We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
, Key West, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$940*
and up
Ranked #11 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Maryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bucket List drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You need to drive this road from Miami all the way to Key West once in your lifetime. Seen in movies, the views from the high spots on the bridges are incredible. Plan on driving slow...it's just 2 lanes most of the way. Avoid the Friday night trip south, and Sunday night headed north because of horrific traffic. Take your time, enjoy the beauty. Mir you go in a convertible you'll be sunburned by the time you get half way there but it's worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,619
    731
    258
    59
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not a scenic highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The seascape is very nice. Only this.
I´m expecting a luxuriuous landscape, like some roads in Europe or Brazil.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a beautiful ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What fun to "Do the Drive" through the famous Florida keys!. We took turns driving so that we could see it all . Leave time to pull off and explore some of the tremendous variety of resorts, and inlets along the way. The "bayside" is quite different from the "oceanside". This is truly a road where getting there is half the fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Drove in from Miami and flew out of key west. I am glad we did the drive down. We left on a sunday so we were headed against traffic. We were able to stop along the way. It was amazing to stop and the see the key deer.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Road Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You'll never experience a road trip like this one. Beautiful aqua waters on each side of you. Just a beautiful (if not long) ride.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overseas Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.