retriever) is delightful, and watching Maya search for dolphins will bring you even more joy during this trip. Sheri is very knowledgeable, and personable, so you will be able to ask a lot of questions about the dolphins and marine life. We were able to see many dolphins very close up, and we were able to get in some snorkeling time as well! The trip was Amazing Grace in so many ways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya" extend our gratitude for the pleasure of having you and your pup's join us on our excursion. We had such a wonderful time with all of you and look forward to seeing you again!!

Warm regards,

Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“can't do anything about the weather :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had booked this trip with Captain George for our last day in Key West. The weather was great the entire week up until this day. We were scheduled to go out at 1, and at 12:00 George called me to let me know about the storm that was developing. It was not clear which way the storm would go, so he had told us that if we wanted to, we could wait to see if it cleared up. We ended up going out at 1:30, but it became apparent fairly early that the storm was not going away. We made a quick trip to where another boat had seen some dolphins, but they were gone by the time we got there. At that point, we could see lightning in the distance so we returned to the marina. We were out for about an hour/hour and a half but were not charged for the trip as we had to come back in early due to weather. George was friendly and it seemed like it would have been a great trip if the weather had been better.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
'WILD about DOLPHIN's' deeply appreciates your trip review. Captain George is the best! WILD about DOLPHIN's has been conducting tours for over 15 years in Key West. Captain Sheri - owner of 'WILD about DOLPHIN's' is the founder/director of the Florida Keys Wild Dolphin Alliance. We take great pride in providing the best tour experience possible.

WILD about DOLPHIN's provides our guest's with full disclosure (weather/sea/snorkel/dolphin sitings/etc...) in the event of bad/marginal weather conditions, we give our guest's the option of joining our tour with full understanding of the conditions or canceling (no charge to guest's). Of course, in the event weather/sea conditions are not safe - 'WILD about DOLPHIN's' cancels the tour - no charge of course.

No charge to our guest's for weather cancellations. Thanks for hanging in there - we try our best to give our guest's the best trip experience possible.

Thanks for your trip review stating that 'WILD about DOLPHIN's' did our very best to provide you with a wonderful tour. We did our best to work with the weather/wind/sea conditions. Due to the conditions 'WILD about DOLPHIN's' returned to port part way thru the tour and did not charge you at all. We hope to see you again under more favorable weather/sea conditions.

Warm Regards,

Captain Sheri
WILD about DOLPHIN's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Dolphins also viewed

 

Been to Wild About Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild About Dolphins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.