We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Job!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild About Dolphins

Wild About Dolphins
6000 Peninsula Ave., Key West, FL 33040
(305) 294-5026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 305 activities in Key West
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Orange Beach, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We enjoyed the most delightful day with Captain George. We came to celebrate my birthday and what better way than a beautiful boat ride and snorkel trip. They provided a nice lunch and were so accommodating . I enjoyed a nice nap in a shaded area on the boat while we stopped for a while on a sandbar in the middle of the bluest water. I would rebook this exact trip on our next trip down. Great job!!! With a focus on customer satisfaction.
Tom & Kim

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
'WILD about DOLPHIN's' Captain George & Captain Sheri deeply appreciate your wonderful trip review. Thank you for choosing our family-run company and taking your valuable time to share your experience. We look forward to your rreturn visit! WILD about DOLPHIN's has been operating for over 15 years. As you wrote in your review "customer service is our primary focus". FYI - we extend a 10% discount to all repeat guests.

Warm Regards,

Captain Sheri & Captain George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best experiences in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went out with Sherri and Maya(The Dolphin Dog)!!! Maya was so cute, everyone loves her. Maya helped us looked for the dolphins, and thanks to her, we were able to spot two group of dolphins (4-6 each). The Snorkle time was also wonderful. We saw beautiful fishes & coral. Sherri was very thoughtful and customized for us because few people in the group can't swim.

So glad we chose this trip!!!! This was the best experiences we had in Key West!!

Thank you Sherri & Maya!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Captain Sheri's WILD about DOLPHIN's extends our gratitude and warm appreciation for choosing our tour company and your wonderful trip review. Dolphin dog "Maya" says woof and we both look forward to possible return visit. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest's.

Warm Regards,

Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“80% Chance of Thunder showers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say enough about Captain Sheri, Maya and Wild about Dolphins. The morning started off with poor weather conditions with thunder storms around 6am. Sheri called around 9 am to let us know about the front moving in from Cuba, to see if we were flexible in date, in case the weather was bad for the 1 o'clock trip. We discussed the options and agreed to touched base at at noon. By that time the front changed direction but there was still an 80% chance for rain. We decided to risk the rain and go on with the trip as scheduled. The day turned out to be BEAUTIFUL. We started out of the harbour with an escort of 3 to 4 dolphins. Sensory overload was about to set in, I hear what sounds like thunder in the distance, I look up and see an F18 hornet chasing an F 5 tiger. The Navy was doing maneuvers off the coast what an awesome sight and sound. The next few minutes were like "look at the dolphins, look at the planes, look at the dolphins, look at the planes" We continue on toward what is called the "dolphins playground" and we see some dolphins in the distance. The next thing we know we are surrounded by about 15 to 20 dolphins. The #1 snorkeling site was too murky due to the weather so we headed to an alternate site. We stopped on a sand bar on the way out collected some shells and saw a sting ray and had some snacks. We headed out to snorkel and encountered several colorful varieties of fish and both hard and soft coral. The four hour trip was outstanding. We had a blast with Maya as we requested her to come along. Sheri offers the option if you do not like animals or are afraid of dogs or just hesitant opt out otherwise Maya is wonderful. I see the comments of she jumped around etc. Remember She is a dog and is just as excited as we are to encounter wild life. With an 80% chance of rain we hit the jack pot. We saw iguana, dolphins, sharks, stingrays, assorted colorful fish, tarpon and a couple of manatees. Outstanding trip. This was our second time and will do this trip again on our next trip to Key West. It MADE our trip. (Both times) This is a great video. Google http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CAwQkTsldls

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Captain Sheri's WILD about DOLPHIN's & dolphin dog "Maya" deeply appreciate your most awesome trip review. We love our repeat guest's... and your wonderful review. The photos you sent were amazing - thank for sharing. I am so happy the weather , sea conditions and dolphin's were great. Thank you for hanging in considering the "forecast" - just goes to show you just can never know for sure. Congratulations on your engagement & wedding plans in Key West next Spring. Looking forward to your next visit & meeting your family & friends. Dolphin dog "Maya" says woof.

Warm Regards,
Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great day out on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were so lucky to only have a party of four on our outing with Captain Sheri and Maya. Sheri was so sweat and took special measures to help us realize this trip outing. The weather was perfect and we saw several dolphins both coming and going from the snorkel sight. I really appreciated how Sheri and the other tour operators worked together to adivse each other of where the sightings were and how courteous they were to give each other space before taking advantage of the sightings. We saw an amazing sea turtle on our way back and it was really cool because a dolphin gave chase to him and the turtle really moved fast. Sheri is very knowledgable about dolphins and shares a lot of interesting information during the trip.

There are so many positives to this tour and i do recommend it. I also want to offer some additional insight to those considering this tour. There is no head on the boat. If you are expecting a hearty lunch, the fare is very light, vegetarian, and generic. It hit the spot for me though my husband didn't see anything that appealed to him. It was pita pockets, humus, head lettuce, tomatoes, and cheddar cheese, along with orange slices, chips, and cookies. Nothing negative, just something good to know so you can eat a good breakfast beforehand or plan for an early dinner.

Maya is a real sweetheart of a girl and it was fun to have her along. We are dog lovers so the concept seemed fun and we did request that she come along. One of the other people on the tour was a little nervous about dogs though willing early on to give it a try. If you aren't extremely comfortable with dogs jumping on you, pawing you, and requiring 100% of your attention then ask to go without her. She isn't trained not to jump or claw at people, she's the boss, a cute one, but nevertheless, the boss. Sheri does have straps around the boat that she uses to tie her off with though didn't unless we said she was getting to be too much. Maya was so cute when she threw her toy off the boat then retrieved it. It is amazing how she climbs back up the ladder on her own.

Thank you Sheri and Maya!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Captain Sheri’s WILD about DOLPHIN’s appreciates your patronage and trip review. We were so fortunate to have awesome weather/sea conditions, multiple dolphin encounters and great snorkeling conditions. As the Florida Keys Wild Dolphin Alliance Founder/Director founded over 12 years it is wonderful to see our guests recognize the dedication of our local operators to conducting environmentally sensitive, educational tours.
WILD about DOLPHIN’s offers an all -inclusive tour experience providing premier snorkel gear, towels, sunscreen, binoculars, educational cards, a variety of beverages, light lunch , complimentary guest pass to the Key West Harbor Marina awesome amenities and more.
WILD about DOLPHIN’s is one of the few operators that provides a light lunch and the provisions are clearly highlighted in our web sites and detailed trip information we provide to our guest’s.
WILD about DOLPHIN’s is happy that you enjoyed the company of dolphin dog “Maya”. We always ask our guests during booking a tour if they are ok with the dog being a part of the tour. In the event our guest’s wish to have dolphin dog “Maya” participate we always give our guest’s the option of having “Maya” off leash or having her leashed next to me.
Although you did not mention it , WILD about DOLPHIN’s was happy to go out of our way to provide you with a complimentary pick up and drop off service for your tour.
Once again we extend our appreciation for your patronage. We do appreciate your feedback. WILD about DOLPHIN’s does our very best to provide our guest’s with an awesome 5 star experience. We will certainly take your comments to heart for future guests.
Regards,
Captain Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For our trip we were a party of six, had the entire boat to ourselves, and Captain Sheri brought Maya along. The trip from start to finish was as wonderful as you could ever expect it to be.

We were whisked off to the most likely areas to see Dolphins, and while en route Captain Sheri was also pointing out other interesting facts and creatures.

And we saw Dolphins, a lot of Dolphins in fact. We saw them being playful, and we saw many that were, shall we say, (uh-um) "playing" ;-)

Captain Sheri got us close enough to get some really amazing photographs. While we were drifting the Dolphins were swimming along the boat, under, and in front of us. It was as though we had a private show.

Then we went snorkeling, what a great experience that was, as well. The snorkeling gear was excellent and she explained how to use it for the novices in our group. We saw nurse sharks (no threat for humans), rays, and very interesting fish. All I can say is that the entire trip was outstanding.

For those reading this you really should give Sheri a call. She provided such a wonderful experience for all of us, personalized, educational, and exciting - I enthusiastically recommend Wild about Dolphins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildfin, Owner at Wild About Dolphins, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Captain Sheri's WILD about DOLPHIN's deeply appreciates your awesome trip review. Dolphin dog "Maya" & I had a wonderful trip with your family of 6. We love our international/family guest's. It really means the world to me to get such wonderful feedback. I love what I do and love sharing the wonder of the dolphins and the magic of the of the underwater world with my guest's. WILD about DOLPHIN's thanks you for choosing our company and looks forward to your next visit. - Captain Sheri & dolphin dog "Maya"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Dolphins also viewed

 

Been to Wild About Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild About Dolphins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wild About Dolphins to your Saves list