We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$669*
and up
Ranked #13 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We went from Key West to Marathon, a nice drive, not too many pull offs to see sights and I was not comfortable just pulling off the road onto the shoulder. Did eat at a great restaurant in Marathon called The Island Fish Company, great food and great location on the water.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    512
    172
    47
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the Best Drives you'll ever take!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

You have to see it and experience it to understand how anyone could get so excited about a road trip, but it is 125 miles of wonderful. Small beaches along the way, marinas, restaurants, shops, and miles and miles of blue green water! Just GO!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro area Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful road out to sea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have watched the keys grow and populate over the many decades of driving to Key West to see my family. On the last trip we stopped at the Seven Mile Bridge, parked and walked on the bridge for a while. I have ridden over that bridge more times than i can count and it wasn't until I walked on it that I realized how narrow it is!! People would fish off of the bridge as cars and tractor and trailor trucks whizzed by them--leaving no margin for error. I've seen those same kinds of trucks dangling over the side of the bridge and fishermen in boats below would rescue the driver from the water. Then, the draw bridge occassionally would get stuck causing traffic to set on the bridge for hours. The new bridge is great for travel, but it holds no uniqueness and no memories like the original bridge. Now, as we drive over the keys we enjoy looking at the turquoise water, the boats, the lush vegetation, and always looking on the poles and wires for cormorants spreading their wings to dry them, or for a hawk's nest. We stop at the little beaches along the keys-Annie's Beach, Little Duck Key Beach (it has another name now) along the way, and we get something to eat and drink, and as always stop at Shell World-both stores. We take a mini vacation on The Overseas Highway. There is no other road like it in the worlld!! So beautiful!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful drive best done in an SUV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This trip is quite an adventure. Most of the time the speed limit is 40mph so down think you can rush it! The down side is that in places it could be anywhere in US with MacDonalds and chain motels lining the road, but mostly the view is of pretty holiday villas, boats, palm trees and blue blue sea!

The route was first built in the early 20th century as the Overseas Railroad and was destroyed by a category 5 hurricane in 1935. Some of the original truss bridges are now used as fishing piers while other bridges were rebuilt when the road was constructed in 1938.

I drove in a sedan the first time and could not see anything on the bridges due to the high concrete sides. Second time in a high SUV it was much better. Then I drove it in a convertible - views were not so good, but the smells, sounds, and wind in my hair more than made up for it!

Stop for a paddle at milemarker 67 at Long Key State Park - it;s a beautiful experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural scenery; not enough Starbucks :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is one gorgeous drive, especially with someone you love. The water is a wealth of blues, greens, greys, and even a tad yellow/brown in some parts near the shore line. LIttle islands dot the landscape as do cool trees and an abundance of shore birds. The only thing the highway lacks is an abundance of places to get coffee. Somehow the chains have left this place uncharted territory and mom and pop places don't proliferate either. If you need caffeine and are driving from Miami or Key West, you might want to stock up before you leave.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overseas Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.