We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be able to walk!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 94 Attractions in Key West
Type: Cemeteries, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Must be able to walk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unless you have a scooter or bike, you will need to walk thru and it was way too hot to do so. We drove around the perimeter, but would have liked to see more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    229
    85
    23
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Larger than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We probably would have enjoyed this more and spent more time had we not walked from the cruise port, to the southern-most point, and then to the cemetery. We were pretty beat by then. The cemetery was so large, it was a bit overwhelming, and we only strolled down a few lanes before heading back to the cruise port. Maybe make this your first stop rather than your last to enjoy it more. Or take a taxi! I know it's historical but, other than the victims of the "Maine," did not recognize any names in the free brochure at the entrance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Needs Some Tending, But Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked through this cemetery following the self-guided tour map that is available for free from the box at the office at the main gate. We found the information in the guide interesting, but it was very hard, if not impossible, to locate all the highlighted graves. I would suggest that the folks that oversee the cemetery place small, discrete numbers corresponding with the guide's numbers by each of the plots. I suspect that no one would find that offensive and it would certainly aid folks in following the tour. There were several places that we were interested in seeing that we were not able to locate even though we thought we were in the exact location marked on the guide's map. We also noted that many of the graves are not very well tended with weeds growing in many of the plots. However, it was interesting seeing a snippet of Key West history and, as others have noted, some of the epitaphs are moving and funny. Also, keep an eye out for the iguana that appeared to be living near the main gate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“local cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

unique for me. Makes you think of the above ground New Orleans style but does allso have under ground sites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Even the Dead are Funny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went here one afternoon and enjoyed walking through the graves. Some of the headstones are really very lovely and worthy of making etchings from and later frame.

But the best of all was a brass plaque on a crypt that read, "See? I told you I was sick". How hilarious is that? She got the last laugh, that's for sure!

There were some lurky people hanging around the fringes of the area that were a little creepy. Go bar car and keep near it. We moved ours twice just to have a better feeling of safety. Creepers are known to hang out around cemeteries all over the world; this one is no different.

Enjoy!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.