We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #21 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pretty much a quick visit is all you need but cemetary plots are interestingly above ground because of the water level...nice quick place to see

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    221
    81
    23
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Remember the Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We came accross the cemetery as we were walking to find Duval St.

We took a wring turn and there we were.

It is a primary above ground cemetery with many artistic features. We obtained a pamphlet at the entry to guide us as we made the walking tour of the area.

We found that in the center area of the cemetery is a memorial to the sailors lost in the USS Maine explosion in Havanna harbor. There is a fenced area with the graves and a sailors statue with flag. It was an interesting find to see this bit of history I had heard about, but did not know of the link to Key West.

I am a photographer and found this to be an interesting location for photos. We spent about an hour in the cemetery before setting off again for Duval Steet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky little tombstones in a New Orleans Style graveyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

New Orleans isn't the only place where they bury their dead above ground. In the Keys because of the Coral and the stoney earth they bury their dead above ground. Worth a visit to see the tombstones which are just as quirky as their live residents.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spooky and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want to scare your guests go when the sun starts to go down and listen to sounds which are difficult to identify. Don't wear any scarves around your neck, or any other loose fabrics--you might feel someone tugging, trying to draw you in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must be able to walk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unless you have a scooter or bike, you will need to walk thru and it was way too hot to do so. We drove around the perimeter, but would have liked to see more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.