We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead is Lively!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dead is Lively!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you think "Boot Hill" is boring, then you have never taken the time to really explore the Key West Cemetary. Each path, each epitaph gives new meaning to humor: my favorite is: "I told you I was sick!" When you need to get a bit of "rest" in Key West, visit the Cemetary, and be sure it is only a SHORT visit, not something everlasting!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    256
    93
    24
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's worth taking a self-guided stroll through Key West Cemetery with a map provided in the box at the office. While I was surprised to see some of the sites crumbling, it is a very peaceful place with several notable Key Westerners buried here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting...but a little sad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good for a walkthru (you can drive in also but its tight). Many graves above ground but a lot in a state of disrepair and poorly maintained. A sad reflection to me and apparently not well managed/supervised.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting headstones and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Surprisingly large considering the size of Key West, but it does go back almost 200 years. Some interesting headstones with "funny" epitaphs...and it is a quiet place amidst a generally noisy town. Good for a walk around the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Probably interesting historically but visually...not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing special in the monuments and the plantings are pretty sad. I admit, I didn't read many headstones/monuments. The general historical context was apparent--jam-packed together with newer sections looking bit like the motel rooms on A1A. Be warned-no usable shade.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.