We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead is Lively!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$38*
and up
Ranked #22 of 71 Attractions in Key West
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dead is Lively!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you think "Boot Hill" is boring, then you have never taken the time to really explore the Key West Cemetary. Each path, each epitaph gives new meaning to humor: my favorite is: "I told you I was sick!" When you need to get a bit of "rest" in Key West, visit the Cemetary, and be sure it is only a SHORT visit, not something everlasting!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    219
    81
    23
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's worth taking a self-guided stroll through Key West Cemetery with a map provided in the box at the office. While I was surprised to see some of the sites crumbling, it is a very peaceful place with several notable Key Westerners buried here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting...but a little sad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good for a walkthru (you can drive in also but its tight). Many graves above ground but a lot in a state of disrepair and poorly maintained. A sad reflection to me and apparently not well managed/supervised.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting headstones and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Surprisingly large considering the size of Key West, but it does go back almost 200 years. Some interesting headstones with "funny" epitaphs...and it is a quiet place amidst a generally noisy town. Good for a walk around the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Probably interesting historically but visually...not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing special in the monuments and the plantings are pretty sad. I admit, I didn't read many headstones/monuments. The general historical context was apparent--jam-packed together with newer sections looking bit like the motel rooms on A1A. Be warned-no usable shade.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.