We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be if your a shopper or people watcher.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duval Street

Duval Street
Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$35*
and up
Key West Pub Crawl
Ranked #15 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Dining, Drinking, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular, busy street offers plenty of shops, restaurants and bars.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Place to be if your a shopper or people watcher.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just a good place to walk up and check out the different stores and bars an all the people walking by.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,552
    1,550
    615
    153
    69
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henrico, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

So much to see and do along Duval street-bars, restaurants, stores. Have been to Key West several times and there are still places on Duval that I haven't seen!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of drunks and t-shirt shops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Please don't bring your children here if you come to visit! Duval Street comes to life when the sun goes down - the bars are so full of people that they actually spill out into the street - makes walking near impossible. Crazy drunks on rented mopeds all over, running over curbs and into each other. Cheesy t-shirt shops everywhere, and people posted outside all of these places trying to get you to come inside. It was just not what I expected - I thought Key West was High class - very disappointing. Probably a great place if you like to drink - but not for us. Won't go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Overly touristy, get off the beaten path”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Duval Street has too many of the obnoxious touristy stores or cheesy art studios for our taste. I mean, how many t-shirt shops with designs of middle fingers directed at opposing football teams do you want to see on your vacation? I thought it seemed like a scaled down, although slightly cleaner, version of Bourbon Street in New Orleans. There are a good number of places to eat and drink, though. Many of them are very touristy like Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville or Hard Rock Cafe, but there are so many more interesting places just a block or so away. My recommendation is to walk up and down Duval Street, but then explore the side streets to get many better options.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
883 reviews
584 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,535 helpful votes
“Classic Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The activity and nightlife along Duval Street is one of the two defining (Mallory Square) attractions of Key West and can’t be missed. My most recent visit was with my kids so I could not participate in the nightlife but we still enjoyed walking through, people watching, on our way to and from sunset at Mallory Square.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duval Street also viewed

 

Been to Duval Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duval Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.