We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting walking tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #21 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The cemetery in Key West is a lot like the city itself: quirky, crowded, colorful and full of history.
There’s the grave of the real Sloppy Joe – “Sloppy” Joe Russell (1889-1941) who was Ernest Hemingway’s fishing guide and a famous Key West bartender.■A popular stop is B.P. “Pearl” Roberts (1929-1979) who famously had inscribed “I told you I was sick.”
■Nearby, Gloria M. Russell (1926-2000) notes: “I’m just resting my eyes.”

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    221
    81
    23
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Rode our bicycles through and saw the great headstones, from "Captain Outrageous" to "I Told You I Was Sick".

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very peace full place to be. We go at sunrise get some Cuban coffee and the Key West Citizen and welcome the morning. Cool unique gravestones include the original Sloppy Joe the famous....See I Told you I was sick headstone(northwest corner in the Jewish section).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun but WAAARRRM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I downloaded a map and we walked around the cemetery for over an hour-the map really helps as it highlights all the big names in Key West that are buried there as well as monuments. There isn't much shade though so you will be hot.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pure History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The cemetary is very old and kept in top notch condition. Take your time and read the tombstones I havn't taken the your, but heard is is very good. No cars or motorcycle alowed, but you cane ride your bike

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.