We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An Interesting Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

I have always liked visiting old, hostoric cemeteries, however the Key West Cemetery is probably a favorite. The history, the epitaphs, as unique as the town itself.

If you have time, even though it is a little ways from town, it is worth the visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    252
    92
    24
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Ga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you like to explore cemetery's then you should stop by for a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I've been through the KW cemetery several times and it is a well kept interesting cemetery. There are different sections to explore. I had never seen rocks on graves like in the Jewish section. Evidently people put rocks on graves to show their respect and acknowledge their loved ones. Flowers die and disintegrate while rock don't. You can get a paper guide at the main entrance if you are looking for a specific grave or area. We rode our bikes through, so made for a nice visit.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cemetery visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

What a cool place to visit grave markers. Some from the late 1800's. Iguanas lurked around and slide under grave stones which was a little creepy.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peacfully interesting place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

The landscape was beautiful with the many Royal Poinciana Trees in bloom and the care and love that has been given to numerous loved ones resting places. Very interesting how different the mausoleums are compared to our region because of the ground being of sand and not dirt.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you like cemeteries, this is a nice one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I like old cemeteries. My wife sometimes thinks she feels spirits, so we had to stop here. There are a lot of old interesting tombs from the 1800's and 1900's and a few from the 2000's. There was a small part of the cemetery that was sadly dedicated to infants. There was also a neat monument to Cubans who have fought to liberate their country. Several headstones around the cemetery are in disrepair- many due to tree roots. Most graves are above-ground due to the constant risk of hurricanes. Overall, a neat cemetery, but not worthwhile if you don't have a ghost-sensitive wife or enjoy touring them.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.