We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place Full of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Neat Place Full of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was amazing to see the history in this cemetery. There were sailors from The Maine which most captivated my interest. There were also graves for locals, rich and poor, as well as foreign nationals. I wish I would have had more time to walk around and explore. They have helpful guides and maps at the entrance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    258
    97
    24
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A Walk Through Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I cut through the cemetery and we were glad we did. There is a rich history of the various residents of Key West.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very old, historic cemetery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is amazing how hold this cemetery is. You won't believe who is buried here! I'm not going to tell you! Have a cocktail and go!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very cool cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed the walk through the cemetery. There is a section of the cemetery devoted to sailors on the USS Maine, and some very old graves. Many of the tombstones are interesting!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kinky Cemetary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a really different cemetary where most crypts are above ground. They even have three story crypt "motels". The best part about it is the crazy epitaphs written on many tombstones. However there are no guided tours that I know of.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.