We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pudding as dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant

Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant
926 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Better Than Sex Dessert Restaurant)
+1 305-296-8102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 381 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pudding as dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went on the recommendation of our hotel and it was amazing, amazing cakes and puddings with drinks glasses rimmed with chocolate. I had the grilled cheese which was brie with chocolate in bread grilled and dusted in cinnamon, with a pink champagne soup! Two desserts and drinks should come to under $50

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,533
    374
    122
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Overhyped but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This restaurant is a bit overrated, it basically has a nice romantic ambiance but serves the same quality of dessert you could get at a major chain such as Chili's, Carraba's, or Cheesecake factory. They were good but not amazing. The prices a little high but that's Key West. If you go, definitely get reservations as there is usually at least an hour wait later in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Do not eat anything before you get here. The desserts are scrumtious and very filling. Have your wine glass dipped in chocolate $7 but worth every cent. Wine never tsated so good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Dessert On The Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I walked past "Better Than Sex" everyday for 4 days before we actually went inside and it was totally worth the wait! We had the "Tongue Bath Truffle" and the "Cookie Nookie Pie" and they were to die for. Our waitress, Kelly, could not have made this experience any better! Kelly was very knowledgeable about the all the desserts and gave us a background of the owners. She was all around AWESOME! We would definitely get dessert here on our next visit to Key West. I would suggest making reservations and don't go in too full from dinner because you will want to completely enjoy your dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We walked in expecting romantic ambiance but I felt as if I was walking into a haunted house. It did not help to be seated at a table with me facing my hubby and the wall behind him. I felt hemmed in and not romantic. But service was great, desserts good. I'd give it another try with better seating arrangement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.