We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a scenic highway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$669*
and up
Ranked #13 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not a scenic highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The seascape is very nice. Only this.
I´m expecting a luxuriuous landscape, like some roads in Europe or Brazil.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    513
    173
    48
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a beautiful ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What fun to "Do the Drive" through the famous Florida keys!. We took turns driving so that we could see it all . Leave time to pull off and explore some of the tremendous variety of resorts, and inlets along the way. The "bayside" is quite different from the "oceanside". This is truly a road where getting there is half the fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Drove in from Miami and flew out of key west. I am glad we did the drive down. We left on a sunday so we were headed against traffic. We were able to stop along the way. It was amazing to stop and the see the key deer.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Road Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You'll never experience a road trip like this one. Beautiful aqua waters on each side of you. Just a beautiful (if not long) ride.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Road Trippin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I thought that the trip from Key West to Miami would be more over the open water, but as a midwesterner, I was super surprised at all the keys!

A personal fan of road trips, this was no different. If you have the chance, rent a convertible (we did), and soak in the sunshine as you travel.

A lot of the scenery is beautiful where you're literally crossing the ocean; however, along the highway it's kind of run down. (Think boarded up shops, seedy-looking bar/restaurants, and po-dunk gas stations).

We didn't really venture off the highway until our stopping point in Key Largo, so perhaps we missed some of the charming, waterfront places, but oh well. It gives us an excuse to do it all over again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overseas Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.