We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #21 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not normally something I would do but was intrigued by my visit, really original. Allow an hour to have a look around. Graves are stacked and it is possible to work out family connections, some sad stories!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    221
    81
    23
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Creepy but Well Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I loved walking around a cemetary which had chickens on the graves from the 1800s, Many old stones for people as well as Pets.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new smyrna beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great to hear about the inteRESTING people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Here lies some of the people who made KW what it is today. There are stories of a man, 40 inches tall, who didn't want a midget casket. " I told you I was Sick", love that one. It is free to walk around and pay respect to those there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“key west Cemetery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For those who like to visit cemeteries, this one is interesting. you can find a memorial for soldiers and different areas are for different faiths. A 20 minutes walk in the cemetery is sufficient to get a feel of the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We have our spots picked out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The most unusual cemetery you will ever experience. Take the tour. The best tombstone engraving: "I told you I was sick".

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.