We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local cemetery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“local cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

unique for me. Makes you think of the above ground New Orleans style but does allso have under ground sites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    253
    92
    24
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Even the Dead are Funny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went here one afternoon and enjoyed walking through the graves. Some of the headstones are really very lovely and worthy of making etchings from and later frame.

But the best of all was a brass plaque on a crypt that read, "See? I told you I was sick". How hilarious is that? She got the last laugh, that's for sure!

There were some lurky people hanging around the fringes of the area that were a little creepy. Go bar car and keep near it. We moved ours twice just to have a better feeling of safety. Creepers are known to hang out around cemeteries all over the world; this one is no different.

Enjoy!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“An interesting above ground cemetary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Most of the graves are above ground here due to the island being mostly coral. There are some interesting family plots as well. It's worth a quick stop one morning if you're nearby. We were there for less than an hour and enjoyed it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dead is Lively!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you think "Boot Hill" is boring, then you have never taken the time to really explore the Key West Cemetary. Each path, each epitaph gives new meaning to humor: my favorite is: "I told you I was sick!" When you need to get a bit of "rest" in Key West, visit the Cemetary, and be sure it is only a SHORT visit, not something everlasting!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's worth taking a self-guided stroll through Key West Cemetery with a map provided in the box at the office. While I was surprised to see some of the sites crumbling, it is a very peaceful place with several notable Key Westerners buried here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.